We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful restaurant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Papayou

Papayou
35 rue de la Prefecture, 06300 Nice, France (Old Town / Vieux Nice)
+33 4 93 80 15 97
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #144 of 1,340 restaurants in Nice
Cuisines: French, Italian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Old Town / Vieux Nice
Halifax, NS
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A wonderful restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Nicoise, moroccan and Thai influences make this restaurant stand out. Service is excellent and the food very good. We enjoyed it so much we went twice. The Moroccan chicken pie was delicious, as was the Thai beef salad. Pastas were very good as well.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    78
    38
    7
    2
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Perfect closure to a fantastic trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

We booked Papayou based on Tripadvisor recommendations, and were not disappointed. As a closure to a fantastic Transalp cycling trip with 14 hungry friends, we got a warm reception, delicious food and honest prices. Really exceptional in the middle of the rather touristic part of the city.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Maybe not as good as it's reviews....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We checked this spot out based on it's reviews. Waitress said if we waited at the bar opposite she would call us when an outside table became available. We enjoyed a drink in the Atmosphere bar and then the waitress took us and our drinks to our table after 15 mins..... I felt the food was nice but nothing special - the service and street atmosphere was lovely and the waitress couldn't have been nicer. Worth a visit - maybe best if you judge for yourself. €40 for two mains, a glass of wine and a coffee can't be bad in Nice!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not Thai”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

After reading reviews we sought this place out and were so disappointed on arrival we didn't even stay for dinner. The service was non exisitent, which gave us lots of time to look over the menu. With just three "thai" dishes on the menu, we were already skeptical, and when our neighbours meals arrived it was chicken stewed in coconut milk with no colour (or flavour). We went to Dehli Behli instead just a block or so away and had an amazing, authentic spicy, flavourful meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great find in busy Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Tried Papayou after reading other Trip Advisor reviews and was not disappointed. Papayou is a small restaurant in a busy row of other restaurants, so easy to pass by. Booked a table and was offered a table outside or inside. Chose outside and ate our dinner watching Nice life pass by. We ate a roast aubergine dish, tomato and mozzarella salad, spring rolls, thai beef salad and beef tartare. A mixture of continents but very tasty and fresh food. Delicious. Will definitely go back again when in Nice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papayou also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Papayou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Papayou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.