We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't get a non-refundable prepayment bargain” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aston La Scala

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Aston La Scala to your Saves list
Hotel Aston La Scala
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Avenue Felix Faure, 06000 Nice, France (Formerly Grand Hotel Aston Clarion Nice)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 211 Hotels in Nice
seattle
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Don't get a non-refundable prepayment bargain”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We read the previous reviews, and all the good ones were in refurbished rooms, and the bad ones were in rooms which hadn't yet been refurbished. Unfortunately, we had a travel package for which we had paid a lot of money, and our room really, really needed refurbishment.

Someone had picked us up at the airport and was double parked outside so we were rushed. The tour representative had already gotten our keys and just gave them to us along with the number of the room. We only had time to drop the bags in the room, and didn't know where she had gone after we dropped the bags.

While the hallway outside the room was attractive, and well lit, we didn't have time to inspect the room. If we were checking into a hotel on our own, and had the time to inspect it before staying the night, we would never have accepted this room.

The room was small (not surprising in Europe, and nothing to complain about), but grim, of questionable cleanliness, and when we returned late that evening, had an unpleasant odor. The bed even had a sagging appearance in the middle. The wallpaper was peeling in the bathroom and also in the bedroom. There is no decor. The lighting wasn't nearly as good as in the attractive hallway. The toilet flushing mechanism was malpositioned. The shower temperature was very difficult to control. The room was hot, but we couldn't get the temperature down, so slept with the window completely open.

The next morning we had the breakfast included with the room. While the breakfast was okay, and this part of the hotel appropriate, the staff were indifferent, making no attempt to welcome anyone.

As we were gathered by the tour director after breakfast, someone from the front desk came to me and said that someone from America was calling for us. My wife and I walked back with her to the front desk, but by this time, their staff had already disconnected the call without taking a name or telephone number so we couldn't respond. As it turned out, the call was unimportant, but the handling of the call was poor, provoking anxiety.

There were similar remarks regarding the rooms from almost all of the people in our group, and they planned to let the tour company know their dissatisfaction. I can only say that we have stayed in many hotels, but find it incredible that this is rated a four star hotel. I would warn the reader, that if the hotel offers a prepayment option for a better rate, it would probably be wiser to not accept it unless you are sure of getting a room which has already been refurbished. If you haven't prepaid the room, I would suggest that you don't sign in until you have seen the room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    164
    83
    45
    24
See reviews for
39
214
10
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed here for our wedding anniversary. The location is ideal as it was close to the old town and the beach. It wasn't to far from the restaurants and about 20 minutes walk from the main train station.
The breakfast was a bit pricey but when compared to what was offered close by was actually a better deal.
Our room was on floor 4. It was superior room which we had booked. It was very clean and spacious and the shower was quiet powerful and lovely and warm. The only downside was that there was no tea and coffee making facilities. It was also nice to have a safe in your wardrobe and that you could set your own pin number. Over all we would definitely recommend this hotel and once the building works on the garden outside have been completed will make the already impressive view from the roof top better.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Hotel Aston in Nice France for one night. Its location is very convenient to the beach and the old town section. Upon entering our room, number 216 we noticed that the molding on the inside door frame was missing, as though repair work was started but never finished. When we inspected the room, we found that a nice marble dresser top had circular stains in several places, not very attractive. The TV remote did not work so we could not watch TV. We tried to use the free in room Wi-Fi, but it did not work either. The water leaked in the bathroom sink causing a stain because the faucet could not be turned off. There was no clock or coffee pot in the room. When we checked out we were asked if we used anything from the Mini Bar and we said yes, a small bottle of water. We had to pay 6 eurs ($8.50) for it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The location of this hotel is perfect. We stayed for our honeymoon and booked an executive room which was lovely, sadly our timing was bad as they are renovating the gardens out the front of the hotel. (Nothing to do with hotel) We were woken early by the sound of drilling and banging. We asked to be moved to the back of the hotel which they did as soon as a room was available. Unfortunately this meant we were down-graded as all executive rooms are at the front of the hotel (which makes since, the rooms are bigger and when the gardens are finished the views will be amazing!) because of the downgrade we were given free breakfast which was nice but I would have been very disappointed had we paid €18! I would highly recommend the hotel, the reception staff and concierge were great, very helpful & friendly. Once the gardens out the front are finished the hotel will be top notch!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We recently stayed at Grand Hotel Aston, and for the price that we paid we had expected a little more than what was offered. The hotel was easy enough to find, we travelled to the hotel by car as we travelled through southern france. Parking for the hotel can be found in the car park opposite to the hotel, there is ample space there if you get there at the right time. The car park itself is really terrible and awkward - there is a pointless lift to access the different floors but you have to haul your luggage over several flights of stairs. The car park is quite expensive and is not subsidised by the hotel - we did ask the hotel whether they were subsidised and we were given looks of shock that this would be asked. The car park is 27 euros per day.

The entrance to the hotel is looking dated, and could use a renovation. The check in was quick and efficient, and the hotel assistant helped us to our room on level 6.

The rooms were nice, we had a great view, and most important they were clean - overall what was offered was fairly standard in terms of what comes with a room.

The roof-top pool and bar is great the pool is of good depth and there is ample sun beds and seats to lounge around, however, whilst the view is fantastic you cannot easily see the sunset without peering over fenced areas due to how it has been setup. This feels like a major failure on their behalf, since this would have been a prized view.

The sunbeds at the rooftop bar, the hotel does have an arrangement at the beach for the booking of beds, umbrella, and towels for 20 euros per person. This is probably the most I have had to pay on my trip, and we without knowing any better we purchased the reservation. When we turned up to the beach we were asked to pay an additional 4 Euros for an umbrella we had hesitantly agreed to pay although we were told that it was included in the 20 Euros. Furthermore, we learnt that it was only 18 euros if you had booked the beds and all directly at the beach. This left a very sour taste in our mouth.

You do receive wireless access for free, but we struggled to get a consistent connection with the signal often dropping in and out.

We also found out the hard way that this hotel does not provide any irons in the room, or a communal/shared irons. However, they did provide a ironing service at a cost. I found this to be very poor, and the reason for this as it was explained was due to a recent fire in one of the rooms. If this was explained to me earlier I may have booked in for my shirts to be ironed, but when I had called and was explained of the ironing service I was also told that they could not fullfil my order - I wore creased shirt to dinner that night and looked like a dill.

If I return to Nice, I would try a different hotel before returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Old Town is about a block and a half away across a park which was being redone when we were there. It's not much further to the main square. We were with a group and some had pleasant rooms and others not so pleasant. Our bed almost needed a rope to pull oneself out of due to the severe sway back. No safe and using the hotel safe was inconvenient mostly due to person at the desk. The breakfast buffet was pretty good.

Room Tip: I understand there are "renovated" rooms and one of those would probably be more comfortab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taiwan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great location, a bit pricey at high season, yet, spacious room and great view at the swimming pool. Rooms at different floors are rather different. some are new and some are quite old. But clean enough. It's very safe to store the languages there. and it's not far from the T train and the old town. Cafes nearby and a block away form the plaza.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aston La Scala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aston La Scala

Address: 12 Avenue Felix Faure, 06000 Nice, France (Formerly Grand Hotel Aston Clarion Nice)
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Aston La Scala 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifull hotel in the center of Nice, 3 minutes away from Place Massena, 5 minutes away from the beach and the Promenade des Anglais. Bar and pool on the roof top of the hotel with a 360° view. Enjoy our rooms with a modern style, starting with our comfort, privilege rooms to our Premium rooms and suites with a view over the Parc "Promenade du Paillon". Our restaurant l'Horloge is open all year and welcomes you to savor French seasonal cuisine. Reception non stop, concierge and a luggage carrier at your service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Aston La Scala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Nice
Clarion Nice
Nice Clarion
Nice Aston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aston La Scala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.