We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“POOR” 2 of 5 stars
Review of la broche de fer

la broche de fer
427 Saint Basile, 06250 Mougins, France
0492920808
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Book Online and Save Up to 30% *
la broche de fer is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
*Some exclusions may apply.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 65 Restaurants in Mougins
Price range: $0 - $155
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“POOR”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Had dinner here with some friends during August holiday. Service was very poor. The restaurant was busy but they only had two waiters working. Food average. Would not eat there again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    28
    14
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Poor service. Inedible meal. Not worth a visit”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

My friends and I have been holidaying in Mougins for many years and have always looked forward to our visits to this restaurant – in the past it has always been a highlight of our trip. No so this year! The place has certainly gone down hill.

There were 6 of us in our party and we called ahead to book a table to ensure we could get in. We needed have worried as the restaurant was practically empty. Even so a table had not been set up for us and we had to wait while the waitress hastily cobbled together a table for 6 by placing a couple of chairs at each end of a small table for four close to the fountain. So close that one of our party was practically sitting in the fountain! However this was a minor issue and we were all still up beat and looking forward to our meal.

Menus were duly delivered and we were left to decide what we wanted. Then the problems started. The waitress (an unhappy and sullen individual) simply disappeared and we had to wait an age to order even a drink let alone our food. When she finally returned we ordered drinks and our meals. We also asked from some bread and some butter. Eventually the drinks arrived and then after a second request so did the bread (but no butter!). After a little while our starters arrived and although not spectacular they were tasty and we were all satisfied. More bread was delivered but again despite numerous requests no butter. We ordered more drinks but this seemed to inconvenience the waitress and we waited quite a time for them to be served.

Eventually after a lengthy wait our main courses were delivered to the table (along with butter by which time we had already eaten the bread as we were all quite hungry and had been left waiting sometime!)

What a disappointment the main courses were. I had ordered the fish mixed grill and found the fish to be inedible. One piece was overcooked and burned the rest undercooked and unpalatable. Another in our party ordered the brochette de boeuf. The meat used to prepare this dish was obviously the cheapest cut possible and of poor quality – it was certainly not worth the price on the menu. Another inedible dish. The rest of our party were at least able to eat their meals (just!) but all found them disappointing and poor value for money.

Throughout this experience we were waited on by a waitress who was sullen, dour, inattentive, unhappy and obviously didn’t understand the concept of customer service. She gave the impression that she’d rather be anywhere other than at the “la broche de fer” and quite frankly we were of the same opinion! We decided to give the dessert a miss and instead called at the local MacDonald’s for ice cream as an alternative!

Given our past experience of this restaurant were very disappointed and it is with a heavy heart we have to say give this place a miss!! We certainly won’t be visiting again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enid, Oklahoma, United States
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“We're going back our last night in France.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Wonderful restaurant. The waiter spoke enough English to help us decide what to select from the French menu. They served us an appetizer made from legumes - we do not know what it was, but it tasted good. In our group, my husband had steak - wonderful! I had roasted chicken with a tomato, pesto and olive sauce - melted in my mouth. My mother had fish and my father had some pasta. The portions were just right - enough to satisfy you without waste. We had dessert - I had chocolate mousse and my husband had the sampler - 6 small glasses with 6 different desserts. We ate outside and the atmosphere was nice enough to hide the traffic just a few feet from us behind a wall. This restaurant provides parking - a rarity here.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town is home
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“a place to go back to.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

A friend and I each had the three course set lunch menu for €19. The portions were top quality, correctly sized, and the service was pleasant and willing.
With two beers and two glasses of rosé the total bill was €59. Excellent value particularly for Mougins and definitely a place to go back to. An enjoyable lunch.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara,Mexico
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Excellent meat restaurant near Mougins, south of France”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

We had a late lunch in mid-November,along with a crowd of local businessmen.
The wines included local specials and 2 of our group had a steak,perfectly done,,,while i had roast duck.The service was excellent,though only one waiter spoke English,but the others managed very well to look after our needs.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed la broche de fer also viewed

Mougins, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Mougins, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Mougins, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Mougins, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to la broche de fer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage la broche de fer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.