We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le petit prince

Le petit prince
06500 Menton, France
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 213 Restaurants in Menton
Price range: $29 - $103
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good food but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

When are luggage didnt arrive the first night of our stay we walked to the restaurant as it was close to our hotel. The food was wonderful but rather pricey. Atmosphere and service were also good

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    71
    21
    15
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“very good and very accommodating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We had lunch here one day and they were happy for us both to have the 17.90 Euro menu, which is starter + main or main + dessert, from which we shared one starter and one dessert. The raspberry tart was particularly delicious. We also had dinner one evening which has a more expensive menu, but I didn't want much so asked if the chef would do me a plate of vegetables. I have tried this in many restaurants in France as I am vegetarian, and in most cases I have had no problem and indeed several excellent meals. I think this was the first time they'd been asked but the chef agreed and I had a very tasty selection of veg, beautifully cooked and presented.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
307 reviews 307 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
305 helpful votes 305 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant, close to the sea, with a very nice outdoor area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Was there late October, so unfortunately could not enjoy the nice garden as it was too cold out there. But the indoor part is nice too. Was nicely welcomed and could choose a table by the window. Went for the "Menu Gastronome": Foie Gras, Quasi de veau (veal), cheese and desert. All quite good for a reasonable EUR 40. Hope to be able to come back in summer for the same, but outside!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Always happy to come back here.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Le petit prince, in Hotel de Galles, is our favourite restaurant in Menton, and has been so for over ten years. Refined dishes, very tasteful, beautiful plates. Lunch or dinner, this is excellent cuisine! Accompanying wines beautiful. Dog also very welcome. Many habitues, returning guests. Also favourite amongst locals.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good food but rude staff!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We do not recommend this restaurant because, despite the food being good, the attitude if staff made us feel uncomfortable! We had ordered house wine which came in a dirty bottle with 'floaters' - when we asked for a replacement, the bottle was rudely whisked away without comment. We had to ask for fresh glasses! The attitude was unprofessional, aggressive and arrogant!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le petit prince also viewed

Menton, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Menton, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Menton, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Menton, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Le petit prince? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le petit prince, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.