We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always looking forward to return to Menton” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Napoleon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Napoleon to your Saves list
Hotel Napoleon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29 Porte de France, 06500 Menton, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Menton
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Always looking forward to return to Menton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We've come back a second time to the Napoleon and it did not disappoint. The rooms are large, clean and comfortable. Would always recommend to spend more and get a room with a sea view. The balcony is large, decorated with awesome unique variety of cactus and offer great views of Menton and the bay area.

The Menton Garavan train station is minutes away.
The hotel's parking is small so reserve a spot when booking the room.

Will definitely look to come back in the future.

A small nuisance, not the best soundproofing between rooms so sometime a noisy neighbour could be, well, noisy.

Room Tip: Room with balcony and sea view. Always.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    106
    21
    6
    2
See reviews for
62
154
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Moriches, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This hotel is very comfortable. The beds are outstanding. The bathrooms are great with lots of hot water, water pressure and terrific showers. I was on the courtyard side on the 3rd floor, and the room was very quiet. Don't miss the lobby bar for a nightcap--it's fun and the staff is friendly to non-French speakers. It's a short walk to the pedestrian mall in the old town.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less traffic noise. I was on a non smoking floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We only went on line and booked this hotel through Trip Advisor the night before.

The hotel is nice but we would say amazing. It did it's job but there may be better hotels in the area. The location should have been good but everything around was basically closed while we were there. We had to walk about 15 - 20 minutes into town to have some variety.

Maybe worth spending more time then we did checking out alternative hotels in a better location.

There was nothing relaly wrong with thsi hotel, maybe we ere expecting too much.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is a hotel where you splurge and pay for the water view. Rooms 1- 4 are in the back, rooms 5-8 are facing the water with views of old town and Italy. Go for the fourth floor as it is the highest non smoking floor. It has a nice pool which made no difference to us as the weather was cold and rainy when we were here in April. Also, as it was April we had no trouble parking on the street in front. The staff is friendly enough. There is a good grocery store across the street and we did a picnic dinner on our patio at sunset. They have a beachside restaurant but it was still closed for the season. We have stayed here twice, We did see another good looking hotel for less money and still on the water and closer to old town, The Balmoral. . We will check it out for our next trip, especially if it is not pool weather, A return to the Napoleon is still a very good option.

Room Tip: Rooms 1- 4 are in the back, rooms 5-8 are facing the water with views of old town and Italy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The Hotel Napolean is on the outskirts of Menton. Good for swimming we thought. Staff, food and freshly renovated rooms excellent, especially the lovely balconies. Minor irritations are lack of soap holders in the shower and basin in the bathroom. More significantly we had selected the hotel expecting there to be beach facilities. There is a Napolean Plage beach club 100 m from the hotel, but it is not associated with it! However on balance Menton a delight, and a most enjoyable stay. We would recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Worth paying for the sea view room with the balconies. Take the hotel arrangements for airport tran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

A very good hotel with pleasant and friendly peronnel. No problems to change room having discovered that the street viewing room was quite noisy from traffic. The garden facing room was good, quiet and sufficiently spaceous. Free water, and soft drinks in the mini bar and free WiFi. Maybe considered a downside by some, the location is 5-10 minutes walk from the centre, but if weather is good, no problem with this. Make sure to visit one of the nearest restaurants "Le Cirke", 5 minutes towards the centre, one of the best in Menton.

Room Tip: Garden facing rooms are much quieter, no special view though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The hotel is ocean front, service was excellent throughout. Very nice breakfast with a good selection. The rooms were spotless with a nice balcony overlooking the beach. Would highly recommend. Great little bar in the lobby.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Napoleon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Napoleon

Address: 29 Porte de France, 06500 Menton, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Menton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Menton
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Menton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Napoleon 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our philosophy: An elegant, comfortable, unpretentious boutique hotel - for guests seeking quality without ostentation on the French Riviera. The hotel was recently renovated and decorated in a contemporary style by Jean-Philippe Nuel. Built over 6 floors, there is air conditioning throughout and a comfortable lounge bar and terrace serving drinks 24hrs a day and light snacks at meal times. Free wifi is available throughout the property, which features an outdoor swimming pool and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Napoleon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napoleon Hotel Menton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Napoleon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.