We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ellington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ellington to your Saves list
Hotel Ellington
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Boulevard Dubouchage, 06 000 Nice, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Gourock
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were on a long weekend to Nice where we have stayed many times, never at the Ellington though, it was comfortable, clean and central but the biggest treat was the staff who were very helpful and friendly. I mentioned to them that it was my partners birthday and in the morning they brought her a small cake, a present and two glasses of champagne. This is the kind of care and attention that is all too often missing from hotels. Thank you the staff at the Ellington, you were so kind.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    183
    88
    42
    20
See reviews for
56
246
37
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We chose the ellington to use up airmiles before the scheme became obsolete and took a basic b+b package which delivered beyond our expectations - it was not a large room but it was clean and had everything you might need including tea and coffee tray, the en-suite was spotless with very nice complementary toiletries and rooms were refreshed daily by a smartly uniformed unintrusive team.
The breakfast buffet offered an excellent choice of hot and cold options - you could eat as much as you liked and attentive friendly and helpful staff topped up everything frequently.
The hotel reception staff all conversed happily in English and were always obliging and helpful even when it was busy and in the bar we found the happy hour a very pleasant way to rest at the end of a long hot day enjoying a cold drink in the lovely hotel courtyard before setting out to explore Nice at night.
The hotel exuded faded grandeur and is possibly not to everyones taste but we found it a very comfortable and convenient place to stay as it was an easy stroll into the old town or to the beach and the hotel had an option for guests to have a good discount at the closest private beach.
The Ellington is in a quiet avenue close to one of the main shopping streets with Galeries Lafayette not far and across the road a little Spar type of outlet where you can buy basics.
It felt like a very safe part of town and was a great base - if I ever returned to Nice I would not hesitate to stay there again.
footnote: actually stayed august 2011 but drop down menu did not offer as an option

Room Tip: book a b+b package as it is expensive to add on breakfast and possibly choose to upgrade if you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is our third visit to Nice, the first to this particular hotel having stayed at the Palais de Mediteranee and La Perouse all be it later in the year usually November when room rates are more affordable at the more expensive hotels. Wanting to try a break in September we opted for this hotel due to the deal on offer at the time of booking (April this year). Having read the most recent reviews before my visit I was quiet apprehensive but pleasantly surprised when we checked in. The room a deluxe was adequately sized for a 4 night stay. The decor a little tired if being picky but the bathroom although small was recently refurbished and very clean. The hotel does appear to cater for coach visitors usually from America so previous reviewers mentioning this I can quite understand. We had our breakfast outside on the terrace everyday which was lovely the dining room staff very approachable and set us a table on the the terrace when we asked. The breakfast was included in our particular deal and was ok but I would not wish to pay 17 euros for this it would be better to find a coffee and pastry at a local cafe. All the staff from reception to housekeeping were all nice and greeted us with a bonjour On the whole this hotel was clean and comfortable but not luxurious it was nice for a 4 night stay and located close to many shops, bus stop for trips to Monaco, Cannes etc and also within walking distance of the old town and the sea front. Nice is a lovely place we found a fabulous restaurant which I will review on the restaurant section of the trip advisor. We had a lovely break but think next time we will go later in the season ie November or early April/May and stay on the promanade or even try an apartment

.

Room Tip: Deluxe or Executive
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Top Contributor
264 reviews 264 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is a very attractive building, beautifully maintained and close to the things tourists want to do in Nice. We were well received at reception and they were willing to book restaurants etc at our request. Our room was large for a French hotel and the large double bed was comfortable. The location of the bathroom would not have suited anyone who was not fit and the bath was very small. Everything was clean and well kept though. There is an outside seating area beside the bar and breakfast room. There was a very welcome 2-hour happy hour! Bar service was poor one evening but good otherwise. Breakfast was busy at certain times but there was enough seating. The food was good except that only orange juice was on offer. The ham and croissants were excellent. There were two downsides at breakfast; when food ran out, which it did frequently, it took too long to replensih and the staff were not good at clearing dirty dishes off tables. we would go back which is a good recommendation!

Room Tip: Don't ask for a quiet room. We did and it was over the main street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Hotel was in pictures far better than what is ended up being in reality. You could tell that the wall to wall carpet was already very old and dirty and the walls were very thin, as you could hear everything from next door. This hotel really needs a facelift! Service was good. The personnel was smiling and very helpful. The bar was nice, but as there was no real restaurant you had to leave for dinner every night. I give this hotel max 3- stars. Location is good for shopping and within walking distance to all sights. I doubt that I will go to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Don't take a room by the elevator as we had... terrible noice during night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The hotel was clean and our room was a good size, the staff were very helpful and the location is great. The only downside was breakfast - they cater too much for coach parties and no mater what time we went down for breakfast it was over run with old American people who completely cleared out the buffet. There were no tables, cups, plates or cutlery. I would recommend staying room only and having breakfast in a cafe nearby. We would probably not return to this hotel because of the breakfast farce and the frustration it caused. One Nice tip - do the Nice Cyle Tour, Thelma is great and you learn a lot about the history and where to eat. It was well worth every penny.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ellington

Address: 25 Boulevard Dubouchage, 06 000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#37 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ellington 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ellington is an elegant district in the centre of Nice, just a five-minute walk from the beach, the shopping area and the Acropolis congress centre. The hotel has an air of casual refinement, a subtle blend of styles, with handsome architecture, a patio with a hint of southern Spain, moulded ceilings, rich wood floors, designer furniture… and a bar straight out of the swing era.This charming new hotel with its 110 rooms, opened in January 2007, has a warm and welcoming atmosphere.A bar with a jazzy feeling, a cosy lounge, a sunny patio and meeting rooms with beautiful daylight… whatever your reason for being in Nice, just to relax, for business, or both. The Hotel Ellington will be delighted to have you discover its unique qualities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Ellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellington Hotel Nice
Hotel Ellington Nice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.