We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You don't always get what you booked” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kyriad Menton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kyriad Menton to your Saves list
Kyriad Menton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   57, Avenue De Sospel Bp 165, 06505 Menton, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Menton
Pisa, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“You don't always get what you booked”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

I booked a last minute trip to Menton and specifically booked two twin beds. The receptionist would only give me a double bed despite my reservation being very specific. Additionally, she spoke no Italian, English or German which was strange considering the proximity to the border and being solely a tourist place. I learned breakfast was not included in the bill and declined 9 euro per person for a limited "continental" breakfast opting instead to go down the street to a cafe'.

The rooms were small, but had good air conditioning. I learned the hard way that the doors do not close when shut and that they are easy to push open from the outside. Luckily, I left nothing of value to be stolen.

Parking is non-existent. There are 7 spaces for the entire hotel. If you come back from an evening in Monte Carlo- you will be hard pressed to find a place to park within a 15 minute walk.

Good points: the beach is only a 15 minute walk away.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    27
    20
    14
    9
See reviews for
16
44
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2007

This is an acceptable hotel located about twenty minutes walk from the seafront at Menton, and is clean, comfortable and quiet. There are, however, two issues worth mentioning:

1) There is hotel parking for seven cars but this is usually taken by early evening and it can be very difficult to find a space on the street outside; furthermore, the Italian influence on driving in Menton is notable, i.e., people drive aggressively and badly, many also dangerously on scooters.

2) One of the receptionists is very kind and friendly, taking us right up to our room, which was up a small staircase and secluded, although rather small with a smelly shower curtain and immediately next to the lift machinery, hence rather noisy. However, two other receptionists demonstrated the worst type of French bad attitude: when a bag of belongings disappeared from our room and we asked where they had gone, we were told when they were returned that they had been thrown out as rubbish, and that we ought to be more careful where we kept our things, even though they were clearly not rubbsish and were nowhere near the bin. Apparently "anything left in a plastic bag in a hotel room in France is likely to be treated as rubbish and thrown away", although this was a new one on us in many years of staying in French hotels.

Avoid this hotel if you don't like being treated as if you have done something wrong when you haven't, and are not ready to let your host have the last word, if necessary haranguing you as you retire up the stairs. Fortunately this experience did not spoil our holiday, which improved inestimably when we left for Nice and the Mercure Marché aux Fleurs, see review.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2006

This hotel is charming and beautifully maintained, an excellent value in all respects. Room was immaculate, bathroom well equipped and sparkling clean. Breakfast buffet is varied with fine bread, croissants and other baked goods, yoghurt, cereals, etc. Dinner at hotel one night was well prepared and delicious, consisting of a small buffet of hors d'oeuvres, a main dish (gigot = leg of lamb), and good dessert buffet. Proprietors/managers are very friendly and eager to please and were a delight to deal with. Hotel location is on a main street some 5-7 minutes' walk from the bus station (Gare Routiere), maybe 5 minutes more from railway station. From hotel, it takes some 15-18 minutes to walk to the seaside promenade (my age is 77). Menton is a charming city and the hotel a delightful place from which to enjoy it. My wife and I have great hopes of revisiting, maybe as early as next year.

  • Liked — High quality facility without being glitzy at very reasonable cost, and the touching kindness of the proprietors.
  • Disliked — Nothing I can think of at this time.
  • Tips/Secrets — Easily reached from Nice-Cote d'Azur airport on special bus, hotel is short walk uphill and a convenient, hospitable place to stay on Eastern French Riviera.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2006

I'm always a little doubtful about hotels that are members of chains. However, the personal touch at the Kyriad Menton was outstanding. Madame, the main receptionist and one of the owners, made us feel very welcome - so welcome that we turned a 2 night stay into 3 nights, then 4. The price, 60 euros a night without breakfast, was good for a 3-star hotel, too, but remember that this was the offseason, the second week of January. The room itself was certainly more than adequate (a double and single bed), but not outstanding.

The hotel is only about 10 minutes' walk from the station but this is AWAY from the town, making it a bit of a hike back into the tourist part, with little to do (or eat) nearby - but try the pizza cafe down the hill on the same side of Ave Sospel as the hotel, though: highly recommended.

Menton is, supposedly, where people go to die, and it's not as lively as all that, but it's a pleasant town with great winter weather and is a good base for visiting other sites in both the French and Italian rivieras. Take the local bus to the perched village to Roquebrune, or the train to Ventimiglia (over the border in Italy) and then the bus to Dolceacqua, for example.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2004

The Hotel Kyriad in Menton is a great little 3* hotel, just a few blocks up from the water. It is family-run, and they are super nice people. The rooms are clean and average size for European hotels. Our room had a shower (not a tub), but that was fine. They graciously welcomed our dogs and gave us helpful site-seeing info. The daughter speaks great Englsih, the mom and dad only a little, but we were still able to get by. I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again. Buffet breakfast was yummy too!

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kyriad Menton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyriad Menton

Address: 57, Avenue De Sospel Bp 165, 06505 Menton, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Menton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Menton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kyriad Menton 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kyriad Menton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kyriad Menton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.