We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value and good french food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant d'Angleterre

Restaurant d'Angleterre
25 Rue Angleterre, 06000 Nice, France (Centre)
0493886449
Improve this listing
Ranked #246 of 1,503 Restaurants in Nice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Centre
dublin
1 review
“great value and good french food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Came upon this restaurant totally by accident on our visit two weeks ago. We were actually looking for another restaurant and could'nt find it !! We saw d'angleterre and decided to give it a go. We were very impressed with the clean and bright surroundings also the fabric table linen was crisp and clean. We were warmly greeted in french by an enthusiastic gentleman and soon discovered that the clientelle was mainly local which to us was a really good sign. Went with the menu for €17 and thought it was very satisfying, well presented and very good value compared with restaurants in the old town. Would highly recommend.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    33
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
DEAL
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“What a find in Nice.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

In my opinion you can eat well in Nice but you really have to pay for it. This however is excellent food at very reasonable rates. Very central and close to the hotel district near the station, Restaurant Angleterre ought to be on the itinerary of anyone wanting a high quality French meal. It is situated on the Rue Angleterre and so takes its name from this - do not panic and expect English food as I fist did when I saw it - this is the genuine article. I had the set three course menu with many choices which works out at £15. The seafood salad had so much fish I could hardly see the lettuce and included crab and crayfish. A dream of a steak came with a choice of potatoes or braised artichokes which is a favourite of mine and relatively rare to find. It was served also with cooked figs. There were several choices of quality deserts - not just your creme caramel here. Wine selection is extensive and again reasonable. The service was both professional and friendly and a good finishing touch was a complimentary brandy with the coffee. I always think a good sign of a quality restaurant is that the French themselves eat there and as I was the only Englishman amidst a nearly full salon, I think that speaks for itself.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Good value local food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Near the Gare Thiers, in the rue de l'Angleterre, is an unassuming restaurant we would not have heard of were we not recommended to it by some people we chatted with in another restaurant. From the way heads turned as we entered, it was obvious that this is a favourite of habitués who eat there every day. We quickly got into conversation with another couple who greeted us as we were seated, and went on elsewhere to a lovely afternoon together. They assured us that the food here was entirely cooked on the premises, ie not mass-catering pre-prepared meals reheated and served. The fixed price menu of 17 euro was a prawn salad (a bit too much mayonnaise for my taste) or an excellent liver salad starter, beef or fish (pagre / seabream) with a side vegetable and dessert. This was the first piece of decent beef I had had in Nice, a pity we waited for our last day there to find it! There is only one option for vegetable - eg one of either sautée potatoes OR battered aubergine; this does not make for a balanced meal, in my opinion. Of course when a couple are eating, then they can mix and share. Pichet wine was good and reasonably priced. Service was charming and a complimentary digestivo rounded it off very nicely.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great local restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The set Menu or the plat du Jour are great value and very good quality - you can eat in or on the terrace and the staff are friendly - It's not full of tourists and does good French cookery. We use it regularly for lunch and live along the road.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled by the appearance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The d'Angleterre is a fine restaurant if you're looking for traditional French cuisine with little pretense. Don't be fooled by it's outwards appearance and don't be surprised it you're the only visitor from out of town. This place is frequented by locals which it a very good sign to me.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant d'Angleterre also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Restaurant d'Angleterre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant d'Angleterre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.