We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect holiday! Warmly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais to your Saves list
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 rue Halevy, 06000 Nice, France (Jardin Albert 1er)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday! Warmly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We had been in Nice two times before this trip and knew if we ever went to Nice again, we would be staying in Mercure Promenade des Anglais. I could not think any better location, it is near to everything : the beach, the lovely restaurants on the pedestrian street, old town, Place Massena where the buses to Monaco and Cannes leave, Galleries Lafayette, Nice Etoile shopping center - everything! On one day it rained heavily all day and between the thunderstorms it would not have been even an option to go anywhere further to eat. But you know, you have to eat something so that's when the McDonald's downstairs saved us. So even if you don't like McDonald's it can save your day when it's in the same building.

The rooms have been refurbished recently so they were spotlessly clean. This was probably the first holiday ever when there was no need to check if there was any bugs under the bed or anything. Airconditioning was just perfect and we slept like babies every night as the beds were comfortable, too. We had two rooms, one facing the patio and one with the garden view. I would say that if it is your first time in Nice, pay a little extra and have the garden view. You can also see the sea there and the view is fantastic! The garden view room is also bigger than the standard room. Both rooms had tea making facilities which was great since we had couple of rainy days during our holiday.

The breakfast was buffet style and very varied compared to the usual French croissant and roll breakfast. There were bacon, eggs, pancakes, yoghurt, fruits, many kinds of bread to name a few.

Service in the hotel was quite average. You should not expect any greetings when you pass the reception area. At first that felt a bit rude but then we thought it was maybe just the local style. But the service was the only small minus of the accommodation.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and Nice. We can't wait to get back there and one of us has already booked herself a new trip to Nice! Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais is not one of the cheapest hotels in Nice but it really is worth every penny.

Room Tip: Room with the garden view is fantastic, so I recommend to book it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    614
    176
    49
    17
See reviews for
155
688
83
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

I've stayed here with my husband before and had glorious sea-views and luxury in a Superior room. This time I took my daughter and while I'd have been happy to pay the extra for a sea-view there are no twin rooms with a sea-view at all so we "slummed it" and took an interior patio view room.
The welcome was friendly, as usual. We took the lift to our floor and wow! What a lot they've done in the corridors since I was last here. Gone are the drab walls, ghastly seascape prints and revolting carpets. Instead are modern carpet squares with funky designs, pale walls with beautiful floral friezes which match the carpet.
We opened the door to our room. It smelt fresh and clean. The beds were so close together they might as well have been joined but that wasn't a problem. The decor was fresh, the bathroom (with Bath) was newly updated and the complimentary shower gels, body lotion and conditioning shampoo was neatly laid out. There were adequate towels which were replaced every day....even if they weren't left on the floor.
The cleaning ladies were very courteous and kind.
We had mugs, a kettle and tea and coffeeetc but I was pleased I'd brought a supply of tea from home because French tea is too weak for my taste. Small pots of milk were provided but buying a small carton of milk and keeping it in the mini-bar is a good move.
Breakfast can be served in the room on a tray but I prefer to take breakfast at a table. Tea and coffee are served at your table. The coffee's fine but tea drinkers get a teapot filled with boiled water and then offered a choice of teas which look impressive but I kept a couple of Twinings English Breakfast teabags in my back pocket. I have tasted their tea before :(.
There's plenty of breakfast to choose from and you can eat as much as you like. The sausages and bacon take "Bien Cuit" to another dimension and the scrambled eggs don't enjoy the wait in the steaming warmer and let you know it and I don't think I spotted any baked beans.
The selection of cold meats, salamis and cheese is good. There are fresh tomatoes, cucumber and a variety of pickled vegetables. There are fresh fruits and fruit salad, yoghurts and compotes, apricots, dates and prunes to get you going; cereals bread jams, honey and chocolate spreads and of course croissants, pain-au-chocolats, brioche and pain au raisins.
Fruit juices and still and sparkling water is also provided.
There is free access to the internet on the first floor if you can't live without it. From there you can check-in online for the flight home.
On the last day the hotel staff were very happy to take care of our luggage until we left Nice to get our flight. The bus stop to the airport is right outside the front of the Hotel and only costs 4 euros.

Oh and we slept like logs!!

Room Tip: For the little extra a Superior room is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

We stayed for one night (last night in Cote d'Azur!) before flying out of Nice in August 2011. The location is superb, at the heart of the Promenade, facing the beach. The building is shared with Meridien; 1-3 floors for Mercure and upper floors for Meridien (of course the two hotels are completely separated with separate entrances). We got upgraded (Thank you!) to a room facing the main street and a partial view of the beach. Potentially very nice view but at a low floor. There was a balcony but it is too small to get out. The room is very clean, and stylishly decorated (sort of Miami-Art Deco style, with a white-leather love seat. You can say it's sort of W-hotel style). I found it much cleaner than more famous old hotels on the Promenade. Room is sort of small but has a large bed, and desk and a small love-seat. The people at the reception were very nice. Helped us getting a reservation at a local restaurant. The reception area is tiny, there is no elevator from the parking lot (it's directly connected to the hotel lobby), and there is no pool/gym/fancy restaurant, but for the price (very reasonable for a hotal on the Promenade), I highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Excellent location. Great room with view of the ocean. Extremely close to all restaurants and shops. Double glazing on windows meant no noise at all from the street . Would thoroughly recommend . Within walking distance to many attractions.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais

Address: 2 rue Halevy, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Jardin Albert 1er
Amenities:
Beach Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#9 Family Hotel in Nice
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#15 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#25 Business Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the sea, at n°1 on the Promenade des Anglais,the hotel is located above the famous Ruhl Casino. In thevery heart of the city, you will enjoy Massena pedestriandistrict as well as the typical Old Nice. As far as practicalmatters are concerned, a car park with direct access islocated below the hotel (fee-paying service). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Nice Promenade Des Anglais Hotel Nice
Mercure Nice Promenade Hotel Des Anglais
Accor Nice Promenade Des Anglais
Mercure Hotel Nice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.