We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit here and would stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Negresco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Negresco to your Saves list
Hotel Negresco
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   37 Promenade des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Second visit here and would stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Sea view room with excellent view of the sea. Modern decor in main reception and public areas. A bit shabby chic in the bedroom floors with mix of classic, art deco and modern designs. Clean bathroom, plenty of towels and hair drier that actually works - but could have been more toiletries (no hair conditoner!). In main bedroom I had a small problem arranging mirrors close to a power point when using the hair tongs - but this is an old hotel and such things add to the charm. The bed was very high - some people would have a problem getting in, even after the fight to un-tuck the sheets. Everyone helpful and friendly - from valet parking to housekeeping. Charging for valet parking is a bit cheeky given the room rates. Cool bar for evening drinks with excellent cocktail menu.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction_Negresco, Directeur général at Hotel Negresco, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
What a pleasure to read your comment.
Shabby chic is exactly the appropriate term to describe the Negresco. To know you enjoy staying with us is a real pleasure. We can understand that some customers do not appreciate the philosophy of our property, but we are a private and unique hotel and we continuously strive to meet our guests’ needs and expectations and some write more than unkind and unfair or insulting comments about us.
We thank you for your confidence and look forward to welcoming you back soon and to please you once again.
Yours sincerely,
Pierre Bord
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    289
    130
    69
    59
See reviews for
172
635
42
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brasilia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Our experience in this hotel couldn`t be worse. The hotel is a landmark in the city of Nice. Since I was a kid I was dreaming about the day I could stay at the hotel. However, the doorman and manager were extremely rude at your arrival. They did not want us to cross the lobby of the hotel to have a drink and meal at the restaurant, not even look at the windows of the shops offered inside the hotel. They said that they did not accpt visits. Visits? We are, first of all, clients! I was also insulted by a receptionist in the lobby after complaining about the treatment. The person who was in charge of the reception came after me outside the hotel to have a fight. I have never seen such a thing in my intire life. They did not know that in a few days we were planning to come and stay at the hotel after our cruise in the Mediterranean. I had my father and three other friends of his to witnessed such a horrible treatment. All of us were extremely offedended by the treatment. Finally we decided to stay in Cannes at the Ritz and our experience was perfect. I guess that it is a pitty for the Negresco Hotel, we decided to spend our money elsewhere.

Room Tip: Don´t stay there. Stay in international chains of hotels, not in hotels owend by local firms in Fran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction_Negresco, Directeur général at Hotel Negresco, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
The hotel is a private property and not a shopping center. At the request of our resident guests and for obvious privacy and security reasons, we do not allow visits as a museum can be visited; otherwise the hotel would be the most visited place in Nice. (When a cruise ship stops for a scale, you don’t find an open door policy for non- resident passengers…)
Of course, you are a potential guest; in this case our Guest Relation manager would have directed you towards one of our outlets with great pleasure or by giving you the requested information you were looking for.
The person in charge of the reception that day is our Front Office Manager, a young pregnant lady (as shows our video). How can someone accuse a well-educated person as we all, to have the intention to fight with a guest? We all have a lot of education and respect for our guests and our owner Ms. Augier. Nobody is insulted in our house, your words are false and disrespectful towards our whole property.
Sincerely,
Pierre Bord
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This hotel seems more in line with the seedy side of Las Vegas than a beachfront hotel on the French Riviera. The lobby was far too large, noisy, bright, and totally unwelcoming. The decor of the entire hotel was garish. The rooms were shabby and outdated. The carpet was so cheap, it seemed like merely the foam that is installed underneath real carpeting. In addition, it was so stained and worn, I felt perhaps I might catch some disease walking on it barefooted. I have never reviewed anything, simply not having the time nor the inclination. But this place was so godforesakenly heinous that I had to write this to warn all those who might be fooled into booking a room here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction_Negresco, Directeur général at Hotel Negresco, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very sorry if our lobby is far too big, but our house is a centenary building and has all the characteristics of a historic monument.
We can certainly understand you did not like our hotel, described by others as “shabby chic”. However, we must say that your insulting and unfair comments regarding the cleanliness of the hotel are unfortunately not acceptable. We feel it necessary to share this with other readers. It is always easier to write such comments anonymously.
Sincerely,
Pierre Bord
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

From the over priced car pick up to the airport drop off the whole weekend was a disappontment. Second and last ever visit to this property. Sent comments to the hotel only to be totally ignored. Bad service, over priced, noisey sea view room with stained wall covering. Restuarant food ok but again over priced. Quirky hotel worth looking at and possibly visit it, but they need to sort it out before I would stay there again.
However just across the road is Neptune - excellent food and wine with good friendly service, well worth a visit for lunch.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction_Negresco, Directeur général at Hotel Negresco, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Your comment is very interesting. If you find that everything is overpriced, may we suggest you choose a hotel of another category.
We regret that during your stay, you did not contact us to give us your feedback as we strive to satisfy our customers on-site,
Sincerely,
Pierre Bord
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington, United States
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed at this hotel July 2st. Very disappointing. The hotel was beautiful inside, however it was unbelievable snooty. We stayed in a VRBO for a week and just needed a hotel room for one night before we went to Italy for two weeks. It was in the high 80s and low 90s yet the hotel would not allow anyone to come in the bar unless men had long pants on and women were dressed up. We had nice dress shorts on and shirts with collars and as soon as we entered they asked us to leave unless we had pants on. We then sat in the cafe and were treated rudely in there as well. Who wants to be on vacation and be treated like you are rif raf? In case they havn't noticed they are located just across from the beach and when its in the 90s and you have been at the beach you are not going to be dressed to the nines. If you want to grab a cocktail you should be able to do so. I wish they would have stated that this is a snobby hotel and unless you want to flaunt your money you are not welcome to stay. Not family friendly at all, in fact they act as if they hate kids. We asked them if there was a box to mail postcards and after ignoring us they finally said, "I suppose we could mail them for you." Seriously it costs enough money to stay there that mailing a postcard should not be so difficult for them. I will NEVER stay there again and would recommend only very, very self-righteous, snobby people stay there. We had friends who were staying in a VRBO and they wouldn't even let them enter the hotel to visit us. They said they had to have a reservation. Ridiculous.

Room Tip: Not for children
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction_Negresco, Directeur général at Hotel Negresco, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We have taken note of your comments.
Regarding the dress code in our bar, applied after 7:30 p.m., it is at the request of the majority of our customers to be dressed in a minimum manor, a casual dress code
You will admit yourself that the place lends itself much more to a casual attire rather than beachwear. We regret to tell you that you confuse snobbery and good education.
Also, we find particularly insulting towards us, who have children, our numerous guests bringing their children and our staff that you claim that we hate children. This comment is shameful and we want to let you and other readers know. Regarding your postcards if our concept of service was not good it’s probably because you misunderstood it.

Sincerely,
Pierre Bord
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

It is really worth visiting, going thru every floor and enjoy it's impressive art collection. Location is absolutely great and employees were fantastic. I was disappointed with the rooms though, they are not really updated, fabric quality was poor, had some squeaky doors. We had two rooms but were only able to use one of the showers, there is no swimming pool.
The experience of living within a museum was great, the place is unique but sleep quality definitely does not correspond to a 5 star rating.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This hotel is sadly very tired now and it shows almost everywhere . We had two superior rooms both of which showed some signs of renovation ( eg new curtains and soft furnishings - but not carpets ) but the fabric quality was poor , they were unlined and looked 'cheap' . Certainly not the thickly lined drapes we would expect of a 5 star hotel . The beds also had sheets and itchy wool blankets rather than modern duvets . The children found these particularly irritating. .
Both bathrooms were extremely dated despite again a fresh lick of paint but beyond some cheap looking shampoo , conditioner and body lotion there are no other toiletries / not even tissues on offer . Complimentary bottled water is not offered in the rooms either . The hairdryers were a relic in themselves !

The common areas atre gaudy in style and again tired looking despite signs of fresh paint ( literally) . Carpets and furnishings are also very dated in style and the overall effect in some places is jarring . My 14 year old described the carousel horses and general decor in the Rotonde restaurant as 'disturbed' and I'm not sure i disagree with her view .

More worryingly whilst eating dinner outside at the Rotonde a young boy (approx 10 yrs) approached our table and tried to steal my daughter's mobile phone. He had cleverly placed a piece of paper over the phone and begged us to read it while pointing at the bread basket and rubbing his stomach . Luckily she saw him reach underneath the paper for the phone and he ran off through the restaurant . We immediately informed the waiting staff who . although vaguely sympathetic , were neither interested nor particularly surprised . There was no sign of any security and my children were all very upset by the incident . Again not what we expect of a 5 star hotel .
The staff here seemed largely young and were on the whole very helpful indeed but this hotel is very tired and in desperate need of some serious investment in quality furnishings and fitments not just a superficial lick of paint here and there . It is certainly not worth what it is charging in terms of room rate .
As i sat outside the hotel and saw the frayed and worn flag of the ' Leading hotels of the world'
group flying exhaustedly in the breeze i thought to myself ' that says it all ' .

If you are interested in the style of the hotel as i was then go for a drink to the bar or the restaurant for dinner ( where you will see the best of it ) but i won't be wasting my money and staying here again .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Negresco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Negresco

Address: 37 Promenade des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#5 Family Hotel in Nice
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#10 Business Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Negresco 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Negresco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Negresco Hotel Nice
Hotel Negresco Nice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Negresco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.