We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paella Nicoise?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Mireille

Chez Mireille
19 Boulevard Raimbaldi, 06000 Nice, France
+33 4 93 85 27 23
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 1,368 Restaurants in Nice
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Linkoping, Sweden
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Paella Nicoise?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

It may seem a bit strange visiting a paella restaurant in Nice. Nevertheless, the paella at Mireille is delicious and full of tasty ingredients. Don't expect to find anything else in the menu though,this place is serious about their paella.

We were cheerfully received and welcomed. The restaurant is cozy and the food is prepared with care. Don't miss the sangria.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    89
    30
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nice, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The best "Paella"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

"Chez Mireille" at Nice, a wonderful little restaurant where you can eat the best Paella. Every meat is délicious.
We'll be back there very soon.
André and Suzanne

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Paella Feast of Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Epic paella!! Fantastic food and dining experience! I came here with my friend on a trip to Nice on recommendation from other Trip Advisor reviews and was not disappointed. The chef takes pride in his food, and even offers seconds on the already large portions. The waitress was very friendly and endorsed me speaking in my rusty French. Ambience is warm and inviting, but not at all pretentious.

Come hungry and craving paella! Note: Their menu consists of 3 types of paella, the third of which you have to order in advance. I had the first one on the menu which is the Mireille paella, meat and seafood paella, which was fantastic!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Must try if you come to Nice. Best paella we had.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

It was a small restaurant so better make a reservation before you come. The chef and staffs could not speak English well but we can communicate through a simple English. We were lucky to get the last table outside the restaurant without reservation. They only had paella with meat or seafood so we had order one each so that we can try both style. The portion is so big and the seafood like squid and mussels were so fresh and not overlook. Must try the dessert like a tiramisu. Even we were so full, we said we must regret without try it. The chef even offer us one more dessert because we kept on saying it was so delicious. We didn't accept his kind offer because we were 200% full. The price is reasonable and can say it was cheap. Come try it and you must love it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Paella perfection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We had intended on eating paella at least once during our trip to Nice and decided to try Chez Mireille, mainly based on TA reviews - what a great choice it turned out to be.

The restaurant is a 20-30 minute walk (depending on how much window shopping you do down the main street) from the Old Town and is located close to the train station. It was definitely worth the walk - the paella was quite simply the best we've ever had. Extremely friendly staff - we felt very welcome.

After ordering two bottles of wine that the restaurant didn't have, the waitress insisted on giving us a 2003 vintage Bordeux at a cut price - excellent customer care. The food was served in front of our eyes - it looked and tasted excellent.

The prices are very reasonable - the paella is €21.50 per person, bottles of wine €20-35, and glasses of Sangria just €2.50 each. If you're wanting Paella whilst in Nice, this is the place for it!

Note: Paella is their speciality dish and rightly so - if I remember correctly, there were no other options on the menu...but really, why would you want anything else? :)
Tip: book a table to be on the safe side. We rang a couple of hours before and got one without a problem, but it's not a big restaurant.
Tip: scrub up on the old French skills if you're not very fluent. This is not a restaurant overly filled with tourists - great authentic French feel to it.

Highly recommended - we'd love to go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Mireille also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Chez Mireille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Mireille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;