We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and unfriendly” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Saint Exupery Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Saint Exupery Beach to your Saves list
Villa Saint Exupery Beach
1.0 of 5 Hostel   |   6 rue Sacha Guitry, 06000 Nice, France (Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Nice
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced and unfriendly”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed in a 6 bed dorm for 3 nights and couldn't wait to get out of the place. They are fantastically located and quite central to most tourist attractions but the hostel itself, especially the bathrooms were not clean. The bathrooms were small and cramped. The rooms were a decent size but the air-conditioning didn't work properly and made a loud rattling noise making it hard to sleep. When we notified the staff about it on the first day they didn't bother to do anything about it. The staff on reception were rude and un-friendly. It is definately not worth the price you pay. Although it is Nice and things can be more pricey, we heard of people staying elsewhere who told of the facilities being much cleaner and nicer and for a fraction of the price.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    66
    32
    28
    25
See reviews for
5
29
97
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Villa Saint Exupery Beach in Nice, we found was the perfect place to stay! It is a nice big fun friendly environment and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Reception was constantly busy but it was fine checking in. We were in a 5 bed mixed dorm with ensuite, and the beds were nice and rooms were clean and tidy along with the bathrooms. We had 2 other people in our room that were over 50, however we did not find this to be a problem. They were good value.

Having the bar on premise was awesome and a really fun way to start the night, and happy hour with their 1 euro beers was really good. There was a good atmosphere there at nights and then when we wanted to head out it was only a short walk to the local tourist bars.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This place has all the basics for you. It has a bar and a gym!
Facilities were clean and tidy, rooms were nice, security was good with a key card and a locker.
Close to the beach and everything else that you need. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We booked the Villa Saint Exupery beach hostel for a long weekend away with friends. It has a great location close to the centre of Nice and only a few minutes walk from the beach. The bar downstairs in the hostel was awesome, 1 euro beers during happy hour and always interesting people about to chat to. We were there every night before heading out (if you can pull yourself away from the cheap drinks, Wayne's is well worth a trip - just prepare to sweat!) The staff were great, welcoming and helpful and the whole place had a great atmosphere. We had a 10 bed dorm with en suite bathroom (which was huge!) and clean. The hostel is laid out so that it's not noisy at night which was great when we were beached/cheap-beered out but still a very sociable little spot. Everyone we met was delighted with the hostel. Couldn't recommend it enough, reasonable prices and all the fun of a hostel without the dodgy accommodation. Did I mention memory foam mattresses??! Cheers to everyone there who gave us such an amazing few days, will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Star Tannery, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Perhaps alright if you are very into parties and drinking, but otherwise, this hostel is a big disappointment. The location is very good, but that is about the best that can be said about it.
The rooms were filthy, the bed sheets did not appear to have been changed, the bathrooms dearly needed cleaning. There were 13 beds in our dorm but they only provided us with the one bathroom and shower. Someone in our dorm kept itching and scratching when they sat on the floor.
The bar scene was extremely lively and crowded, which may be to some people's taste but it was over the top. Everyone was drunk and spilling beer everywhere.
When we left because we could not bear to stay there any longer, they would not refund any of our money, for that night or the next.
The staff was quite indifferent to our troubles and seemed to rather laugh at us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Great location, just a few minutes from the beach. The rooms were clean and the bathrooms were cleaned daily. The one thing I did not like about this hostel is that we found the staff were rude to us and we felt that we were a nuisance to them if we asked them any questions. Our check in time was bumped back by 2 hours, and we were exhausted and waiting to get a room and were afraid to ask when our room would be ready because of an unfriendly worker at the desk. Other than the unfriendly workers, it is an overall excellent hostel with a great location. I would definitely recommend going on a pub crawl!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The hostel doesn’t have a self-service laundry, so I was forced to pay €7 and hand over my things, as I’d just been working on a dairy farm for a week and stunk. I didn’t mind paying, but the staff lost my €150 hiking fleece which was in the load.

Initially, the staff onsite were helpful and promised me they would look for it and then talk about compensation if they couldn’t find it. Unfortunately I had to leave the next day, and the person at reception said they hadn’t found it, but gave me an email address to follow up with. I sent several emails, which were unanswered. I eventually received a reply two and a half weeks later, which basically said tough luck and I gave them my laundry knowing they took no responsibility for it (which no one ever told me), despite the fact that I didn’t have a choice.

Also, when I checked in they sent me to a bed that hadn’t been made. As the guy at reception came to make the bed he told me – with absolutely no prompting - he had just resigned because the place was poorly managed. Also at check out time there is one person at reception who seems completely overwhelmed.

Overall not a good hostel and I’d recommend finding somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Saint Exupery Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Saint Exupery Beach

Address: 6 rue Sacha Guitry, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Villa Saint Exupery Beach 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NEW downtown Villa Saint Exupery - next to Old Town, the main square and the beach! Newly renovated, stylish with a great new social area and bar, this hostel brings you all the services of our uptown hostel. A great place to meet other travellers and experience Nice. Located in the heart of the shopping district, 200 metres from Nice Old Town and Beach, visit Villa Saint Exupery Centre for the full Nicois experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Villa Saint Exupery Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Saint Exupery Beach Hotel Nice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Saint Exupery Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.