We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just didn't do it for us” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Les Viviers

Les Viviers
22, rue Alphonse Karr, 06000 Nice, France (Centre)
0493160048
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Save up to 20% when you reserve online *
Les Viviers is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #287 of 1,479 Restaurants in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $72
Cuisines: French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Centre
Johor Bahru
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Just didn't do it for us”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Looked good from the outside but more like fine dining than a bistrot in our opinion. Service and ambience was great but sigh, not the food. Chef owner was in the dining room and we tried to be friendly but he was arrogant. We had artichoke salad and it might have had a little truffle oil. Wish it said so on the menu. The turbot was overcooked and the hollandaise sauce very bland. Too bad, since this is could be such a nice dish. The Plaice was all right. Nice wine list though!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    116
    42
    19
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Total French kitchen with good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

We knew it would be good, but the level of dining and friendliness surprised us. Dining Aioli, and a plate of sardines etc. with rose wine was a treat.

We wanted to have their bouillabaisse as well. Visited during lunch time and the big portion of all possible was a treat. The chef was very friendly and I asked him to adopt me to get this every day and he kindly agreed. As I understand he was trained by the best kitchens of Lyon and Paris. So you are in good hands.

One of the places besides La Reserve to give a reason to get back to Nice.



Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
121 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great food. Great service. A little noisy.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Wonderful bistrot. Very accommodating with superb ford and service. Blackboard menu with many choices.

Duck and pork pate is to die for and very large portion. Wine list is excellent.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha/Nairobi
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

3 of us walked in on a saturday night. The restaurant was busy but we got a place to sit quickly. The bistro had a rich and authentic look to it. An english menu helped and the kind waitress spoke some english too. I ordered the meilleur (perhaps wrong spelling) and it was perfectly made. Cooked to perfection and served with a delightful butter sauce. The fish was fresh and of the highest quality.

The waitress and owner are very honest. There was a mistake on my bill and they graciously refunded the extra charges.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

Great place. They do have menu in English as well. Grilled fish John Dory was excellent (served for two). Starter salad with artichoke worth trying. Desserts ... be careful, they are plentiful. At least after lighter fish you might want to settle for something else than chocolate cake or creme brulee. Small bistro, might require table reservation, we were lucky not needing one.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Viviers also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Les Viviers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Viviers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.