We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total French kitchen with good price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Viviers

Les Viviers
22, rue Alphonse Karr, 06000 Nice, France (Thiers / Train Station)
0493160048
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Book Online and Save Up to 20% *
Les Viviers is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
*Some exclusions may apply.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #302 of 1,377 Restaurants in Nice
Price range: $47 - $83
Cuisines: French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Thiers / Train Station
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Total French kitchen with good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

We knew it would be good, but the level of dining and friendliness surprised us. Dining Aioli, and a plate of sardines etc. with rose wine was a treat.

We wanted to have their bouillabaisse as well. Visited during lunch time and the big portion of all possible was a treat. The chef was very friendly and I asked him to adopt me to get this every day and he kindly agreed. As I understand he was trained by the best kitchens of Lyon and Paris. So you are in good hands.

One of the places besides La Reserve to give a reason to get back to Nice.



Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    91
    36
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great food. Great service. A little noisy.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Wonderful bistrot. Very accommodating with superb ford and service. Blackboard menu with many choices.

Duck and pork pate is to die for and very large portion. Wine list is excellent.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha/Nairobi
1 review
“Fantastic seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

3 of us walked in on a saturday night. The restaurant was busy but we got a place to sit quickly. The bistro had a rich and authentic look to it. An english menu helped and the kind waitress spoke some english too. I ordered the meilleur (perhaps wrong spelling) and it was perfectly made. Cooked to perfection and served with a delightful butter sauce. The fish was fresh and of the highest quality.

The waitress and owner are very honest. There was a mistake on my bill and they graciously refunded the extra charges.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

Great place. They do have menu in English as well. Grilled fish John Dory was excellent (served for two). Starter salad with artichoke worth trying. Desserts ... be careful, they are plentiful. At least after lighter fish you might want to settle for something else than chocolate cake or creme brulee. Small bistro, might require table reservation, we were lucky not needing one.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
“Average...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

I selected this place because by mistake I thought I saw they offered kids menu in the internet (it was in fact Le Rolancy's - a fancy looking restaurant just besides)... What a mistake!!! My 4 year old daughter ended up hungry and crying out loud, not having any single dish suitable for kids... although our kid is quite picky when it comes to food :)

Otherwise, the food was very good, as far as I was concerned, and fairly priced too. Atmosphere was quite average. No table menu, they have their dishes written on a wooden board and available only in French and with very busy waters hectic and running around as usual in French restaurants you will not be helped with your choice too much - be prepared!

If you choose this place make sure you make a reservation in advance and be there to order before 13.30h otherwise they close the kitchen.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Viviers also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Les Viviers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Viviers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.