We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Negresco

Save Saved
You added Hotel Negresco to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Negresco
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   37 Promenade des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 212 hotels in Nice
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Unique...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Always a great experience staying at this unique establishment. But we are in 2013 and it does need to keep up with the times i.e. proper wifi access (not the existing snails-pace) in the rooms and a decent shower screen that prevents flooding the bathroom floor!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    494
    216
    97
    57
    53
See reviews for
131
494
35
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Holywood co down
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My wife booked this for my birthday ( which wasn't acknowledged). It's a place she wanted to stay as its world renowned. The location is a long way walk(15-20 mins)from the old town. If we return ,well try nearer old town.
Our room 573 overlooked central rotunda ,so no view which we knew. It was comfortable an what ud expect of 5* hotel. Nice to see BBC 1 an 2 . As a treat we upgraded to side sea an maseena museum view room 409, at a reduced extra €50 per night, worth it. But if u want to sit in sun in afternoon book the other side . Again comfortable room, good nights sleep. Hair dryer very poor. Room bait hot as the bathroom towel rail boiling. Yes we asked for it to be turned down,no response. Service was a recurring problem.eg faulty room safe, request ice all required repeated calls to attend to..
But hey ,it was delightful place, the public areas are a must to see for those artistic minded.we frequently saw outsiders in the corridors taking photos...security must be a constant problem .
If u get a bad weather day u can spend it viewing all the stuff they have,magnificent ! All down to the lovely lady mrs augaur?who owns an lives on the inaccessible 6 floor,well done to u Madame !
Like most places in Nice , there s no pool , no area where u can relax on a lounger after a days outing.,so it's like being in a B an B. once ur up,u go out.
Yes it's expensive ( Michelin star restaurant , the relais bar eg brandy Alexander €17) but u would expect that.
The opposite beach the Neptune is the usual independent operation, no discount for Negresco clients (€20 a day)
Staff were generally well behaved an enjoyed my rubbish French attempts.
CHECK ur bill, it was wrong as usual in the hotels favour. When they reproduce a new bill CHECK it again as they added on something else we didn't avail of. After the 4 th bill they managed to approximate the correct amount,but I can't be sure...
When they organise a taxis ,agree with taxis man the trip cost as he's likely to fleece u.
Anyway it was a great trip an my wife remembered my birthday even if the hotel didn't.

Room Tip: Get side view for value,if ur poor , it's the rotunda view for u, the rich can have the seafront
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Yes, this hotel is old and "unique", so you can't go in expecting a shiny, sparking new hotel. The service was amazing and our room was comfortable, clean, beautiful, and had a nice view. No complaints about the bathroom. We spent a lot of time in Nice in the old town, and this is a bit of a further walk from the old town, so next time, we would consider hotels that are closer to the old town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We don't regret that we'd chosen Negresco for our first travel to Nice. Not only becausethe hotel is ideally is located for walk studying of the historical center of the resort. Еhis very bright impression to live in hotel which itself is part of an interesting story of the French Riviera. It not just a hotel, it is a museum with collection of art and antiqs. Surely bypass all floors to look at numerous originals
of great painters, that decorate hotel's corridors. You will feel yourself a part of history or you will experience travel illusion on a time machine to 100 years ago

Room Tip: of course the best view is in the seaview rooms. but we've enjoyed silence and calm with innervi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

1. They don't guarantee the 15:00 check-in time - we were waiting for our room more than the official check-in time.
2. There is no coffee/tea in the room as expected from a 5 star hotel
3. There are no complementary mineral water in the room as expected from a 5 star hotel
4. The wi-fi in the room didn't work - poor reception. When I asked the reception desk for help with the wi-fi, the answer was "if it doesn't work, there is nothing I can do".
5. The bed blankets are the old itching type, that are not used anymore even in 3 star hotels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

My wife and I just returned from Nice, France. Although this was not our first trip there, it was our first stay at the Negresco. We have travelled the world over, however, the Negresco was a true find. We often thought about staying there, but thought it would be stuffy. Just the opposite. The hotel is the epitome of class, refinement and elegance. The staff could not have been more friendly, courteous, and helpful. The hotel is beautiful and the amenities are first class. We had a room with an ocean view and were extremely satisfied. The rooms are bright, clean and very inviting. We will definitely be returning to the Negresco in the future.

Room Tip: get a room with an ocean view. the view of the promenade along the Mediterranean was breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Everything about this hotel is first-rate. It's filled with artwork from different genres, especially from 17th century France and modern jazz. Our English was limited, but everyone there was helpful and proficient in English. The location is excellent, right on the heart of the Promenade des Anglais, and there's a view of the ocean from the upper floors and even from the patio of the restaurant.

The floor we were on had recently been renovated, so it had modern bathrooms and a TV system that included channels in a handful of languages. The piano bar was fun, especially on Wednesday night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Negresco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Negresco

Address: 37 Promenade des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#5 Business Hotel in Nice
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#8 Family Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Negresco 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LHW, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Fastbooking, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Negresco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Negresco Hotel Nice
Hotel Negresco Nice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Negresco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;