We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Table Extraordinaire!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Table d'Oc

Table d'Oc
2 Rue du Vieux College, Menton, France
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 198 restaurants in Menton
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: tel. 0899 237 049 (a ne pas confondre avec celle de Nice - meme nom)
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Table Extraordinaire!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

My husband and I took a walk through Menton to look at the menu of the number one-rated restaurant in Menton. Imagine our pleasant surprise when we discovered that there's a menu available that offers three courses for only 18E! There were several choices for the appetizer, the main course and the dessert - very impressive. My husband had the escargot to start, which he said were the best he's ever tasted: served in puff pastry, they were delicate in taste as well as texture. I had the tomato and mozzarella salad, garnished with teeny lemons filled with a frozen lemon slush. They were amazing. For the main meal, my husband had the mixed seafood plate, with at least four varieties of fish cooked to perfection. I had a white fish and shrimp cooked in a cream sauce, served with potatoes and vegetables. For dessert, we had the lemon tart and a chocolate mousse presented in a huge seashell. I'm a chocoholic and couldn't eat it all, but it was the best mousse I've ever tasted. In addition to our meal, we enjoyed coffee at the end and each of us had 50 cl of wine to accompany the food. The final bill was less than 54E: a meal of this quality where we live (in Canada) would easily cost three or four times as much. Will we go back? Ummm...tomorrow!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    79
    56
    14
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
johannesburg
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Very good food. Foie Gras is my favourite and that is soooo good! We went there three evenings in a week and weren't disappointed. Side street, outside and inside seating, good ambience. Very good priced!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“The best choise in menton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We have been in a family vacation to menton and around, and we found this restaurant in a beautiful ally near the main street. We ate there for three nights in a row, and every time they stood up to their reviews. The food is above its cost the atmosphere is very welcoming. I would advise to everyone who comes to this area to eat there a least once.   

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saintfield
1 review
“Delicious food in Menton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Delicious food in lovely atmosphere. Would have expected to pay a lot more for this standard of food.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
menton
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“good food nice ambience reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Nice little restaurant up a side street just of the pedestrian zone in town.
A good choice of different starters, main courses and desserts, nicely presented and for an all inclusive price of only 18 € excluding drinks.
The service is friendly and there is outside seating. It might be advisable to book at weekends during the summer season.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Table d'Oc also viewed

Menton, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Menton, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Menton, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Menton, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Table d'Oc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Table d'Oc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.