We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brightest memory from Cote D'Azur” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Route du Miam

La Route du Miam
1, rue Moliere, Nice, France
06 16 36 33 22
Improve this listing
Reserve with
La Route du Miam is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 1,363 Restaurants in Nice
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brightest memory from Cote D'Azur”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Followed trip advisor advice we went on the hunt. The first time we totally missed it, had to ask around and finally found it. The place was nice and cozy, the food was outstanding, the wine suggested by the owner was beyond any expectations!!! But the best part about this place - owners, they are so friendly and open and really take their time to make it a true south - French dining and cultural experience. Highly recommended, just don't eat anything before you come to the restaurant ))

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    353
    60
    13
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“More than a dinner...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

One of the best foi gras and the tastiest duck I never had (and I’m French…). But the simplicity, the kindness and the warmth of Marie and Jean-Michel added a touch of magic to my dinner. Many thanks both of you (I know you are reading), and keep it up.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious hearty meals. Foie gras heaven!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Be prepared to be stuffed with delicious home-cooked goodness. We ordered the two half-duck plates to try the different ducks, and both dishes did not disappoint. The flavours and textures of the ducks were distinct and tasted fresh. However, the star of the night was the foie gras! I preferred the hot one, which was perfectly seared on the outside and gooey on the inside. The cold one was very buttery and bursting with flavour. The portions are very generous so come here hungry.

What made our experience even more memorable was the warmth and friendliness of our humorous hostess, Marie, who explained the menu in detail and made sure we had a great time at her restaurant.

This little gem fits no more than 20 people so book ahead and arrive early! Otherwise, you may be waiting 2 hrs for your dish since there's only one chef in the house; but, definitely worth the wait!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxed Perfection (and a correction)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I agree with everything that previous reviewers have said in favor of this incredible place. Truly one of the best meals I've ever had.

I promised Marie that I would correct one bit of false information that crept into an earlier review. They have no plans to close soon - or I hope ever. The previous customer misunderstood a discussion about the the fact that the vineyard they favored for the red wine they featured is going through some changes and will no longer be able to supply them. While a shame, the wine was perfect with the food, I'm confident they'll find another supplier with an excellent substitute. The restaurant itself remains open for business for the foreseeable future. By all means go. You'll be thrilled you did. Only one word of warning. Go hungry! This is not a meal for the faint of heart or those who think they are following the frenchwoman's diet.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palermo, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Simply a MUST in Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Everything about this dinner experience was just perfect, and it was one of our best & most memorable in our trip to Europe.
We had a booking for 8pm, and as usual we were the first diners that night. But Marie and Jean Michel who are the host/hostess of the premises made us feel so welcome, explained everything in full detail and drank with us. These two were just an absolute delight. They recommended us the most amazing local aperitif and wine, and for dinner we had the duck and the quail. The food was incredible, born out of Southern French history. Know this - there are no appetizers at this restaurant, and there is no need as the dishes are HUGE. We still had an after-meal degistif though...it was so delicious I had it drizzled on the ice cream too.

We definitely would return when we are back in Nice!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Route du Miam also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to La Route du Miam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Route du Miam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.