We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take the train and make sure to stop in Tende” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Train des Merveilles

Train des Merveilles
Nice Ville railway station, Nice, France
(0)800 114 023
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 178 things to do in Nice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Take the train and make sure to stop in Tende”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We took the 9.15 train (the schedule changed - it's 9.15 instead of 9.25 starting with September) because we wanted the guided trip. The explanations were interesting and we were able to spot a lot of things we wouldn't have seen otherwise, such as a small village perched on top of a mountain. The other people on the train were quite rude however - I'm assuming they did not know French and English (or they did not care), so they just spoke louder when the guide's commentary started, to drown her out. If you don't care for the guide, just take a later train...

We stopped in Tende and then took a regular train back to Ventimiglia in Italy, stopped there again, and made our way back to Nice in the evening. The train trip itself, without the stop in Tende, would not be very impressive, but the village is lovely and well worth the 15 EUR.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    41
    9
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“It really is marvelous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We actually missed the Train des Merveilles which leaves each day from nice station @ 09:23am.
Initially we were disappointed but this meant we had a 2 hr look around central Nice which has really smartened up! We also visited the Francophile Games which were taking place last weekend & were v interesting too !
This meant we took a later train to Tende on the French /italian border 7 what unfolds truly is a marvellous train journey into the French Alps .
Tende itself is a charming winter ski resort that is so pretty & well worth a visit .
On the way the train travels through the villages perche of Sospel & Saorge both of which I had always wanted to visit & will do on the next trip.
The trip really is worth its Merveilles name & is to be highly recommended especially as it is available of a 1 day train pass ' Eur15 (£13 ) from 1st June to 30 th September,

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Interesting journey, be careful with timetable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We took the 9.15am train, which is joined by a guide who makes some interesting observations about the places travelled through as well as the railway itself in both English and French. Be careful though if planning to stop off at more than one destination. On the way back from Tende we had planned another stop. However, there were three different versions of reality. The timetable said one thing, the staff at Tende station said another, the electronic signage and the sign on the train yet another thing again. We trusted the electronic signage in the end, which turned out to be correct. However, we didn't trust that we wouldn't be left stranded if we made another stop.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“One of the highlights of our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We got the 9:15 train from Nice, with the live commentary. No disrespect to the guide - she was well-informed and spoke perfect English - but with hindsight, I would have preferred to take a later train and just relax and enjoy the scenery without all the talking. We took a picnic with us and hiked the Via Ferrata trail in Tende. The views were terrific, but it's a moderately difficult walk and definitely not for the faint-hearted! When we came back down, most of the people who had been on the train with us had already left, so we had the lovely village of Tende practically all to ourselves. We spent a wonderful hour or so exploring all the cobbled alleys and taking loads of photos. We then got back on the train and went to Saorge, spending another two hours roaming around and visiting the monastery - we didn't see any other tourists there either. I preferred both Tende and Saorge over Eze Village, which we visited a few days previous - they were just as charming but without all the tourists and twee shops. It was such a relaxing break from the crowds and traffic noise of the Riviera; I highly recommend it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sit back and relax!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Briliant train trip into the French Alps. The commentary was in French and English, the diction was clear and in all it was very informative. Came back by train via Ventimiglia, then took the bus to Dolceaqua, before returning to Ventimiglia and back to Nice by train - all easily achievable in a day! Special price at the moment for the train part of the trip was 15 euros (Zou day pass), purchase at Nice Gare

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Train des Merveilles also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Train des Merveilles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Train des Merveilles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.