We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool Show” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jun Nice

Jun Nice
47 rue Gioffredo, Nice, France (Centre)
+33493854778
Improve this listing
Ranked #531 of 1,503 Restaurants in Nice
Price range: $22 - $28
Cuisines: Japanese
Neighborhood: Centre
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Centre
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cool Show”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This was how should I say...a unique way of eating oriental cuisine. I would have to recommend this restaurant for the show as well as for the food quality. Will be back next time I am in Nice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    21
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nice, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun and Delicious Japanese Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

At Jun, the food is prepared just in front of you, and it's a nice show to see those experts deal with it. The staff is nice, the food is very good and the price reasonable.
It's an excellent restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Reverse chemistry”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

How can you take perfectly good ingredients and make them tasteless ? rest assured the Chef in jun has found the secret, if there ever was one to render tasty food into retirement home grub...we ordered the most expensive formula (lobster tail, filet mignon, scallops, shrimp, tofu, veggies and salad) for a measly 35 euros or $47 per head. After waiting a good 20 minutes in an empty joint, the Teppanyaki chef appeared and cooked the entire meal in...less than 20 minutes. I do not want to overstate any criticisms, the ingredients were good, the execution uninspired and boring, everything tasted like soya sauce, generously being dozed all over fresh seafood and filet, to the point of palate annihilation... th sake we ordered was very substandard, one bright note : the Japanese server was very polite and nice. I live in the USA, where great Japanese food can be found for the same amount of money or less, i am deeply sadden to write such review, but after spending almost $150 for truly uninspired food, it really sucks. i hope this place will improve, i understand that the French have not be exposed to great Japanese as the Americans, and they might see this restaurant as an expression of "Zen" in a plate, but believe me, we are far from being elevated in this rather drab place....

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Little Tokio in Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

None of the fancy Japanese restaurants or sushi bars you'll find all over the globe, but therefore really authentic. I was really reminded of my time in Tokyo, where you can find a lot of similar, plain and simple, but anyway good places to eat. The teppanyaki menu was good, the service forthcoming and the prices moderate. In any case worth a try.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Good teppanyaki, avoid the rest”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

I was craving asian food after having had my fill with the local cuisine so stepped into this one conveniently located next to my hotel, with a bunch of lads. I was really surprised by how expensive the menu was, and we were collectively disappointed by the food itself - except for the teppanyaki where the chef was awesome. Drinks are also expensive, the staff is rather cold as is the atmosphere inside. Won't go back,and if you're just after a couple of sushis, keep your 20 euros for another place.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jun Nice also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Jun Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jun Nice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.