We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated but cheap and central” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hancy Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hancy Guesthouse to your Saves list
Hancy Guesthouse
6 rue Hancy, 06000 Nice, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 45 Nice B&B and Inns
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Overrated but cheap and central”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We've had high expectations of this place seeing photos and reading reviews on Tripadvisor. It is safe, clean and very central. It was not as noisy as we had feared given the city location.

But it is also very basic, with make-shift bathrooms/toilets and plumbing that makes noises at night. The towels are changed every two days (but you may need to remind the owners to do so and be prepared to argue which day they were changed last!). We had to pay extra 10 Euros for Internet access, which was spotty and often dropped connection. Don't get fooled by the mentions of a 'breakfast basket': what it is, is, a one-off offer of a small bottle of UHT milk and a few biscuits to last you the stay; it's not by any means breakfast or something that will last two people more than a day…. and it does not get replenished.

It's like a hostel for adults. Very small, very basic, very cheap.

Room Tip: Rooms for 3 people seem to be bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    8
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
2
18
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

I would recommend this guesthouse to anyone I knew would be staying in Nice. Upon my arrival, which was earlier than check-in time, the couple let me leave my bags, use the bathroom and explained where I was and highlighted on a map the places I could get transport. They left a bus timetable for me knowing that I wanted to go to Monaco. They really made me feel very welcome and helped with anything I asked. The room was very clean, modern and comfortable. The couple who run it are very helpful and kind.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Nice room, with clean kitchen. You'll find everything you need.
Very welcoming and helpful managers.
The location is spot on. Near cafes, restaurants and shops.
For a low cost budget and safe central location, this hotel fits the bill.
We recommend this place to everyone and we'll be back there for sure!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

A wonderful base to explore the region from, the hotel is located right at the heart of Nice centre. Exceptional value for money. Everything is to exacting standards. And the hosts were magnificent. A charming couple who did everything they could do make your stay welcoming. They are also more than happy to give advice and guidance as well as hints and tips to ensure you get the most out of exploring the region. They had lots of literature and were always willing to tell you the best places to go. The rooms are clean and well-equipped. I would liken them more to studio apartments with bed, en-suite bathroom and kitchen, where you had all the utentils you needed to make your own food. Close to the main street in the centre, including the tram line. All-in-all a very enjoyable experience and whenever I return to this region, I will always stay at Hancy Guesthouse.

Room Tip: Ask the Guesthouse owners for the best places to go and what to see...including where to catch the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had a great time staying at Hancy Guesthouse. The owner Marie is so lovely and welcoming. We had a great room with a small kitchen. It was nice that Marie had left some jam and biscuits in the room that were great with breakfast. The Guesthouse is close to the train station and only a ten minute walk down to the water. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Great location and the hosts Marie and jean were very nice and helpful. Room good with fridge and small microwave and two ring hot plate nice and quiet location but very close to the centre. Lots of information leaflets available with Marie helping out with lots of good tips. We would certainly return and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

The owners, Marie and Jean, are very nice and helpful and offer you a thorough explanation of where to find the supermarket, bakery or anything else. They provide you with dozens of maps and bus plans if necessary. The rooms are quite small but individually equipped with many, things i.e. kitchen tools. It's located in a relatively quiet street close to the train station and the old town of Nice. I would go there again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hancy Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hancy Guesthouse

Address: 6 rue Hancy, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hancy Guesthouse is centrally located close to trains, buses, taxis, 24hr convenience store, restaurants, Big center, supermarket. Is only a short walk to bus,tramway and railway transport. Hancy Guesthouse places gracefully at the disposal of its customers, guides, maps, geographical charts of Corsica and many other cultural and sporting information useful to discover the most beautiful sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hancy Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hancy Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.