We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Mas Candille

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Le Mas Candille to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Mougins
Woburn Sands, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We decided to end our two week trip to Provence with a night a LMC. What a great idea and what a wonderful hotel! The setting is fabulous - set on the hill on the way up to old Mougins ( old Mougins is a five minute walk or ten minute amble - up hill on the way up!). Stunning views across the valley over to Grasse in the distance. The facilities at the hotel are top drawer including three different pool areas. When we visited in mid Sept, we pretty much had one of the pools to ourselves. The whole place is very tranquil and relaxing. We stayed in a superior room which thankfully had a king bed (the French don't really seem to do big beds!). Beautifully appointed room with a separate bath and shower in the salle de bain. We ate at the Le Candille restaurant (see separate review) and the food and setting was just breathtaking. Service was also faultless throughout our stay. All in all, if there is a perfect way to end a holiday, this was it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marksilver94, Owner at Le Mas Candille, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Sir

thank you for your very kind comments. I am pleased you had a good break, and look forward to seeing you back again in the near future.

kind regards

Mark Silver
marksilver@lemascandille.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    85
    30
    14
    6
See reviews for
41
239
15
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel for 3 wonderful nights in mid-July. My wife and I both turned 40 this year and treated ourselves to a France getaway without the kids. Began our trip in Paris and came south for a week after looking for some French Riviera relaxation and fun. Although we live in NYC, our travel agent from Chicago insisted we stay at Le Mas Candille for part of our Southern France trip. Boy was she ever right.

Le Mas Candille is a beautiful property located in the hills of Mougins, just north of Cannes/Antibes. It is a wonderful retreat from the busy feel of the coast (and Paris) and the feeling of relaxation hits you immediately upon entering the beautiful property. We were upgraded to a suite on arrival (without request) and were placed in a spacious and beautifully furnished room(s) with a wonderful sun deck overlooking Grasse and the mountains.

Despite some other reviews, the staff were friendly, attentive and always willing to assist, give advice or otherwise help in every way possible. The entire staff, from the pool to the breakfast buffet, were overly accommodating and helpful and did so with smiles and sincere genuineness. We even got a tour of the property from the General Manager upon arrival. One evening, we advised the valet that we would be heading to St. Tropez in the morning and would need our car around 8 a.m. When we arrived at the entrance the next morning, the car was waiting for us, air conditioner was turned on, bottles of water were in the cup holders and the valet had programmed our GPS for Tahiti Beach in St. Tropez. Those kinds of details were present through our entire stay.

The pool area is very nice, relaxing and meticulously kept. The pool is larger than it appears because of the infinity edge and kept at a very comfortable temperature. Towels, chairs and umbrellas were readily available.

The restaurant is a gem. Not only is the breakfast buffet plentiful and delicious, it is set up on the veranda that overlooks the mountainside. Very serene and relaxing to start your day. We also had the opportunity to have dinner at the property and opted for one of the tasting menus. very creative and sophisticated choices. Again, overlooking the beautiful hills.

Mougins, which is an easy 5 minute walk up the hill, is a small and quaint French hill town and absolutely worth going for dinner and a nice stroll.

A great hotel in a wonderful location.

Room Tip: Upgrade from a standard room to get a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marksilver94, Owner at Le Mas Candille, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Sir,

I really appreciate the time you took to put your comments online. We do try to deliver as per your comments, but its nice when things go well !

Hopefully we will see you back again in the not too distant future,

kind regards

Mark Silver
marksilver@lemascandille.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I live near mougins and this is my favourite restaurant, mainly because the setting is incredible (most of the restaurants in mougins look onto each other across a fountain area) whereas this one overlooks an infinity pool with the twinkling lights of grasse in the hills behind. Stunning.

All the other restaurants in mougins insist on trying to do 5 star haute cuisine dining - but sometimes you do just want a club sandwich or burger. The pergola has everything - great food, some of which is very beautifully presented and reliably tastes wonderful (i had the grilled tuna and vegetables which was delicious). However the bonus is, the is also the odd burger on the menu for someone who is frankly a bit sick of the overly fanciful food up in the village which sadly falls flat on its face in so many instances.

I highly recommend this restaurant and can not fault it any way.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marksilver94, Owner at Le Mas Candille, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Hi

thank you so much for your comments. It helps us to get useful feedback on the menus, and don't forget La Pergola will be open for lunch for most of September !

regards

mark silver
marksilver@lemascandille.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Wonderful place- beautiful buildings, surroundings and superb service. We had a fabulous, very spacious room with a nice view, every possible comfort and lovely amenities. Spent only 2 nights but would have happily stayed much longer. Cannot fault it... Only suggestion was that the poolside restaurant was very hot and sunny- to the point that it was uncomfortable to sit and eat at 7pm with our children (we had to ask to be moved twice searching for some respite from the heat and sun) it would be wonderful if they could do something- perhaps put parasols by the tables? But it was a superb stay overall!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampton, New York, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This property is a beautiful retreat in the hills outside of the crowds in Cannes. Upon arrival, the entrance through the olive trees is a wonderful entry. Our room was in the "old building" which I enjoyed, it had two small patios. The bathroom was "old" but elegant. Not a Manhattan "W" by any means, classic and adequate with fine finishing touches. The pool was beautiful ! A side pool for families is perfect, no adult wants screaming kids during their vacation. This is NOT a Days Inn ! I think some parents forget that at this $$$$, others do NOT enjoy children running around. This is my ONE complaint, a Michelin rated restaurant should NOT allow children after 8 PM. What is a parent doing bring children to an elegant dining establishment at 9:00 PM is unjustifiable. Those who complain this is not "family" resort should be at Disneyland Paris, not Le Mas Candille, except if you have a "nanny" tending to your children. The Spa was beautiful, but a back/neck massage was lacking with the masseuse having hands the size mine were in third grade. A male therapist should be available for deep tissue/sports massage. Overall, a wonderful stay that will bring me back to the South of France next JULY, before the August rush.......

Room Tip: If you want modern, ask for the "new" building. If elegant and classic are your thing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marksilver94, Owner at Le Mas Candille, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Sir

Thank you for your comments, I enjoyed reading your views regarding children etc. However we do try to make Le Mas Candille welcoming for all, young, middle aged, old , children or no children.

Thats part of the fun of hospitality !

regards

Mark Silver

marksilver@lemascandille.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We just spent a perfect weekend at Le Mas Candille for my husband's birthday. We can not take holidays in the Summer so really needed some where special to relax not too far from our home in the South Of France. We certainly found it here. La Mas Candille is indeed a very special place and the staff were excellent. There is nothing we would fault. We were especially happy as we were upgraded to one of the Villa suites which was stunning and totally spoilt us. The hotel facilities are very well laid out to suit all requirements. We hope to return again in the future

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marksilver94, Owner at Le Mas Candille, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Madame

thank you for your kind words, I look foward to seeing you back again in the not too distant future,

regards

Mark Silver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I'm not going to repeat the other glowing reports about this hotel - they are all right, it is a really luxurious hotel with excellent food! Bear in mind you get what you pay for - all the rooms are luxuriously furnished but some are very small and the first one we stayed in there was restricted headroom in the shower - I couldn't stand up straight!! But its excellence is also a real problem, it attracts a number of large parties and corporate events. We've stayed here on 2 occasions in May and June and on both occasions there have been large (noisy) parties dominating the place, the second time the terrace was more like a sales convention than a Relais & Chateau Hotel!! We won't stay here again.

Room Tip: Some of the standard rooms are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marksilver94, Owner at Le Mas Candille, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Sir

Thank you for your recent comments. Regarding our rooms, we do have a wide variety of rooms, from small provençal style to large contemporary suites. Our reservations staff will be happy to explain all the room types to you.

As for parties and events, yes we do hosts these for our guests from time to time, however we try to ensure that these do not occur during peak holiday times, and we always inform our guests in case of any possible disruption.

regards

Mark Silver

marksilver@lemascandille.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Mas Candille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas Candille

Address: Blvd Clement Rebuffel, 06250 Mougins, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Mougins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mougins
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mougins
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mougins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Mas Candille 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Mas Candille hotel and spa is a luxurious Relais & Chateaux hotel just a short walk away from the medieval village of Mougins, nestled in a secluded 4 hectare park, 7 km away from Cannes. The Michelin-starred restaurant, Le Candille, offers a truly gastronomic experience serving innovative and tasty cuisine within an elegant setting. The luxury hotel also boasts an exclusive Shiseido Spa. The ideal cocooning getaway for relaxing, resting and savouring a perfect escape on the French Riviera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Le Mas Candille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Mas Candille Mougins
Le Mas Candille Hotel Mougins

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Mas Candille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.