We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but very touristic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Roustide

La Roustide
34 Rue Beaumont | Riquier, 06300 Nice, France
04 93 89 69 60
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 1,368 Restaurants in Nice
Price range: $21 - $55
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: This chic little restaurant tucked away on the Rue Beaumont in Nice is earning an excellent reputation for its innovative and exquisite contemporary French cuisine. The Head chef, has created a rich and exciting menu with an emphasis on truffles. The intimate dining room at La Roustide is popular with the locals for sophisticated business lunches and stylish evening meals, and the restaurant's signature dishes include the seared foie gras burger served with sliced truffles, bordelaise sauce and French fries; the Rossini fillet of beef with polenta and truffles; and the rocket salad with asparagus, artichokes and, you guessed it, some more truffles.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good food but very touristic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We had the Menu degustation a la truffle. Food was very delicious and the service (one waitress for the entire restaurant) welcoming and nice. It was our last evening on the French Riviera after dining in many good places. Unfortunately the atmosphere at this place was cold and canteen or cruise like. Why? All guests were tourist. No locals at all. We had a noisy German family spoiling our evening. If you want to have a nice dinner AND a local atmosphere - book a table in another restaurant. Maybe it was a bad day, but in spite of the high quality food and the good service we will never com back,
Our recommendations are; L'Aromat, Le Bistro Gourmand, L'Universe Christian Plumail for at mention some of them.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laroustide, Propriétaire at La Roustide, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Hello,
Thank you very much for your nice comments on the quality of food and service.
First, sorry for my bad english.
Regarding your point "very touristic", we aren't restaurant "tourist trap." The restaurant is located away the tourist trail, the card is very small and only fresh products.
The restaurant is closed the month of August and our customers are mainly local.
Indeed, on this evening, there was a majority of tourists, like you, because of our old place No. 1 on Tripadvisor but this is quite infrequent.
I am saddened that your evening was not that you expect and I hope you come to our restaurant to give us another chance.
Best regards.

Sandrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    144
    27
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We went for dinner after a long afternoon in Monaco. It's not located in the busy port area but it's not difficult to find. Off the tram and just walk straight got us right to the place.

The staff is very welcoming and took the patience to explain the menu to us (we don't speak French). We chose the truffle menu and all dishes are very nice! We enjoyed the heavenly asparagus soup very much!

Highly recommended!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Super-delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We had really good five course truffle menu during at this lovely restaurant. Food was tasty and original, service was really friendly. One of the best restaurants during our visit in Nice. Great value for money. Location of restaurant is tricky, but be patient it is worth it. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Delicious food! A must while staying in Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We were expecting the food to be good at La Roustide since the reviews have been so good on Tripadvisor but were blown away by the passion of the owner. That night she ran the entire restaurant by herself and still had the time to chat with us about her story.

All of the dishes were tasty and inventive. Not to be missed if you are visitng Nice!

Traveller tip: Take the tram to Acropolis and it's a 8 min walk from there. (Close to the Marina)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worth the top rating.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We visited this restaurant based on the rating and we were not disappointed. It's a little outside the city centre, but the tram makes it very accessible. We were a group of seven including some picky eaters, but everyone was delighted with the truffle tasting menu. The waitress was great and definitely added to the experience. The night was a great success. If you are visiting Nice, you must book a table here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Roustide also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to La Roustide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Roustide, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.