We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special and consistent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Moulin de Mougins

Le Moulin de Mougins
Notre Dame de Vie, 06250 Mougins, France
+33 (0)4 93 75 78 24
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Book Online and Save Up to 30% *
Le Moulin de Mougins is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
*Some exclusions may apply.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 66 Restaurants in Mougins
Price range: $33 - $130
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Springfield, Illinois
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Special and consistent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

On our last day in the area, we strolled through the village and had lunch here. The garden like room was pretty and the service was very polished. The food is very fine and the relaxed atmosphere was delightful.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    63
    33
    25
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We ate there on 20 October 2012. We had the 50 euro menu with glasses of wine suggested by our excellent waiter. The food was superb, the service impeccable, the wines excellent and good value. We'll be back

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Expectations were high, and they were largely met”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

MM is one of the few restaurants in the area which have earned a Michelin star (I think even two or three in the past). It is 5 minutes off the A8 towards Grasse, nestled in a small notch, surrounded by bamboo and olive trees. Not a big hassle getting reservations for lunch 2 days in advance and it was not packed when we were there. Service was very "french" i.e. the staff was borderline blunt even though there was no language barrier. The dishes were savoury but not over par, especially since our expectations were set high thanks to the establishment's rep. The wine list was supernatural, but we settled for mid-range. This time. The price/quality was acceptable and surely this place is worth a visit if you're in the area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
French Riviera
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
“Exquisite !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My wife and I love to eat. The 80 euro Seasonal Menu of Sebastien Chambru is incredibly delicious. Not the slightest mistake, a mixture of foods offering new tastes, creativity based
on experience rather than fashion, I don’t have enough positive words to describe our lunch experience. Here it is to make your mouth water:
- 3 tiny appetizers
- Pre-meal snacks
- Shredded cod with summer truffles, thin large white bean velvety and young shoots
- Potato risotto and aestivum truffles, mashed potato foam
- Filet mignon of pig in a truffle crust, white beet cannelloni glazed with juice
- Chocolate and banana square, passion fruit sorbet

Sorry I can’t add the taste, look, smell and personal pleasure to this review. Oh! Did I mention this is a Summer truffle menu with plenty of savoury truffles ?
Highly recommended !

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“A California patio with a 4 course 100 euro menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

If the price tag doesn't stop you, read on. We had menu, together with a couple amuse bouche and migardise - even the hefty appetites will be satisfied.

Foie gras polee starter was nice. Cod with truffles and potatoes was a revelation; the cochon/pork cutlet looked well-done, but was somehow wonderful, perhaps it was the lighting that deceived me. The fraise du bois dessert was nice as well.

So 2 superlative courses, and two competent courses; much better than your average restaurant.

Wine list was quite nice.

The ambiance was end of summer, and we dined outside on the patio. We could have been in California except that the food was better and service and details was superb rather then "HI, my name is Bob, I'll be your server tonight."

A bit of French will help, but English-only speakers need not be afraid, the staff can translate and menu comes with mostly accurate translations. English speakers don't get offered the cheese course, and menu eaters will probably be too full. Navigating the roads will be a bigger problem.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Moulin de Mougins also viewed

Mougins, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Mougins, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Mougins, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Mougins, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Le Moulin de Mougins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Moulin de Mougins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.