We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Negresco

Save Saved
You added Hotel Negresco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Negresco
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   37 Promenade des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 213 hotels in Nice
Wangaratta Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Grand”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Grand would be one word to describe Le Negresco. The foyer, reception rooms, cocktail lounge and even public bathrooms are quite grand and quirky at the same time. Take a step back in time to enjoy a couple of drinks late in the evening with live music knowing that you are in good company with many famous people having sat in the same place over the years.
Our rooms were very French and very grand. We had a suite at the front of the hotel with two balconies looking over the ocean and promenade. Spectacular. Dressing rooms and bathroom were also just beautiful. Block out electric blinds are fabulous for keeping noise levels low and the early morning sun out. Staff were wonderful in every area. Small problem with error in our booking (first name and address incorrect) but not a big problem. Our floor was the Napolean Floor, 4th floor and we had artwork by Salvadore Dali along our hallways. We stayed here with our 11 year old daughter.
Easy walk to train station and only 20 minutes from Monte Carlo by train. We were originally staying at Monte Carlo but booked out due to the grand prix. So glad we stayed at Nice instead. It's a wonderful place.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    441
    191
    88
    53
    50
See reviews for
113
426
29
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We visited the Hotel Negresco on 17th May following a visit 2 years ago on our 10th Wedding Anniversary in which we booked a deluxe sea view room with breakfast. We had the most amazing experience in what is very unusual Palace Hotel. Our latest trip, however, did not meet our expectations in that our room on this occasion was very disappointing. We had booked a superior room and were told we had been upgraded to a partial sea view room. Unfortunately, the room had two very tiny single beds and when we asked why we had not been given the double room we had booked we were merely told that is what the agent had requested. I produced my booking voucher and nowhere on it did it mention a twin room. We spent the night in the tiny beds and the next day after a very uncomfortable night, were offered a lower grade room in which two single mattresses had been pushed together on a king sized frame creating a makeshift double bed. Another sleepless night for us both as the mattresses sloped towards the centre. The hotel has two restaurants and a bar. The Michellin starred restaurant - The Chantecler, which we visited last time was of a very high standard, however, La Rotunde, the second restaurant in which breakfast was served desperately needs some attention. The food is awful - scrambled eggs are like a wet stodge, the cold buffet food is very sad and the service, whilst very pleasant, is very hit and miss. However, the round restaurant has been fitted out like a carousel, complete with horses that rise and fall, it is very quirky. The staff without exception, are all extremely pleasant and try to be helpful even though they don't always get it right. The hotel bar is very good although very expensive but that is to be expected in Nice on the Cote d'Azure. The pianist, Nils, who played each night was good fun and definitely an asset; the bar staff were great. We used room service one night and it was very good quality food which was fresh and hot. The hotel itself is packed with art, including bronze sculptures and works by Matisse and photographs with the owner Mme Augier and Salvador Dali. There are mannequins dotted around which can be a little weird but it is all part of the quirkiness of it. It is one of the most interesting hotels at which I have ever stayed and would keep going back there but only if a Deluxe room with a sea view were available. Ninette P, West Midlands, UK

Room Tip: Higher floors are better rooms. Avoid twin bedded rooms - the beds are very narrow. Deluxe sea vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne, Kent.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

There are many and mixed reviews of this hotel, which being so very very French is not surprising. To get the minor negatives out of the way, perhaps a hotel of such unashamed grandeur should not be judged by the quality of it's toilet paper and breakfasts, but alas they both fall woefully short of the mark and it is surprising that over time the management, who must be well aware of this, have done nothing about darning the hole in her stocking! La Rotonde where breakfast is taken is a veritable feast for the eyes, modelled on a fairground carousel, but little else. Crowded, uncomfortable, and lamentable food with little choice befits more a cheap one star B and B than a five star hotel. At 30 euros a bash it is very poor value and they will be pleased to relieve you of some more euro's should you wish to go to the dizzy heights of ordering an omelette. The carpet in the main lift, a joy in every other way, was spoilt by the filthiest carpet I have seen in a hotel of any standard in many a long year.
That said, we found the rest of the experience very enjoyable. Our room, as part of a package en route to the Monaco Grand Prix, was not on the front overlooking the Promenade des Anglais, but into a rather dreary central atrium of little charm. This though has the distinct advantage of being perfectly quiet and peaceful. Having had a balcony room at the Westminster Hotel nearby we can attest to the wonderful views, but should you want some air at night then the six lanes of racetrack immediately below will not afford you much sleep...the choice is yours.
The size of our room for France was very large, well appointed, newly refurbished with marble bathroom and twin washbasins. Quirky has been used in relation to this hotel before and the decor from room to room certainly bears this out and the pushbutton mechanical light switches took a while to master. Beds large and comfy, if a little ornate.
All the public rooms are just splendidly beautiful. I suspect they have been newly refurbished for the centenary of the hotel. It is not surprising that many non residents and tour groups come into the hotel just to take in the amazing opulence of these rooms. Not to be missed also are the corridors, stacked with priceless treasures on every floor but all tastefully presented and the public toilets they are again something to gasp at the sheer splendour and artistry in their construction.
Our pockets were not deep enough to eat at the two star Michelin restaurant, but Nice is well served with restaurants of quality nearby at reasonable prices considering you are on the Cote d'Azur.
So there you have it, a really special hotel like no other and a pleasure to spend time away from the corporate styes of most five star chain hotels, so do go and try a short stay here, you won't forget it in a hurry.

Room Tip: Personally I would save some money to get a good nights sleep and pay less for an interior room. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Eight members of our family stayed at this hotel and we were not disappointed. This our first time to travel together and because of this amazing experience we are now planning future travels together. Fantastic location, gracious and accommodating staff, a boutique hotel that just sparks your imagination. Meeting the owner was an added bonus.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

So many reviews of the Negresco but I would just say that the service we had was great, the hotel room was great, the place is worth visiting just to look around the interior really. The bed was v comfortable and unusually for France I think, the pillows were too. The only thing that let it down was the breakfast. 30 euros pp for a buffet breakfast that wasn't particularly good, along with cold coffee and cold bacon & eggs for him. The fruit salad wasn't up to much either. What a shame, we thought we spend the 60 euros for a waiter served special breakfast but never mind, it was fun to stay there anyway. HE was delighted at seeing the England manager in the foyer and the Ferrari's queued up outside!

Room Tip: it's worth paying for the partial sea view rooms at the very least
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed for just one night, before moving onto a duller hotel.
The Negresco was fun, with doormen in odd colourful uniforms, and lots of odd little theatrical touches to the decor. Some people have praised the artwork, I'll just mention that opposite our room was a picture of a family of dogs in Elizabethan costume!
Our bath and sink were in pearlescent turquoise - again, something new for us, and the room decor was based on the 18th century.
We really liked the hotel, which is a throwback to a bygone era, and enjoyed our cocktails in the bar - expensive, but excellently done, with a pianist at the bar.
We had room service for breakfast, which was a really nice experience, with a trolley which opened out to a circular table, laid with damask linen, and plate-covers. The only negative was the porridge we'd ordered, which barely covered the bottom of the dish.
Overall, a great experience - there aren't many hotels left like this one!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Now don't get the wrong idea from the start - we have not been paid to write this - we didn't get a discount. We simply had the most amazing stay. My husband and I wound up our 25th anniversary trip to Europe with 2 nights at Negresco and it was amazing. Fantastic location, impeccable service, great food, the cocktails are to die for - all the extras that make you feel really special. You have to experience this at least once in your life - DO IT!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction_Negresco, Responsable commercial at Hotel Negresco, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear mister,

Thank you for your comment (I do confirm that we didn’t pay you :) ). We are delighted that the Negresco lived up to your expectations and hope to welcome you again soon !

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Negresco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Negresco

Also Known As:
Negresco Hotel Nice
Hotel Negresco Nice
Address: 37 Promenade des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#9 Family Hotel in Nice
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#9 Business Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Negresco 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Otel so you can book your Hotel Negresco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Negresco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.