We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and helpful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Nice

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Hotel, Nice to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Hotel, Nice
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   223 Promenade des Anglais, 06200 Nice, France (Formerly Radisson SAS)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #63 of 211 Hotels in Nice
GreenLeadersSilver level
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Convenient and helpful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Just recently got back from a weekend trip to Nice.

Having read many reviews regarding the distance to the city center (Old Town) I'm quite surprised really... Sure, the distance is probably around 4-4.5 km one way, but if you're on a vacation and stroll down the Promenade des Anglais is a really relaxing time people and sea watching then stopping half way for lunch. I simply don't get the distance thing - maybe it's an age thing?

The hotel lobby was big and light, check in went fast and smoothly.

The room was spacious enough - even with a crib - and the decore interestingly colour- and detailful as opposed to many light Nordic style minimalistic hotels I've stayed in.

Help from the Concierge desk was detailed and helpful no matter what request.

Brekkie not bad at all with a good selection of hot items - and a cook to order egg menu - as well as cold items. Also a choice of Espresso or brewed coffee. Also a great reception as a family and not seen as a problem.

Also tried the room service one day and as we choose mains, desserts and cheeses we realized it was quite generous in serving sizes.

All in all a very good stay in a nice hotel where we all slept like babies.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    423
    192
    101
    42
See reviews for
198
406
33
190
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Karratha, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We had booked a room overlooking the sea with the possibility to upgrade to a Junior Suite. Upgrade was available on our arrival though only overlooking the City. When we asked if a Junior Suite was Ava overlooking the sea. We were told yes, for double what we were already paying. We stayed with our original booking. Breakfast in our room was lovely.

Room Tip: Definitely overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

This is an excellent hotel in many ways, sitting right on the Promenade des Anglais with the added attraction of a very desirable rooftop pool. Even in October we were able to spend time lounging in the sun although swimming was only for the brave in the unheated water.

But there is a but. The hotel is not central. It is well over a mile away from the main attractions of Nice and a distance from a decent choice of restaurants. The walk is beautiful around the bay of Nice and a multi-day pass can make buses a cheap transport option. However there are hotels that are better value and situated much more centrally.

Service was first rate, our room was very comfortable and the rooftop pool was very much an added bonus. The hotel also has its own strip of beach with loungers and restaurant but it had closed down by the time of our visit. There are charges for access to the pool and the beach in the peak season but the pool was free in October.

The only niggle we had concerned breakfast. There is a very wide choice but the “hot” items were only ever lukewarm. We assumed this was because they had been left standing for a long time after being cooked. However, we had to breakfast early on our last day and arrived at after it opened for service. The “hot” food was lukewarm even then.

Overall, a very good hotel but not perhaps the best location to get the most out of a compact city like Nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I can't agree more with all other previous negative comments with this hotel. The hotel is conveniently located nearby the airport (so close that when we popped into a taxi at the Nice International Airport on a late night and shown the driver the hotel address, he spoke abruptly to himself in French (as if cursing to me)).

We first greeted by a rude & impatient and arrogant Frenchmen receptionist, Cedric of answering my enquiries of the room rates and deposit, then I was accused called twice by the operator at the "One-click service" for tooth brushes & slippers (as the carpet in the room is dated that I don't want to walk on it with bare feet) despite it was being asked to deliver to two separate room. But our nightmare didn't stop there, two mattress out of our four beds in two rooms are in terrible condition - the odd is not just 50% as the crinkly noise from the spring is such a nuisance not just to the one who sleep on it, but to the roommate as well!

Radisson Blu has kept sending emails to stay at their hotels and to award oneself with points; but when you spend points to redeem for free (or partially free) room nights, you'll don't get the same respect as a paying guest. Even worse, the staffs, on average, have a very different attitude towards different skin colours.

My fellow Chinese, there's a lot of hotels in Nice to choose from.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reginekruger, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Nice, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor your concerns despite of we already received your complaint directly to the hotel and we respond to you since November 18th, 2013.

We are very sorry to hear about the incident occurred during your check-in and the staff behaviour towards you.
We completely understand your disarray and we agree that this kind of attitude is unacceptable and do not correspond to our service standards we like to provide to our customers.

Your comments have been transmitted to the reception manager to remedy to this kind of issues and review immediately the behaviour of the staff which does not match to our service philosophy "Yes I Can". Additionally, internal coaching will also take place.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you encountered.

Your remarks concerning the comfort of the beds also deserve our full attention; in particular, the attribution of a twin bedded room instead of kind size beds and the unpleasant spring noise. The reception manager and the executive housekeeper have been informed to take immediate measures to avoid such issues in the future.

Your feedback about the "one touch service" and the reactivity to get service and the requested items have been transmitted to our executive housekeeper to take immediate actions that this kind of issues do not occur again.

We can assure you we take all the here above mentioned problems seriously, and we will do everything in our power to make sure they do not happen again.

Reiterating our apologies for the experience you have met, we hope that you will give Radisson Blu Hotel Nice a second chance on the occasion of your next visit to South of France and Nice.

Yours Truly,

Eric van Dalsum
General Manager
Radisson Blu Hotel Nice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Stayed in this Hotel as part of an Insight Vacations tour of France.A really nice and top class Hotel.
The room, its cleanliness and the staff and their attitude toward guests were all 10/10.
The pillows were a bit on the soft side for my comfort but the bed was very good.
I had both dinner and breakfast at the Hotel and both were very very good. The breakfast was at least 9/10.
The only thing against this Hotel is its location. It is a very long way from the centre of Nice, much too far to walk and taxi's are very expensive in Nice. There is very little in the way of eateries around the area of this Hotel, meaning that unless you pay an outrageous taxi fare to the centre of Nice you are obliged to eat at the Hotel, which can be quite expensive indeed.
Overall, a lovely Hotel in a very poor location. 7/10

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night in October. Compared to other Radisson Blu's we've stayed at, the decor of this hotel was quite dated and in need of a revamp. The rooms were clean but housekeeping was a little eager knocking at 8:30AM! The location is closer to the airport than the city centre and there isn't much in the way of cafés and restaurants in the area- so unless you want to fork out for room service/hotel restaurant then you have to rely on the bus or walk - approximately 30-45 mins walk depending on your speed. In summer I'd imagine the hotel would be more appealing with the pool and beach areas more lively- but even still, the location isn't that great for exploring Nice and the Côte d'Azur unless you have a car.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This hotel is right at the beach, including a private beach of the hotel. It's right in the middle between the airport and the centre of the city. I admit, by foot to the port, it will take you an hour, and that's why I gave it a 4/5 instead of a 5/5. but there are bars and restaurants all over the place so you don't have to walk the whole coastline to see or experience something.
The kitchen of the hotel changes a lot. The breakfast is always excellent, it's a medium-sized buffet, filled up with the standard international breakfast ingredients. The dining however is not always perfect. Last summer we even ate in the city or at one of the plenty beach restaurants.
The hotel restaurants contain a beach restaurant, which is good, but empty. You eat practically alone... The other restaurant is on the roof, next to the bar. I admit, you have a great view over the coastline of Nice. We ate there last year, the main course was great, as you expect in such a hotel, however, the starters and desserts (buffet) were more appetisers as they were dishes.
The bar, obviously next to the rooftop restaurant, is great, a nice lounge ambient with the same great view over Nice by night!
The gym is a little small in my opinion, but the rooms are spacious and comfortable.
So my advice: great hotel, however for sports, go run outside next to the beach or take a swim and for dinner, eat in the city!

Room Tip: You don't have to worry about the noise coming from the Prom. Des Anglais, so the height doesn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Nice

Address: 223 Promenade des Anglais, 06200 Nice, France (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Nice
#7 Business Hotel in Nice
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#24 Luxury Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Nice 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the famous Promenade des Anglais and facing the sea, the Radisson BLU Hotel Nice is a contemporary hotel, blending luxury, elegance and wellbeing. The hotel offers the most beautiful panoramic roof top terrace (700sqm) in town with outside swimming pool, pool bar & lounge and restaurant with breathtaking view overlooking the Bay of Angels. Facing the hotel, the private beach "Regence Plage by Radisson Blu" welcomes you with restaurant and bar lounge in season. Sunbeds and umbrellas with additional rent of coast. Elegant and spacious rooms and suites, most of them with private terrace and sea view. All rooms are equipped with the comfort of an International hotel (individual climate control, cabled TV) and free high speed Internet access. (100 Mega) Our hotel benefits from an exceptional location; close to the historical city centre & the port and the train station are just a 10 minutes-drive. The International Nice Airport is just a 5-minute drive from the hotel. The infrastructure of the Radisson Blu Hotel Nice is ideal to keep fit thanks to the health club with fitness room overlooking the sea including sauna, hammam and fitness equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Rezidor, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Nice Hotel Nice
Radisson Nice
Radisson Hotel Nice
Nice Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel, Nice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.