We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a whimsical, fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Negresco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Negresco to your Saves list
Hotel Negresco
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   37 Promenade des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“What a whimsical, fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2010

I had an ocean view that looked right over the boardwalk. What a place. The lobby is adorned with modern, funky art and the rooms have a bordello feel to them. My toilet was sparkled with gold. If you can swing the cash, and have a great sense of humor, you will love this gem. Fantastic location as well. The hotel's famous Restaurant "Chanteclaire" is very expensive and has your typical strange French dishes. I do not recommend. If you are a devout foodie though, this is right up your alley.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    289
    130
    69
    59
See reviews for
172
635
42
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2010

Hotel aficionados have to stay a night at this property just for the experience. It is easily the most idiosyncratic property we have ever stayed in. We had one half of the Chanel suite: my wife thought the gilded bed with pink damask counterpane and covered behead, as well as the walls painted in scumbled pink were like a French bordello. We paid for and got the signature view over the Promenade des Anglais and the Baie des Anges – well worth the extra dollars. The bathroom was something else: a gold fibreglass spa bath with a huge mirror and the double C Chanel logo (query licensing arrangements), and a gilded toilet. The welcome gift was one of the best I have ever received: French champagne, fresh fruit, chocolates and cookies (very lavish).

The owner, a venerable lady and avid art collector, has scattered her collection throughout the hotel. This includes some bizarre polychrome sculptures at the hotel entrance and elsewhere.

Breakfast is served in La Rotonde, which (as the name suggests) is designed like a merry-go-round, replete with horses, mirrors and other accoutrements, all brightly coloured. The overall effect is quite mad.

The fine dining restaurant was superb, and I would highly recommend dining there. All the classic French dishes are done with panache. The service is excellent.

The staff were very helpful and accommodating at all times. There is no onsite parking, but that doesn’t matter, because the porters deal with cars somehow.

The whole property is a bit shabby and in need of a couple of hundred million euros spent on it. But it would cost twice as much and crazy art collection and wonderful atmosphere would disappear. Stay there before it is too late.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2009

We went back to this hotel because my Husband proposed to me their 20 years ago. We had a lovely suite with ocean view (not a cheap room) we went to the Rotunda restaurant in the hotel for a quick bite after arriving late. We went in and waited 5 minutes for someone to even come seat us, then they never brought menus or came back, 3 other parties (French) were given menus and waited on, I finally got up and got menus and asked if we could order. The head waiter came over and was very rude and said "what do you want" and when our friend asked a question about a item, he very sharply said "It is right there in French & English" We got up and walked out. We have heard about French waiters being very rude to Americans, but we were staying in this hotel and paying a lot of money on our room, we expected more of this hotel. The conceierge was very helpful to find us another place for dinner that night, but we will never go back to that restaurant again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scandanavia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

One of the worlds greatest hotels! It was perfect from the second I walked in till the second I left. Beautiful rooms, wonderful service and great food. I can't wait to go back!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

Perfect. They fixed everything for us, never said no to anything we asked. If you like classy hotels that have an "antique" and frenchy feel to them. This is for you. If you like big, newly renovated or built, overly posh, maybe not a good choice.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zuerich
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

This is a place you love or disike, I rather disliked it although room was large with excellent view, food was good, but the whole place seemed more like a kitch-museum. Not a place to go for business (no business center or fitness worth the name), but an interesting experience as a holiday event

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
humble, tx
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

My husband and I made Nice our last stop on our 2 week trip through France. We were very impressed by the service at Hotel Negresco and our stay in the Coco Chanel suite was a girl's dream come true. We splurged for the honeymoon welcome package and had a wonderful assortment of treats, goodies and champagne on our arrival.

The hotel was in an ideal location for all Nice activities. We enjoyed waking along the Promenade des Anglais at nightime. Beware - the beach is all rocks, no sand! Definitely bring flip flops or beach shoes for walking on the beach. We walked to many shopping areas and restaurants.

While in Nice we also caught a train and visited Monte Carlo, Monaco. Definitely worth the 12 euro round trip fare.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Negresco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Negresco

Address: 37 Promenade des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#5 Family Hotel in Nice
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#10 Business Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Negresco 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Negresco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Negresco Hotel Nice
Hotel Negresco Nice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Negresco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.