We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful hotel, great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Hotel Massena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added L'Hotel Massena to your Saves list
L'Hotel Massena
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   58 rue Gioffredo, 06000 Nice, France (Centre)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #55 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“wonderful hotel, great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

this was a wonderful experience. The entire staff made you feel valued and at home. Everyone very helpful, easy walking distance to pretty much everything. Not really in a "hotel district". Lots of good dining options nearby. On same trip, had a terrible experience at Novotel in Paris, so this was a welcome change.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnicemassena, Deputy General Manager at L'Hotel Massena, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
I would like to thank you for selecting the Hotel Massena during your last visit in Nice and the time you took to write us the interest you attach to our property. I am very delighted to read your comment and will be happy to inform our staff about it.
I am looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in the future.
Best Regards,
Georges PRADIER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    289
    126
    47
    23
See reviews for
67
336
30
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
northern ireland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed from the 13th to the 18th September and have no complaints at all.The hotel is in a great location just a short stroll from the Massena square in fact we stayed on the 5th floor with a balcony and was able to see the square from there.Our room was fine, a bit small but had everything you need.The balcony made a great difference. Breakfast was very good again everything you need ,lovely fresh breads beautiful slices of ham and a very nice selection of cheeses.They have large flasks of coffee which was very mild and on my last day I realised that you can ask for an espresso at the counter.I found the staff at the front desk really very nice as were the breakfast staff.I would stay in this hotel again, hopefully next year.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 5th floor with a balcony and had a great sleep.no noise from the traffic below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnicemassena, Deputy General Manager at L'Hotel Massena, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
I would like to thank you for selecting the Hotel Massena during your last visit in Nice and the time you took to write us the interest you attach to our property. I am very delighted to read your comment and I am looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in the future.
Best Regards,
Georges PRADIER
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, FL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is a very nice location and the rooms have been updated. The personnel are pleasant, but do nothing they promise. First day our room was very hot. They sent up the housekeeper who cranked the temperature to the lowest setting and the fan to the highest. She did not even know where the air was supposed to come out. An hour later, still hot. (Thank God this wasn't the middle of the summer.) A call to the front desk produced the bell hop. "Oh no, you have it on wrong setting, you cannot do this". (We never touched the controls) He sent it to middle temp (70 degrees) and middle fan speed. Another hour later, still 80-85 degrees in the room. The desk said they will send the technichian." We went out for a walk, returning about 5 pm. They said, "The technician just left for the day". We asked to change rooms. They were fully booked. We asked for a fan. This was supplied and we managed to sleep that night. The next morning, we again asked to change rooms, but they said they had other people coming in. My husband suggested they put them in that room but the hotel refused. The technician showed up while we were out in the morning. He told the desk the air was working, but it could not cool this large room (about 30% larger than a Holiday Inn room). So here is the point: Ours could not have been the first complaint they have had with the air conditioning, yet they continued the charade that they were doing something about it. The second day, 2 of the 4 lights in the bathroom went out. And of course they weren't replaced. Final straw: We asked for a 4:30 wake up call the morning of our departure. They did call, but not until 4:50. As for JD Glasgow's comment: Excellent breakfast, you have got to be kidding. We had it the first morning. Powdered eggs-Yuk!. And they charge you more than 20 Euros pp. You are better off walking a few blocks west of the square and getting the Petit DeJuenere: 6 Euros.

Room Tip: Stay away from #215. The couple we were traveling with were in 222 and they had adequate air condit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnicemassena, Directeur général at L'Hotel Massena, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
I would like to thank you for selecting the Hotel Massena during your last visit in Nice and the time you took to write us the interest you attach to our property.
All of us are committed to provide the highest degree of comfort and service to all our guests. Your evaluation is important, telling us what we do a good job or what we have to improve.
We are sorry not to have met your expectations and be sure we will take care of your comment.
Best Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, IL USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Rooms have French doors onto small balconies overlooking the street. there was a small pigeon nuisance. Night time revelers were noisy. Breakfast was poor. Location was perfect for access to Old Nice and the beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnicemassena, Directeur général at L'Hotel Massena, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
Thank you for your comment about the Hotel Massena. We will not fail to share it with all our teams and take note.
We are sincerely sorry to hear that noise has been a source of embarrassment for you. Know that our historic Hotel-Nice-benefits of continuous improvement and isolation rooms are part of. We are sorry for the noise in the street but it's true that it is very difficult to control the sounds of our environment in Nice and also we can't avoid some birds "pigeon" to be there.
For information, our breakfast is an american breaksfast with hot and cold drinks, several sorts of pastries and breads, yogurts, cheeses, ham, scrambled egges, sausages, fresh fruits and vegetables salads,.... and are sorry not to have reach your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you in the Hotel Massena on your next stay in Nice.
Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Both myself and wife went to this hotel in July 2012 and really enjoyed our stay in the Hotel Massena. The room we received was on the 5th floor with no noise from the road. Beds were comfortable and the room was extremely clean. Location of the hotel was great for everything. Excellent breakfast in a nice modern dining room. Staff extremely pleasant and we would not hesitate to book this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnicemassena, Deputy General Manager at L'Hotel Massena, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
I would like to thank you for selecting the Hotel Massena during your last visit in Nice and the time you took to write us the interest you attach to our property. I am very delighted to read your comment and will be happy to inform our staff about it.
I am looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in the future.
Best Regards,
Georges PRADIER
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I cannot praise this Hotel enough, have not met a more welcoming and helpful staff anywhere,an absolute delight.Location is perfect,beach,shops,restaurants, promenade. old town and rail station all within easy walking distance.
Air conditioned lobby a delight to walk in to, clean bright and modern.We were in a standard room which are not very big but are comfortable, clean and let's face it you only really want to store your belongings and sleep there(Safe in room free of charge).Bathrooms are clean, bright and adequately equipped so no issues with accommodation.On top of all this a fabulous efficient buffet breakfast with lots to suit all tastes and nationalities.I booked through Easyjet (Lowcostbeds.com) for around 430GBP B&B,so not " overpriced".Will be back again!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnicemassena, Deputy General Manager at L'Hotel Massena, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
I would like to thank you for selecting the Hotel Massena during your last visit in Nice and the time you took to write us the interest you attach to our property. I am very delighted to read your comment and I am looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in the future.
Best Regards,
Georges PRADIER
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Massena Hotel in Nice. We went during the first half of August 2012. The staff was excellent - Always smiling! The Hotel is ideally located close to the promenade des Anglais and to the old town. Also shops are very close and there is a mini market close by. The buses going to Monaco are a short walk away. Breakfast is very good. Me and my wife would definitely go back again when we are in Nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnicemassena, Directeur général at L'Hotel Massena, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
I would like to thank you for selecting the Hotel Massena during your last visit in Nice and the time you took to write us the interest you attach to our property. I am very delighted to read your comment and I am looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in the future.
Best Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Hotel Massena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hotel Massena

Address: 58 rue Gioffredo, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#40 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Hotel Massena 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your L'Hotel Massena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hotel Massena
l Hotel Nice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Hotel Massena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.