We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Romantic Find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of la maison de marie

la maison de marie
5 rue massena, 06300 Nice, France (Centre)
(0)493821593
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
la maison de marie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #326 of 1,421 Restaurants in Nice
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Centre
Barcelona
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Romantic Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

It was our last night in Nice and a Sunday. The hotel had called 4 restaurants for us, all closed. It was suggested we walk up Rue Massena and see what was open. We stumbled into this restaurant off the street in a very quiet, romantic setting. It was charming, but, the food and service were also wonderful. I'm Gluten Intolerant so it is always especially wonderful when a restaurant understands and can serve me a wonderful meal. My husband had lobster tails on pasta that he said were outstanding. I had another excellent fish. It made a very memorable evening.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    302
    106
    52
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Ate here tonight and don't often write reviews but the food here was soooo good. I had the seafood linguine with lobster which was delicious and my wife had the scallops.

Great atmosphere and service

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canggu, Indonesia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“An excellent option for medium sized groups”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had a dinner here for a group of 40 persons. The food was very tasty. With very efficient service (though there were only two waiters serving the group) and quite reasonable rates this place makes a very good option for groups. For a couple or family I would suggest taking seats outside in a small garden at the entrance. The location is good: though it's impossible to stop a bus right by the restaurant (and with a group you have to take a short 2-3 minutes walk), but after dinner your guests can enjoy a pleasant walk around the city center.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We had lunch here today, the linguine with lobster and seafood is superb. So was my wife's entree and the seafood risotto. beautiful dining room and outside seating. Down a little alley way on Rue Messina, just off the Plaza. Wait staff some of best in a month in Italy. Will definitely go back for a special dinner. Nice has some really mediocre restaurants, but this is not even close to that category, this was excellent.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Huge place indoor or outdoor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

This place was reccomended by the concierge of our hotel, little in doubt when we walked the main street as it was full of other tourist however this was a very pleasant experience, not only tourist but also locals. Very big with inside or outside seats, very efficient service, food was quock to be served and also tasty. They have a special local menu at 23.50 Euros. I tried their linguine with seafood at 28 Euros, worth every cent as it contained full lobster,huge tiger pranw and loads of seafood. Wine selection could be better for France!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed la maison de marie also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to la maison de marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage la maison de marie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.