We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All you can eat Mussels!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Al Barattolo

Al Barattolo
18 Rue Massena, Nice, France (Jardin Albert 1er)
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,240 of 1,503 Restaurants in Nice
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Jardin Albert 1er
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“All you can eat Mussels!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Al Barattolo is one of the newer restaurants on the Pietonne. It offers a special of "all you can eat" mussels, which seemed pretty popular. I just had a Penne Arabbiatta, which was very tasty, but looking around, the food all looked good. The service and ambiance were also good.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    19
    25
    21
    102
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Should have read tripadvisor”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

One charming guy caught us in the evening on the street. The rest of the adventure was just terrible. Worst thing was this waiting time. The couple next to us asked the waiter three times for the food while he was saying three times "it's cooking". And all the other families/couples (about 3-4) were also complaining directly to waiters. Bad food, inefficient staff and tastless food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portarlington, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Walk on by...........”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The service was adequate, but I had lamb chops which were neither tender nor tasty and my wife's stake was just about okay. We asked for the dessert menu, but instead the waitress pointed to various bowls, &c., in a cabinet beside out table, all of which were covered in cling film. The only thing I recognised was apple pie, so I asked how much it was and she said 5 Euros. I ordered that but when it arrived it was stewed apple on a disgusting piece of sticky pastry. Worse still, when the bill arrived it was charged at €6.50. When I complained they suddenly lost their ability to speak English, so the only satisfaction I got was to say we would not be back nor would we be leaving a tip. There as also €8 for a bottle of water. Avoid, as there lots of excellent places close by - Le Lodge for instance.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Top Contributor
520 reviews 520 reviews
268 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
353 helpful votes 353 helpful votes
“Deserved poor rating except for the charming staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our group decided on Al Barattolo simply because it had mussels (all you can eat!) and some other dishes we wanted to try. Overall, I could not say the experience was that memorable. It felt like we were being accosted to go in then left forgotten.

We had pizzas, paella, some other pastas, etc. All were not the bet representation of Italy's fine dining, that I can tell you. As could be expected, food was of the rushed type, with not much thought given to taste or presentation. My mussels in red wine sauce was plenty but ultimately disappointing. Each mussel was really small. I did not ask for a refill.

The restaurant is on the very busy Rue Massena whre dozens of other restaurants ply their trade. Seating was hard to come by in the evening, but to be fair our group was big. The main saving grace turned out to be the lovely waitress who served us. All smiles and extra efficient. She was a rare gem in an otherwise dismal dinner.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Horrible service and mediocre food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Walked by and checked out the menu, waitstaff very friendly and attentive until you sit down. Ordered our food---seafood spaghetti and lasagna---took about close to an hour to getting. As we watched others get seated after us and their food arrive. Finally received food and ate quickly and attempted to get the check several times---about 15 min. Would NOT recommend this restaurant, many others to pick from and had a horrible experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Barattolo also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Al Barattolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Barattolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.