We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, nice enough hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel West End

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel West End to your Saves list
Hotel West End
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31 Promenade Des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Rome, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Location, nice enough hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is a nice hotel, located on a main street. The room was small but nice, nothing special, but clean. Breakfast buffet a little steep, there are restaurants very close that serve English breakfasts much cheaper. No bar, but you can order a drink from restaurant and sit in area to drink. We had no complaints, staff was very helpful. 10 minutes from casino, hop on-hop off bus, 20 minute walk to train station, close to restaurants and about 20 minute walk to port, right across from the beach.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST2010, Responsable relations clients at Hotel West End, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you so much for such a positive review of our hotel. It is a very impressive review, especially for our staff whose kindness is mentionned as a major point of satisfaction.
Location is also one of our main asset and the closeness of the sea and the city center makes our hotel a place to stay for a short city break or longer vacation.
Do please visit us again and we will all make you feel comfortable and let you enjoy another time the West End in Nice.
With our best regards.
Sincerely yours.
Guest Relation Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    252
    114
    51
    30
See reviews for
98
330
23
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, GA
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed in a Junior suite and it seems very dated to me, in need of a facelift. Ask for a non smoking floor, I did not and the smoke smell was very obvious. The staff are wonderful, friendly, and accomodating. This hotel is well positioned, next to the Negresco (go for at least a cocktail) and across from beach. The breakfast is overpriced - I recommend you go out - all the little restaurants offer the same at half the price. The restaurant is very good in evenings, with an excellent wine list. Also, be aware there is no gym.

All in all, an average, somewhat over priced hotel.

Room Tip: There is no gym. Ask for non smoking floor if you are a non smoker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST2010, Responsable relations clients at Hotel West End, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
It is very kind of you to take a few moments of your time to write a review about your stay at th West End. We do appreciate every comments and they help us a lot to improve our hotel and services.
Our hotel has 6 floors, and only the second floor is still a smoking area.
We do understand how important it is to allocate room for non smokers and 5 floors are strictly reserved for it. Our breakfast includes a wide variety of fresh products and is a full american breakfast, you may find elsewhere other breakfast suggestions but the choice is far more reduced;
Thanks for your positive impression about the hotel restaurant and the kindness of all our staff always willing to assist each of our guests.
Hopefully you will be one of our returning guest.
We are already waiting for you.
Sincerely yours.
Guest relation manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a long weekend here and was very impressed with the room.

The room was tastefully modern, a gorgeous bathroom, beautiful sea view room on the 6th floor with wifi (slow but perfectly acceptable), the only thing missing in my opinion was an iPod/iPhone dock. The beds and pillows were just right which is the first time I've been able to say that about a hotel in a long time!

Breakfast was average but only because when we went down near the end of the breakfast sitting on two mornings there was next to nothing left, there may have been much more earlier on. A little disappointing that when it is listed that breakfast is available until a certain time I would expect everything to still be there!

The staff were all very helpful and friendly, overall a good visit. Thanks for making our stay very comfortable and I look forward to returning to Nice next month.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST2010, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel West End, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write your review.
How pleased we are to read, how impressed you were by the room and also by the kindness and efficiency of our staff.
Breakfast serving time is from 7 to 1030 am but if you have your breakfast by the end of the service, our waiters can bring you whatever you may feel to have on the buffet even if not available .
Thank you for the Ipod / iphone dock suggestion which is obviously a good idea .
Hopefully we will welcome you very soon and with even more pleasure than we had this time.
Sincerely yours
guest relation manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight UK
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

After extensive research we booked the West End Hotel 8 months in advance of the February carnival due to discount offered for an advance booking - it is worth doing this.

It has a great location on the Promenade des Anglais and about a 5-6 minute walk away from the old town. It is also adjacent to the famous Negresco – perfect for drinks or dinner or just for the view.

Our Deluxe Seaview Room was lovely, with excellent views across the bay. The weather wasn’t that kind so we didn’t get much opportunity to sit outside. However it was good to have outside access and hear the roar of the sea.

The room was modern, all pale colours and a very smart, contemporary bathroom with a window into the room so you could have a luxurious bath and look at the Seaview (just about!) The only niggle in the room was that the large shutter-style doors for blocking out sunshine meant there was a small ‘corridor’ gap between the window and the bed (only about 8 inches wide) meaning you had to shuffle to get in/out of the bed.

The hotel has a lot of smart conference room facilities, most of which were not in use during our stay. Breakfast is served either in a small room in the basement (no view) or outside in the marquee area in front of the hotel (quite cold and noisy from road traffic). The breakfast experience didn’t match the elegance of the hotel – it was cramped and was a hectic ‘turn around’ of tables for staff. It seems strange that they don’t make use of the unused elegant salon / conference rooms instead. Cooked options are luke warm at best (no heating appliance below serving dishes). However, fresh croissants and pastries were excellent, but even the pre-booked discounted price wasn’t worth it – if we stayed again we would go out for breakfast.

Surprisingly the hotel doesn’t have a dedicated bar – there are a number of attractive seating areas, but we had to walk to Reception to ask if we could order drinks in the evening and a waitress had to be requested to come through from the restaurant. We thought the hotel was really missing an opportunity here – there were many guests sitting relaxing in the evening without drinks. However, the hotel next door, The Westminster had a very nice bar area, so we made use of that.

In summary our room was 5 out of 5, but the lack of in-use public areas and the strange breakfast experience were a 3 out of 5.

Room Tip: A sea-view room is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST2010, Responsable relations clients at Hotel West End, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your impressive review and the detailed informations given about the hotel ans its main services. This is quite an interresting point of view and all your suggestions have been considered with care as we always do for each of the review published on trip advisor.
We do appreciate your enjoyement about the room and the view. Our Breakfast includes a wide selection of fresh products which are selected to satisfy all the different tastes and the buffet is regularly refilled. If any product is not available at your serving time our waiters are always ready to provide it in a while . Our warm dishes such as eggs and sausages are kept on optimal temperature inside special appliances.
Our bar section is actualy located in the lobby where, as you mentionned gently, armchairs and sofas offer a cosy atmosphere just close to the restaurant; A perfect place to enjoy a drink either before or after your dinner.
Our conference rooms are regularly allocated to business conferences and cannot be used as a breakfast room. Thank for for the 5/5 for the room and we all are that sure you will be one of our returning guest. We are waiting for you to welcome you back.
With our best regards.
Sincerely yours
Guest relation manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Friends and I stayed here during the fete des fleurs carnival. We found the hotel staff very pleasant and very helpful.
The rooms were very clean and well maintained, we would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for an excellent hotel in a unbeatable location.
We did not have breakfast at the hotel as it was expensive but we were advised of nearby cafes that offered a good breakfast at reasonable rates.
We enjoyed our stay immensely and wished we could have stayed longer.
.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST2010, Responsable relations clients at Hotel West End, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you for writing such a nice review .
Our location is our main asset and the Sea right by the hotel makes it a place to stay even for a short stay or a longer one.
All our staff is dedicated to customer service and we do appreciate when our past guesst tell us how we achieved it.
Thank you again and we do hope to welcome you back very soon.
Sincerely yours.
Guest Relation Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed at West Endfor second time and we enjoyed it again. Despite the fact that rooms were cosy and the roof in 1 room was damaged due to rain hotel personnel did everything to do our stay pleasant. They changed the room without any charges because it was upper class. Thank you, West End!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST2010, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel West End, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write a short but good review about our hotel and its services.
We do regret the terrible wheather that we had in the beginning of March but there was nothing we could do to stop it, but when a damage occur in one of our rooms , we urgently make everything possible to repair it and move our guests to another room for better comfort .
We do hope to welcome you back with more sun and we will do our best to make your stay a memorable one.
Sincerely yours
Guest relation manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Taking advice from Tripadvisor we stayed in a sea view room on the 5th floor using Booking.com for a good deal. The hotel is ideally situated on the Promenade de Anglais with a bus stop for the airport and Cannes just outside the door. There are ample cafes and restaurants of all standards within an easy 10 minute walk and the station is a straightforward 20minute walk (we're old!). The room was clean, well furnished and very modern with fast, free WiFi. Breakfasts are 12 euros pp if negotiated at the onset. They are very average with baked beans, thin sausages and streaky bacon and scrambled egg every day (bacon tactfully removed when some Muslims were staying). There is fresh fruit and fruit salad,, yogurts, cheese,smoked salmon, pastries and bread for toasting. Beverages are juice and tea/,coffee self made from Thermos flasks. The restaurant was pricey and the meals very average (even their signature meals).
The staff are very helpful and welcoming.

Room Tip: 5th floor sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST2010, Responsable relations clients at Hotel West End, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to write this review about our hotel.
We do appreciate all the comments from all our past guests and their suggestions are considered with care because they help us a lot to improve our hotel and its services.

Your comments have been forwarded to the restaurant and should you wish to tell us more about it, do please contact us directly. at : restaurant@westendnice.com.
We do hope to welcome you back .
Thank you for your visit.
Guest relation manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel West End

Address: 31 Promenade Des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#20 Luxury Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel West End 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1842, the West End Hotel, a jewel of the Belle Epoque, is ideally located on the legendary Promenade des Anglais. It is 5 minutes from the old city, 10 minutes from the airport and the Palais des Congrès congress centre.In an enchanting setting, the Hotel is a perfect combination of tradition, savoir-faire, and modernity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nice
West End Hotel Nice
Nice Best Western
Hotel West End Nice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel West End, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.