We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel Experience Ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel West End

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel West End to your Saves list
Hotel West End
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31 Promenade Des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worst Hotel Experience Ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We arrived in a room which wasn't clean, although the tried to make it look cleand (there was hair on the bed, a used towell in the bathroom and the toilet wasn't cleand). We complained and got another room. Unfortunately the door of that room wouldn't lock, so as soon we left the room, anybody could have just walked in our room and take everything. We complained again, and got a third room. At two a clock in the morning the neighbours arrived (they were young and accordingly loud - which is totally ok actually) and we could hear everything as the room is so poorly sound isolated (we could even hear them go to the toilet!!!). So I complained again, at three oclock in the morning and we got a fourth room. I couldn't belive that the door was broken in that room too...it wouldn't even shut (broken door handle or something). I went down to the desk a second time that night. So they put us in the fifth (!!!) room, which was finally ok. We actually wanted to stay a third night, but according to those circumstances we aborted our stay. Although the hotel manager was present the day we left, he would't take the time to appologise. All we got was a refund for the last night, which we didn't spend there anyway. At least the hotel staff was friendly. As already mentioned, it was the worst hotel experiance ever and I can not recommend this hotel at all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST2010, Responsable relations clients at Hotel West End, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
We are so sorry about this regretfull appreciation because it does not reflect the quality of service that we usually provide to all our guests.
We do apologise for all the incoveniences because this is not the way we would like you to remember your stay.
Do please contact us at : reception@westendnice.com.
Thank you for your visit and hopefully you will be one of our returning guest to enjoy the West End with its best value on welcoming and servicing.
With our best regards.
Sincerely yours.
Guest relation manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    221
    102
    48
    28
See reviews for
87
281
20
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Just got back from a weekend at the West End and we had a great time.
Hotel is superbly located on the Promenade de Anglais and easy to get to from the airport - bus 98 stops along the promenade and we used it to get to and from the airport (4 euros a time - much cheaper than a cab).
Our room was a superior with a sea view. It was great to sit on the balcony and watch the world go by.
It's strange that you get so many conflicting reviews of places - unlike some other reviewers we found the staff very pleasant and helpful. Our room was not ready when we arrived but it was only 11.30am so we were not surprised. We just left our baggage and went out for a walk and lunch. When we returned our room was ready and our luggage arrived in a couple of minutes. The room was very nice with everything you'd expect. It was clean and comfortable. Coffee making facilities were provided but no English language TV.
We didn't have breakfast at the hotel as it was rather pricey and there are cheaper, good quality cafe nearby. We did have dinner in the hotel restaurant or evening and it was very nice and surprisingly no more expensive than the touristy restaurants that serve food that isn't so good.
As is usual , beware the minibar! 8 euros for a small can of Heinekin is simply a rip off!
Overall a very nice hotel that I would recommend highly. It is an ideal base for exploring Nice and Monte Carlo.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST2010, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel West End, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you very much for taking time to write a comment on your stay and our hotel.
Your review enlight the main asset of the West End .
We do wish to keep to welcome you back to enjoy another time the West End for the most memorable stay in Nice.
Thankfully yours.
Guest relation manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The location of this hotel is perfect and the view is lovely however that's it for the positive comments. When booking in we were told our room wasn't ready and it would be 30 to 45 minutes so we went for lunch. We returned 90 minutes later and we were told by another member of staff that it would be 5 minutes but in fact was nearer 20minutes. We waited so long for our luggage despite being told a porter would follow us up -we went down to bring it up ourselves. For a hotel this size to have one lift working is a joke the fact that the other lift stayed out of use for five days beggars belief. The concierge was rude, arrogant and lazy. If he moved any slower he would have been mistaken as a French delicacy (snail) and eaten. We had to ask for tea and coffee after our room had been cleaned as they forgot. There is a difference between poor service and the pace the French work and this was poor service without a doubt. Our room was a suite and not cheap but the furniture in the room was tired, old and marked. The blind on the window between the bathroom and bedroom was broken and it was just hung over the pole. On our last day we asked if we could have a room to change in after a day on the beach we were told yes a room would be made available however when we returned to the hotel the member of staff who agreed this had gone home and the very helpful (not) lazy concierge told us to use the toilets! There were other guests doing the same and so we ended up in a store room opposite. This is not how a five star hotel treats its guests if they want return business. As the recession bites and the euro crisis gathers pace I hope this hotel gets its act together otherwise like the attitude of the staff and the furniture it will end up belonging more in Blackpool than Nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST2010, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel West End, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a comment about our hotel.
All the comments are considered with good care because they help us a lot to improve our hotel and its services.
We are all glad to read that the impressive view over the sea has been a true enjoyment for you all along your stay.
Therefore we do regret how you disagree the way your arrival has been handled and apologise for it. Our check in time is scheduled for 3 pm and all our maids are preparing the rooms as quickly as possible and always with maximum care and efficiency.
Delay may apply depending on the guest's check out time generaly scheduled for 12 am and an important numbers of departure.
For your safety one of the lift was on inspection and a major part of the engine was to be changed, we do regret how long we had to wait for the the delivery and the inconveniences for all our guests.
Coffee and tea facilities in the room can be replaced at any time and receptionists or porter can help you for that .
The West End is a Belle Epoque style hotel and the main rooms are classicly decorated nethertheless some of them has been decorated with a more contemporary style to match the expectations of all our guests.Should you dislike the room in itself or as it is, we do suggest you another one and we do it every time..All our room are constantly checked by the maids , houskeeper and technicians in order to offer the best comfort to all our guests.
We regret your disapointment and because it is does not reflect the quality of servrice that we generaly offer to all our guests and besides all our apology we would like to thank you again for visiting us and should you need to get any information or assistance regarding your last or your future stay, do please contact us back.
With our most distinctive regards.
Sincerely yours.
Guest relation manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

What a perfect location and beautiful room with a first class view, room 317 was excellent and ideal for us spending our honeymoon in! What let the whole experience down though was the poor customer service from the outset. We arrived and were told that our room would be ready in 40mins max and when we returned 1hour 15mins later we were told that it still wasn't ready and in fact we waited another 15minutes. We then had to wait for another 15 mins for our luggage to arrive in the room. The second occurrence was when I asked whether we could keep our room later than the mid-day checkout but was told that this might be difficult and to ask again on the day, which I did. We were told that our luggage would be stored and that we would be shown to a room where we could change in the evening. When we returned and asked where we could change we were directed to the ladies toilet at the end of the corridor. It transpires that two other women were also directed to this toilet to change which incidentally contained one toilet and was too small for all of us to use, the gentleman on reception who directed us there washy disinterested and rude which was disappointing considering the cost of the holiday and the fact that this was a 4 star hotel, we will not be returning!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST2010, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel West End, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a comment about your stay in our hotel.
Thank you for stating how you appreciate room 317 which offer a magnificient view over the sea.
Your stay was a memorable one with us but we do regret and apologise for the negative impression, you had upon departure. We do generaly offer our guest to stay longer in the room if desired but this may depend on our availibilities.
Regretfully we did not have that opportunity on your departure date as we had an important number of arrivals.
Our beach facilities could be used to change clothes and even have a shower and luggage stored in our bagage room .
We do apologise for the inconveniences which do not reflect the usual quality of service that we offer to any of our guests.Despite you departure , we do hope you will keep a good souvenir of you stay because this is the way we would like you to remember it .
Should you ever wish to contact us back, please feel free to do it, .
We do hope to welcome you back with great pleasure.
Sincerely yours.
Guest realtion manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Olde world should not mean shabby and dog eared and that is what the West End is. The lighting in the rooms is very poor. Only one elavator worked throuhout the 5 days we stayed. The air conditioning was poor and one night did not work at all. The excuse given the next day was that there had been a storm. There was no unusually stormy activity and it was obviously an excuse used for such occasions. This place is living on past glory. Has a superb location and the view from our room was stunning but aside from that I would not recommend it or return.

Room Tip: If you do not have a sea facing room you are better off at a cheaper hotel on a back road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST2010, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel West End, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
We do regret your disapointment and all the issues mentionned on your comment.
The West End is a Belle Epoque Style and the decoration of most of our classic room ( located on the back side of the building ) show a view over the city.
Our Superior rooms are located on the front and have a bright light and a magnificient view on the Mediterranean Sea.
Our technicians are constantly checking the air conditioner and despite all their efforts,it may happen that a delay is noticeable.
For your safety one of the lift was on inspection and a main part of the engine was to be changed whic causes a delay.
All our apology for these delays and regrets because this is not the way we would like you to remenber your stay.
Hopefully you will be returning to our hotel and if this is to happen, do please contact our reservation agents who will help you to make your booking considering your last stay with good care.
With our most distinctive regards.
Sincerely yours
Guest relation manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
banffshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Just back from 2 days in this hotel - Thursday and Friday 4th-5th October - after 10 days down the coast in St Tropez, We stayed on the 5th floor in room 508, which was absolutely beautiful, floors 5 and 6 have been totally modernised. The room was spotlessly clean and had everything to make your stay comfortable. The rooms at the front of the hotel have the most amazing sea views, and of the Promenade Des Anglais. Staff were friendly and spoke excellent English, and were most helpful. We had read reviews about the poor value for money breakfast, and chose not to have it at the hotel - plenty of other options nearby. Do not rely on the bus service, often the bus is too full for it to stop and pick up anybody else! Get together with other travellers and take a taxi, there is a rank just a couple of meters to the right as you exit the hotel, and share the cost.

Room Tip: Floors 5 and 6 are ultra modern, but if you prefer a more traditional type of room, then the lower f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST2010, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel West End, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your nice comment,.
the amazing view is to be mentionned and combined with the perfect blue sky it reveals a very impressive view.
Thank you for mentionning how courteous our staff is .Considering our breakfast rate, it is a full american all you can it buffet which offer a wide selection of fresh products which allows each guest to select its prefered one.
We do hope to welcome you back.
With our best regards.
Sincerely yours
Guest relation manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Hotel is right on the Promenade and close to shopping and restaurants. Had a problem with my room and the staff moved us to another. Front desk service was what is to be expected and the Hotel is decorated with contemporary french style and charm. Hotel has its own lounge and bar on the water at a cost. About ten minutes from the train and airport. Breakfast was included and available in their outside dining on the promanade and typical of most included hotel breakfasts in France. If your beakfast is not included then its porbably a better choice to go elswhere. Price was great for the location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST2010, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel West End, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel.
We do wish to welcome you to enjoy the Belle Epoque Experience at the West End hotel in Nice.
Enjoy with us the bright and luminous view from your room and live with us a moment of timeless elegance .
With our best regards
Guest relation manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel West End

Address: 31 Promenade Des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#23 Luxury Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel West End 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1842, the West End Hotel, a jewel of the Belle Epoque, is ideally located on the legendary Promenade des Anglais. It is 5 minutes from the old city, 10 minutes from the airport and the Palais des Congrès congress centre.In an enchanting setting, the Hotel is a perfect combination of tradition, savoir-faire, and modernity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nice
West End Hotel Nice
Nice Best Western
Hotel West End Nice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel West End, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.