We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food. Great service. A little noisy.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Viviers

Les Viviers
22, rue Alphonse Karr, 06000 Nice, France (Centre)
0493160048
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Save up to 20% when you reserve online *
Les Viviers is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #287 of 1,483 Restaurants in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $72
Cuisines: French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Centre
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
121 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great food. Great service. A little noisy.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Wonderful bistrot. Very accommodating with superb ford and service. Blackboard menu with many choices.

Duck and pork pate is to die for and very large portion. Wine list is excellent.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    116
    42
    19
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doha/Nairobi
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

3 of us walked in on a saturday night. The restaurant was busy but we got a place to sit quickly. The bistro had a rich and authentic look to it. An english menu helped and the kind waitress spoke some english too. I ordered the meilleur (perhaps wrong spelling) and it was perfectly made. Cooked to perfection and served with a delightful butter sauce. The fish was fresh and of the highest quality.

The waitress and owner are very honest. There was a mistake on my bill and they graciously refunded the extra charges.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

Great place. They do have menu in English as well. Grilled fish John Dory was excellent (served for two). Starter salad with artichoke worth trying. Desserts ... be careful, they are plentiful. At least after lighter fish you might want to settle for something else than chocolate cake or creme brulee. Small bistro, might require table reservation, we were lucky not needing one.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
“Average...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

I selected this place because by mistake I thought I saw they offered kids menu in the internet (it was in fact Le Rolancy's - a fancy looking restaurant just besides)... What a mistake!!! My 4 year old daughter ended up hungry and crying out loud, not having any single dish suitable for kids... although our kid is quite picky when it comes to food :)

Otherwise, the food was very good, as far as I was concerned, and fairly priced too. Atmosphere was quite average. No table menu, they have their dishes written on a wooden board and available only in French and with very busy waters hectic and running around as usual in French restaurants you will not be helped with your choice too much - be prepared!

If you choose this place make sure you make a reservation in advance and be there to order before 13.30h otherwise they close the kitchen.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“French bistro”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We visited Les Viviers Bistro on a Saturday evening. Before nine o´clock, practically all tables were occupied, so reservation is essential. The tables are pretty close to each other - meaning that there is not much privacy available.

The menu in French was presented on a roughly 50 cm x 80 cm black board placed on the table. No English version was offered. Neither did we ask for one, since we had printed out the menu in advance from the web.

As the kitchen´s greeting we were offered olives and two types of sandwich-like nibbles, which were quite nice. As actual starters we had artichokes salad and scallops carpaccio. Both were OK - no complaints, but not unforgettable. As the main course we enjoyed sea bream cooked in sea salt crust. The fish itself did not have very much taste, but the accompanying sauce had quite a strong taste. As a dessert I had flambéed crêpes with Grand Marnier. The crepes were OK, but to my disappointment they were not topped with whipped cream or ice-cream. My wife´s choice was Black Forest cake, which was quite delicious

The wine list was extensive, so we just followed the waitress´s recommendation, which turned out to be a good choice for our courses.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Viviers also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Les Viviers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Viviers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.