We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent budget choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Au Picardy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Au Picardy to your Saves list
Au Picardy
10 boulevard Jean Jaures, 06300 Nice, France (Old Town / Vieux Nice)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Exmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent budget choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Good budget hotel, well located next to the old town and short walk to the Promenade des Anglais and the sea. Room was clean and spacious. Hotel is run by a father and son who were both very obliging and let me change rooms after my first night to one with a small balcony overlooking the street. My first room was adequate but had no view.

Room Tip: Ask for room at front of hotel although might need earplugs to cut out noise from the street. Room 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    32
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
24
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

On a trip with my partner in mid-September, we got one of the larger rooms on the first floor overlooking the courtyard, which was quiet but there was quite a heavy smell from the bakery below. The room was spacious and pleasant, though my partner found it more difficult than me to accept the 'Old-World charm' of the place. That said, for the price you couldn't beat the location - on the good edge of the Old Town, a stone's throw from the local bus terminus and directly on the tram line that leads to the main train station.

The people who run the hotel are very upright and helpful, though I'm not sure of their English language skills. In addition, I didn't find the booking process very reassuring: I booked over the phone some weeks in advance and followed up with an e-mail (both in French) and everything worked out ok, but I would have preferred some automated reminder of the booking directly from the hotel, not to mention a simpler way of booking via the Net.

In summary, I'd say this hotel is great for younger to middle-age people travelling on a budget who want a safe, well-located hotel with a family feel as a point from which to enjoy Nice and its locality. Older people or those of reduced mobility might have difficulty with the stairs leading up to the entrance, another traveller has noted a problem with parking in the vicinity, and the fastidious may have problems with the lack of recent refurbishment of the rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Clean,quite and descent stay in this nice hotel . i really enjoyed my stay there!
Thank you all the staff for going an extra mile for your guests!
i decided to book this hotel after reading all positive reviews
well that is all to say

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I stayed there a whole week in May 2013.

You can take the bus 98 from the station (6 euros) and takes you in 30 min. nearly in front of the door. (After leaving the main promenade street the bus turns left and stops a bit later after a big fountain. It is the stop after that. The trams stops there as well)

One stop more - or 5 min. walk you are at the Place Garibaldi where the busses go to Monaco and Eze Village and Cap Ferrat. In one minute you are in the old town and in 10 at the coast or promenade. So the location is really excellent! Couldn't be better.

Breakfast ist half a baguette with butter and jam and a glass of juice/nectar and tea, cocoa or coffee. That's breakfast every day. It is not bad but not much. Or you go out of the door and 5 steps to the right and will get a really nice café (I bought some things for lunch there, a 24 h supermarket is close by also, restaurants are everywhere).

The rooms are old and many don't have an ensuite shower. But mine was spacious. I think not one room has an ensuite toilet. Some have an ensuite bath/shower. Everthing is clean but very used, my room - although non-smoking everywhere smelled of smoke from the decades of smoking in that room, including a hole made of a cigarette. For that fair price you can't expect more. There are not many rooms, I guess 8 or so.

There are 2 rooms to the main street. Although the walls are very thick and the windows nearly sound-proof - if you want an open window (no air-conditioning, of course in the rooms) it will get loud. I slept with closed window and ear-plugs - that worked more or less. I recommend to take the rooms to the back and you will have a 4* stay.

The owner talks just a few words of English and is not always in talkative or overly friendly mood. It is not a hostel with travel tips but he was helpful even with my few words of French.

I would go there again as the location is really good and the value for money is due to the price in expensive Nizza good as well. I don't need a chic room and ensuite bathroom.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I decided to book this hotel after reading the positive reviews here, but, having stayed there I can't understand the excitement about it. The hotel has two definite advantages: location and price. However, these are the only good things I have to say. First, it's utterly unfit for those travelling with small children as at the entrance there is no place to leave the push chair, so each time we went out or came back we had to take it with us up or down the stairs. Second, it's very inconvenient for those travelling by car, as not only the premises has no parking, but there is no way to bring the car near the hotel. There is a parking not far from it, but its cost is 24 euro per day, which makes the whole stay more expensive.
The room was good sized, but the bathroom was long overdue for renovation, the shower cabin was mouldy and on the floor I spotted couple of ants.
Registration is also tricky as it must be done over the phone and, as the owner doesn't accept credit cards, you can't pay the deposit and be sure you have the room. Instead you'd have to ring again at the day of your arrival and tell the owner the exact time you'd arrive, otherwise you might not have the room when you show up. In fairness, there has to be said, that while we booked a room for 3 persons (we were travelling with a 2 years old child and according to French regulations a child over 2 years can't stay in a double room with her parents), on our arrival the owner asked if our child would sleep alone in an additional bed or in our bed, and hearing that we intended to use only one bed charged us as for a double room and not the triple one which we occupied.
All considered, if you are on a tight budget, this hotel will do, but if you can afford to invest a bit more, I'd recommend to check out other places.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minden, NV
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Saw reviews on tripadvisor and decided to stay here. Room 5 was good sized, but shower moldy. Very noisy as well as cars park in the little courtyard below. Owner Peter was very nice and helpful. Reminded me of little places I stayed in while in college. Location IS excellent, right next to old town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I travelled within different cities in France for 12 days and this is the best stay of all! Convenient location, at the edge of old town where you can find lots of nice restaurant around. Only 10 mins walk to the beach. Just next to bus and tram station and you can take transport to wherever you want. Room size is large enough and toilet/ shower is clean and tidy. Super value for money and that's all we need! They have a dinning area very home feeling. One thing is the person at reception doesn't speak good English. Expect him to reply you in French if you are English speaker. Or, bring a French dictionary.

Room Tip: Look for the one with small balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Au Picardy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Picardy

Address: 10 boulevard Jean Jaures, 06300 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Old Town / Vieux Nice
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family atmosphere for this hotel, in the center of the city, led successively by parents, son, this for over 50 ans.Face the Green corridor that leads to the sea, the theater (TNT) and the Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art (MAMAC). Palace Acropolis Congress and the exhibition center are nearby (or 5 minutes by tram). Adjoining the Old Nice, the hotel is near many shops (souvenir shops, craft shops and food shops) and coach stations restaurants.The direction Cannes and Monaco are, too, close to the hotel (1.50 € Per trip). A 10-minute walk through the narrow streets of Old Nice where he stroll takes you to the Promenade des Anglais lined including its beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places so you can book your Au Picardy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Au Picardy Hotel Nice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Au Picardy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.