We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor relation to the SPG group” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Nice

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Nice to your Saves list
Le Meridien Nice
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Promenade des Anglais, 06046 Nice, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 211 Hotels in Nice
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Poor relation to the SPG group”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel relies on its central location to keep it going.

The positives :

Central location
We arrived early morning and were given a room straight away.
The brought up missing things when we called and asked and we're pretty prompt.

The negatives :

Rooms are outdated, in a bit of a state and have no proper ventilation, travelodge standard.

Hotel is above a McDonald's and you need an escalator to get up to it so not suitable for disabled or those with push chairs.

Room service menu is non existent there are literally 5 items on it

Roof pool is more like the size of a Jacuzzi so not worth having

Prices in the bar are over the top for a 3 star hotel pretending to be a 4 star even expensive for Nice. I paid €15 for a small beer (25cl) and an orange juice !

View from rooms at the rear is like a prison cell ! (See attached picture)

Noise from rooms kept waking us throughout the night, you can hear everything!

Light comes in from under the door at night we had to put a towel at the bottom of the door to be able to sleep !

Overall I would rate this hotel as a low 3 star hotel that only has the location going for it but if you just want location there are loads about Accor, the beau rivage are 2 within a 5 min walk, think I'll be sticking to Marriot, Sheraton and St Regis from SPG as this really seems to be the poor relation and judging by the reviews I'm far from the only person that thinks so.


Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    428
    266
    152
    100
See reviews for
182
529
49
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We came for a conference & had many choices of hotels; in fact some people that we knew stayed in diferent hotels where we went to see them during our stay. Le Meridien Nice was by far the best!
The rooms were clean, the staff was very accomodating. The room service manager Georges Giha was great, we asked for ice & a bottle opener almost every night and he was so nice that on our last night not only was the ice in our room when we arrived but he also left us some chocolates and a note wishing us safe travels home!
Paying extra for a balcony was worth every penny as we would have a drink outside prior to dinner. The view is breath taking!
The breakfast buffet was awesome with fresh local cheeses, cold cuts, eggs(weren't great), fresh fruits & juices, a vast array of fresh breads & pastries.
This hotel is also close to everything (Old town, place Masena & transportation)

Room Tip: The rooms facing the Albert 1er garden had a great view and not much traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Marie O,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Your 5/5 rating is fantastic and we’re pleased you were very satisfied with your stay.
We are particularly pleased to learn that you found the staff exceptionally friendly and helpful.
Delighted too for your excellent feedback concerning your room, especially mentioning the cleanliness and its comfort.
Hoping to be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We really appreciated being able to walk straight out into the linear park which takes you to the Old Town. Lots of reasonable restaurants within easy walking distance, & the beach & promenade are just across the (admittedly busy) road. The hotel itself is very corporate but none the worse for that, in my opinion - though the bar/lounge is rather soulless in the evenings. The breakfasts are highly recommended - lots & lots of choice, & good quality. The rooftop swimming pool & bar/restaurant are highly recommended as a quiet place to relax, sun-bathe & look out over the sea-front, especially if you can make your drinks & food last a long time. The room was a Deluxe with Sea & Garden View - worth the extra over rearward-facing rooms. I would certainly stay here again. I didn't see anything supporting some of the previous negative reviews. For good prices, check out the "fly & stay" deals with BA.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for sea & garden views, but all front-facing rooms may suffer some overnight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear LRCman
Thank you for your review and the 5/5 you have awarded on your experience with us.

We truly enjoy reading guest reviews similar to the one that you posted and will share your comments with the entire team.

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Le Meridien Nice with your family and we sincerely hope to see you again soon.

Best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We loved the location. The room was a de luxe with a side sea view and a small terrace. Was a bit worried that we would get street noise but the insulation was excellent, never heard a sound. One of the most comfortable hotel beds I have slept in and the bed linen and pillows felt good.

I did find the room strange with a large table suitable for 4 taking up a lot of space. No dresser and the bedside tables were so small we had to deposit various bits on the table. There was a kind of bench seating for 3 and a chair. Not one drawer! Do they not realise we need space for small things like underwear, tights, etc. not having to pile them up on a high shelf.

The breakfast was good, catered for every taste and cultures. Husband loved the cheeses and hams and I enjoyed the creamy scrambled eggs. Bacon wasn't good, fatty and undercooked. Service excellent.

Nice views from the roof top terrace, great place to relax with a drink. Disappointed there was nowhere to relax after having a swim without being expected to buy a drink. The lounge in reception was very comfortable and also had great views.

Overall we were satisfied and would return.

Green Features: There was a scheme where if you did not have the room serviced there was a gift of a €5 voucher to spend in restaurants. Also a waste bin with recycling section.
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear katy038
Many thanks for mentioning our wonderful location, opposite the beach and just a stone’s throw from the old town and just around the corner of the pedestrian zone with many designer shops.

We are delighted that you mentioned the comfortable hotel beds, which were especially designed for us by the interior architect Nick Dine and that you appreciated the breakfast experience where we cater for all tastes.

Thank you also for mentioning the excellent service. Guest satisfaction is essential to us and it is really rewarding to read that it was achieved to such an extent.

We’re happy to receive your feedback with regards to the make up of your room, which will be taken into consideration during future renovations.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Le Meridian is in the perfect location....you can easily walk to old town, the roman ruins, many museums and wonderful restaurants. They serve a convenient, decent breakfast buffet, but when you can walk to an open air cafe, it's not worth the price. The downside is that the hotel is quite run down. It has a musty odor and is in high need of updating. The worst part was the bed...it was as hard as a rock! We had an interior courtyard room and there was no airflow, so even in the cooler April weather the room was intolerably warm (despite turning the AC on). The rooftop terrace provides an incredible view of the promenade, beach and sea. The staff was pleasant, helpful, and English speaking.

Room Tip: Interior courtyard rooms have very little air circulation
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear ABWSPC
Thank you for staying at Le Méridien Nice and for taking the time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor.

Our roof top La Terrasse restaurant, with lounge area, is one of the highest terrace restaurants on La Promenade des Anglais and as you said, offers spectacular views of the Mediterranean sea.

Our multi-lingual staff will be happy to know that you have given them a special mention. Thank you.

We always strive to ensure that every guest has an enjoyable time and we were of course most disappointed to read that we did not fully meet your expectations on this occasion.
We will certainly share your feedback with our teams to look into improvement opportunities.

We sincerely hope that you will not judge us on this particular experience and that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back at a future date.

If you wish to plan a return trip, please contact the onsite Reservations Team who will be more than happy to assist with your booking arrangements.

Best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for 4 nights with my Starwood points/rewards and got a room with 2 single beds and a garden & sea view. The room was very nice. I liked that it had comfy beds and soft /mushy pillows, plenty of electrical outlets for charging electronics, and good lighting. The shower had great water pressure, although the paper products (tissues and toilet paper) were poor quality, my drain was broken- the tub didn't drain properly/quickly enough, and there was occasionally bursts of hot or cold water to surprise you as you showered. Despite being by the elevators, there was never loud sound/noise, however I was waking up around 8am and not sleeping in late. The elevators operated at a good speed, too, plenty available and never a long wait. If you have a car, parking is accessed from the hotel and based on my in & out times, approx. 23 euro a day- you pay at a pay station, not the hotel.

Although the room was quite comfortable for the above reasons and thanks to good wifi, I had a hard time sleeping due to the air conditioning not working and the only sheet on the bed being a part of the duvet and comforter (no top sheet). The 2nd day I was there, the hotel had just switched the system from heat to A/C and my room's air did not work. I made a request to have my room checked while out for the day, but when I got back in the early evening, discovered it still didn't work. I called the front desk and they said my room needed repair and they offered me a different room. I moved to a slightly better room (better/bigger bed, but 1 floor down), where the air conditioning didn't work until my last night there. We tried keeping the window open for the nice air when possible, but smokers on balconies prohibited us from doing that too much and the balcony door was not secure enough to leave open when we were not in the room.

So all in all, despite the hotel being in a great location and the staff being nice (and English speaking), my stay was uncomfortable. The fitness center (open 7am-9pm) didn't help either- all the machines were quite old and really need to be replaced with newer equipment. Many things about the hotel were nice and made for a good stay, but other than the good internet (also worked in gym) and location, the lack of working air conditioning took away from my enjoyment.

Side note: It was annoying that I did not have the option to book a king bed with my Starwood points, despite that room being available at the hotel.

Green Features: Recycling bin in room was nice, but could've been bigger.
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear lws07
Thank you for being part of our loyalty programme and for choosing us for your trip to Nice.
We are delighted that you enjoyed the quality of our beds and linen and that the room was to your liking.
You mentioned our recycling bin and the poor paper products. In fact, these paper products are of “recycled” quality – for those of you who do not know, we have been awarded the international Green Key label and fulfill a vast list of requirements!
I have also noted your comments about the air-conditioning and apologize for the disturbance.
Please let us know when you will be returning to the Le Méridien Nice and for any assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact our onsite Reservations Team. (reservations.nice@lemeridien.com)
Best regards,

Pablo Bandala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location! Walking distance from the old city and also very close to many of the best restaurants in Nice.
The room had an amazing view, right across the ocean. Service was good, but not as great as other hotels I have stayed in.
I was a little upset with one of the receptionists because I asked for dinning suggestions that would NOT be touristic and I ended up in a tourist trap called "la escalanida". Be ware!

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Lucascav 0729
Many thanks for your feedback.

So glad that you found the hotel to be in an ideal location and that you enjoyed the amazing views over the Mediterranean.

However, we were disappointed to read that the service wasn’t up to par. This certainly does not reflect our usual quality of service. Please accept our apologies.

The receptionists suggest restaurants when asked and we regret that this particular restaurant in the old town of Nice was too touristic for your liking.

Hoping to be able to have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon
Best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Nice

Address: 1 Promenade des Anglais, 06046 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Nice
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#31 Luxury Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Nice 4*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At n°1 Promenade des Anglais, Le Méridien Nice is set in the perfect location, facing the sea, right in the centre of town. Featuring a a roof top terrace with the main restaurant "La Terrasse" offering a spectacular view and a taste of the Mediterranean and a heated swimming pool, the hotel also benefits from an indoor restaurants, "Le Colonial Café," in a relaxing lounge setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Despegar.com so you can book your Le Meridien Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Nice Hotel Nice
Meridien Nice
Nice Le Meridien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Nice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.