We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than a dinner...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Route du Miam

La Route du Miam
1, rue Moliere, Nice, France
06 16 36 33 22
Update restaurant details
Ranked #3 of 1,293 restaurants in Nice
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Paris
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“More than a dinner...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

One of the best foi gras and the tastiest duck I never had (and I’m French…). But the simplicity, the kindness and the warmth of Marie and Jean-Michel added a touch of magic to my dinner. Many thanks both of you (I know you are reading), and keep it up.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    271
    48
    11
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious hearty meals. Foie gras heaven!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Be prepared to be stuffed with delicious home-cooked goodness. We ordered the two half-duck plates to try the different ducks, and both dishes did not disappoint. The flavours and textures of the ducks were distinct and tasted fresh. However, the star of the night was the foie gras! I preferred the hot one, which was perfectly seared on the outside and gooey on the inside. The cold one was very buttery and bursting with flavour. The portions are very generous so come here hungry.

What made our experience even more memorable was the warmth and friendliness of our humorous hostess, Marie, who explained the menu in detail and made sure we had a great time at her restaurant.

This little gem fits no more than 20 people so book ahead and arrive early! Otherwise, you may be waiting 2 hrs for your dish since there's only one chef in the house; but, definitely worth the wait!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxed Perfection (and a correction)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I agree with everything that previous reviewers have said in favor of this incredible place. Truly one of the best meals I've ever had.

I promised Marie that I would correct one bit of false information that crept into an earlier review. They have no plans to close soon - or I hope ever. The previous customer misunderstood a discussion about the the fact that the vineyard they favored for the red wine they featured is going through some changes and will no longer be able to supply them. While a shame, the wine was perfect with the food, I'm confident they'll find another supplier with an excellent substitute. The restaurant itself remains open for business for the foreseeable future. By all means go. You'll be thrilled you did. Only one word of warning. Go hungry! This is not a meal for the faint of heart or those who think they are following the frenchwoman's diet.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palermo, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simply a MUST in Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Everything about this dinner experience was just perfect, and it was one of our best & most memorable in our trip to Europe.
We had a booking for 8pm, and as usual we were the first diners that night. But Marie and Jean Michel who are the host/hostess of the premises made us feel so welcome, explained everything in full detail and drank with us. These two were just an absolute delight. They recommended us the most amazing local aperitif and wine, and for dinner we had the duck and the quail. The food was incredible, born out of Southern French history. Know this - there are no appetizers at this restaurant, and there is no need as the dishes are HUGE. We still had an after-meal degistif though...it was so delicious I had it drizzled on the ice cream too.

We definitely would return when we are back in Nice!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“It's an experience not just a meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stopped outside for a moment, thought about it and then went it. Well of the usual haunts in Nice, but this restaurant is highly recommended. Run by a couple, it's small and very friendly. They take their time explaining the options which all are personally sourced and then cooked to perfection. The chef says it the type of food from SW France that his mother used to cook and boy she must have been a good cook...

Will be back next time I am in town for sure.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Route du Miam also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to La Route du Miam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Route du Miam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.