We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must for traditional food from Nice!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Pipo

Chez Pipo
13 Bavastro, 06300 Nice, France
04 93 55 88 82
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #180 of 1,415 Restaurants in Nice
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
304 helpful votes 304 helpful votes
“A must for traditional food from Nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

When I arrived in Nice, I asked locals where I could try local food and i was pointed to Chez Pipo. This small restaurant is located close to the Vieux Port and has a traditional auberge-like atmosphere. They are a well-known reference for local food that they have been serving for 90 years! Their menu is small but mainly made of traditional local food, such as socca, pissaladière, tourte de blettes, tapenade and anchoïade. I enjoyed the socca and when I talked to a table of locals next to me, they told me they had been coming there for 60 years! The food is good and very afordable, and the personnel is friendly and takes good care of you. On warm days, a few tables are available outside of the restaurant. On a more practical note, I should mention that the restaurant doesn't take credit cards. If you understand French, the restaurant's website http://www.chezpipo.fr/ has more info in the traditional food of Nice and the history of the restaurant and is worth a look.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    142
    32
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
George, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Chez Pipo, a must when passing throught the French Riviera”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Chez Pipo is the best place in Nice to eat this old traditional dish eaten in the area by the poor in years gone by but a great treat today for anyone viisiting the area, the simple wines that they serve to accompany the dish are the perfect mix with a piece of pissaladière as a starter...

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Local flavour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

If you are in Nice u have to try the socca...it's the local delicacy and what place to have it than Chez Pipo... A complete no frills place with very limited items on the menu...inspire of that the place is packed to almost full capacity always....must say quite a lot about the socca it serves


I am no authority on socca..but I can say that I loved what I ate, the friendly and warm service and above all the experience of dining at a place where the locals truly hang...so it gives a peek into the local buzz and brings Nice tad closer to you.... :)

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Acqui, si mangia la socca!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Unique experience, the best socca in Nice... and if you don't know what socca is, visting Pipo is the answer.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Socca in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We have read about this restaurant on TA and on some food blogs, stating that this is the best place to eat socca in Nice. We went there one evening in July to find a packed restaurant.

There are very limited seats, and we waited to get an outside seat, as it was a really hot day, and the massive oven makes the small inside very warm. The friendly waitress told us that the wait for socca would be 45 mins, as they only serve the socca fresh out of the oven, We enjoyed a ice cold rose in the meantime.

The socca was piping hot when it arrived after 45 mins, and both of us finished our double portions. It is a difficult taste to describe, but the crunchy top and the soft inside is definitely worth the trip. (It is not close to the main tourist areas in Nice)

One thing to note is that they do not take card payments, and we did not know that beforehand. There is an atm about 300m from the restaurant.

Overall a great find and an excellent eat. The locals eat there too!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Pipo also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Chez Pipo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Pipo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.