We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Hotel Massena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added L'Hotel Massena to your Saves list
L'Hotel Massena
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   58 rue Gioffredo, 06000 Nice, France (Centre)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #55 of 211 Hotels in Nice
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

A two minute walk to the Christmas Market, around five minutes to the Nice Etoile shops and about ten minutes to the beach. The Massena is perfectly placed to make the most of Central Nice.

We arrived way earlier than anticipated and the receptionist arranged for housekeeping to prepare our room asap which was very welcome. The public areas of the hotel were clean, modern and welcoming.

We had an internal room so no view, but it was a very quiet part of the hotel. The room itself was clean and well prepared. The bathroom was well stocked with soaps and shampoos etc and also had a hairdryer. We had a few issues with lights and plug sockets not working intermittently but they seemed to fix themselves so we didnt report it to the hotel.

Food wise, we took breakfast which was ok. The buffet selection was reasonable with sausages, scrambled eggs and bacon (although the latter did run out one morning without being replaced). The pastries were varied but the croissants ran out on two of the three mornings we were there.

There is a bar which was quiet and the prices were pretty much standard for Nice.

Overall the hotel is well placed, nicely presented and the staff were attentive. We would recommend it and, assuming we return to Nice, there is no doubt we would stay again.


Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    289
    126
    47
    23
See reviews for
67
336
30
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel Massena is a clean, well located property in Nice that provided a great base for my first trip to the Cote d'Azur. I stayed two nights here, and was able to maximize my limited time by being so well located to explore the city, and being a 10 minute walk (or 3 min tram ride) from the train station.

The room was a good size, if a bit spartan in terms of decor and feel, but as a solo traveler with an explorative agenda I was only in the room to sleep so it worked well for me. Front desk staff was very efficient and helpful, and provided a great deal of information and maps for Nice and the overall area, which I used heavily throughout my two nights.

Breakfast buffet was very basic but adequate to get yourself filled up and out the door. I liked that the hotel was also well positioned for exploring the major shopping areas and seaside promenade as well as the Vieille Ville, my favorite area.

Overall this is a great hotel if you want to be close to all areas of action and near the tram and train for easy daytrip access. If you're looking for a relaxing beach holiday, you may prefer a hotel with a waterfront location and a balcony, but Hotel Massena is a great pick for any other travelers.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perrine P, Responsable relations publiques at L'Hotel Massena, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear guest,

Many thanks for taking time to share your experience at the Hotel Massena with the Trip Advisor community.
As you mention, our location is one that cannot be beat! We are central to so much of what Nice has to offer whether it is shopping, sightseeing or going out for a night on the town, there is something for everyone!

I am happy that our staff took good care of you by providing excellent service and recommendations.

It is with pleasure that we will welcome you next time, maybe you'll have the opportunity to return this winter for the Nice Carnival, a major event in two steps away from the February 13, 2015!

Best regards,

Perrine Pellet, public relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Service great. Full Breakfast Buffet was included. Huge breakfast. Rooms small, but location is excellent!! Public rooms appear to have been renovated relatively recently. Concierge desk extremely helpful with bookings for dinner - and Riviera tours - small numbers of travelers, usually well run.

Room Tip: The location is great. Don't know how to recommend room choice. Stayed in different rooms. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perrine P, Responsable relations publiques at L'Hotel Massena, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear MArion P,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of stay at the Hotel Massena.
I appreciate your mention of our excellent location which is central to so much of what Nice has to offer.
I’m happy to hear you appreciated the buffet breakfast included with your room. This B&B package available on our official website is a very good choice to start the day.

You're right our public area and our 110 rooms and suite have been completely renovated. The owner of the Hotel Massena has wished to magnify and modernize this emblematic 4 star hotel of Nice and the French Riviera.

My sincerest appreciation for your kind words regarding the staff.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back,
Yours sincerely

Perrine Pellet, public relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked this hotel at the last minute with minimal research and was pleasantly surprised when we arrived. We were greeted by a very welcoming receptionist who spoke excellent English and couldn't do enough to help us. Room (privilege) was spacious and clean and the bed was big and comfortable, fantastic!! Bathroom was clean and tidy and the hotel had a very modern look about it. Buffet breakfast was awesome and a final coffee in the lobby made this a treat each morning. All the staff were extremely friendly and we cannot find one bad thing to say about this hotel. The receptionist is an asset to the hotel and our thanks go out to her for being do helpful. Can't wait for 2015 and our next visit..... Ooops, meant to say hotel is easy to reach by bus from the airport and only 12 Euro's for two so save your money on a taxi.....

Room Tip: Go for a privilege
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perrine P, Responsable relations publiques at L'Hotel Massena, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Sir,

We want to extend our sincerest gratitude for taking the time to share your experience and to highlight all the wonderful things you enjoyed about your stay ! Thank you for this wonderfull 5/5 !

From our housekeeping staff to our Front Desk Agents, one of our top priorities is to fulfill all of our guests’ needs so I am so pleased you found our service to be friendly and helpful.

I am delighted to read your comments about your "fantastic" Privilege room. All our rooms just have been fully renovated with contemporary furniture and a quiet and cozy atmosphere.

We'd love to see you soon, and I invite you for your next visit to book through our Facebook page on which we offer a 10% discount all year long.

Yours sincerely,
Perrine Pellet, public relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Friendly service. Heavy rain during the stay and that caused an irritating dripping sound in the room which was very intense. No problem changing room, very good. Superb breakfast. Wll come again and recomend it.
The drawback with our stay it raind every day!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perrine P, Responsable relations publiques at L'Hotel Massena, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Sir,

Thank you! We appreciate you taking the time to review our Hotel.
It is not often raining in Nice, but when it happens it rains a lot in one go. We hope you will have the opportunity to come back to experience the beauty of Nice with blue sky and sunlight!

I invite you for your next visit to book through our Facebook page on which we offer a 10% discount all year long.

Best regards,
Perrine Pellet, Public relation manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

My first time in Nice and I was upgraded to a room on the Sofia (as in Loren) Suite. Excellent hotel with a balcony and a room with a view. Pictures of the stars in my room were George Clooney and Audrey Hepburn. I loved having a refrigerator, a bathtub and being within walking distance of all of the shops and the promenade. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Even the meals ordered from room service were great! I traveled solo and would definitely stay here again!!! The only complaint I have is that I didn't get to use the balcony because it rained much of the time I was there but that was no fault of the hotel. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perrine P, Responsable relations publiques at L'Hotel Massena, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Massena for your first time in Nice !
Our Sofia Suite do provide a high quality of comfort and I'm glad you could stay in this room.
The satisafcation of our customers is our priority, we strive to offer the best service throughout the year.
It is a privilege to gain your loyalty and we look forward to welcoming you back on your future trips to Nice with the sun shining !

Yours sincerely,
Perrine Pellet, public relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Massena for 3 nights in one of the privilege rooms. The room itself was clean, spacious and had a good bed. In general there was not much to complain about, except for it's shower. I'm never a big fan of showers combined with a bathtub, but the installation was done in such a way that you had to move around the shower not to bump into the hose and still get wet.

The staff was very friendly and it's breakfast offered a nice variety of options. The location of the hotel is very nice. All the things worth visiting can be easily done from this hotel. The choice of decoration in the hotel is somewhat moot. The mixture of modern art and pictures of old movie stars, which is not entirely my personal taste. Also the hotel promotes having four stars, but in my experience I expected more (service, fancy furniture, etc.), causing me to give it an average score...

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnicemassena, Deputy General Manager at L'Hotel Massena, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
I would like to thank you for selecting the Hotel Massena during your last visit in Nice and the time you took to write us the interest you attach to our property.
All of us are committed to provide the highest degree of comfort and service to all our guests. Your evaluation is important, telling us what we do a good job or what we have to improve.
I will certainly share your observations with the entire hotel staff and are sorry not to have meet your expectations.
Best Regards,
Georges PRADIER
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Hotel Massena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hotel Massena

Address: 58 rue Gioffredo, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#40 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Hotel Massena 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your L'Hotel Massena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hotel Massena
l Hotel Nice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Hotel Massena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.