We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pure diamond hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Princess & Richmond

Save Saved
You added Hotel Princess & Richmond to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Princess & Richmond
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   617 promenade du Soleil, 06500 Menton, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Menton
hove
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A pure diamond hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

A pure gem of a Hotel. Very understated family run business of three generations all of which I have met over the last thirty years.
This time my daughter and myself visited for a week in August. Great location makes you venture into the town to find an array of entertainment.
Very clean and well appointed rooms, a fab breakfast,English speaking staff who are very happy to help. I more than recommend this hotel to the most discerning of traveller in this price bracket of choice. Congratulations to Julian and all his staff. We had a great time. Jane Wyner Brighton

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    69
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
15
85
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

As recommended by other reviewers we took a room with sea views. Well worth it, when you lie in bed and see the turquoise waters right below. about 15 minutes walk to old Menton along the front, but a good number of restaurants nearby.
Our room was spacious and clean, but lighting, as in many hotels is very dim if you want to read in bed. Breakfast not included, and reasonable but not special.
All the staff were extremely welcoming and friendly, and most muli-lingual.
We would be very happy to come again.
There are two tiny lifts next to each other, not suitable for a wheelchair or indeed much luggage.

Room Tip: Go for a room facing the sea. Its worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We used this hotel as a base for a one week stay in the area built around the Monaco F1 race. The first restriction this placed was the need for a minimum 7 night stay. The regular rate was applied for the week so no bump in price for the race, just a longer stay period. Maybe I am mistaken but a lot of the other guests seemed to be there far less than a week Given what there is to do along this part of the coast we made it work.

The hotel staff are professional and helpful. During our first night's stay it was obvious that the previous guests had smoke in the room. I asked housekeeping to change the pillows and duvet which was done. They also sprayed air freshener which helped a bit. The carpet in this room was definitely tired and in need of a cleaning. I noticed other rooms with tile floors.

The bathroom was compact for sure but worked fine. Good shower with ample hot water and pressure. Linens and towels were average and a bit on the tired side. TV was good, lots of stations. In room wifi coverage was a bit weak in the room we had. Guests can also access a computer with printer in the lobby.

Breakfast was fine if a bit bland. The usual european selection with hot eggs, sausage and bacon. The baking was good and coffee serving generous. We were able to eat on the enclosed deck area facing the ocean. Serving staff were cheerful and hustled.

Parking takes some effort. About 5 stalls are available in front at no charge. Underground was 10 euro a day. There was on-street and a couple off street pay parking lots nearby. We never had to walk too far. In fact we never moved the car for four of the seven days. You can walk to the train station in 5 to 10 minutes. The train ride to Monaco takes less than 10 minutes and costs 4.20 euro. The local bus stop on the street directly behind the hotel.

You will find many restaurants within a 20 minute walk. The walk is wonderful right along the ocean front. Do your homework on where to eat as they all look pretty much the same from the street.

Room Tip: There is one room on the very top floor, #70. It has a fantastic view and a large deck area. You w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed here over early May Bank Holiday weekend. The hotel was clean and tidy and the staff very helpful. Having read other reviews of this hotel some had said the rooms were a little dated (I would expect this is this price range though so no problem there) however our room (facing the sea with fantastic view) had been recently refurbished to a high standard so it exceeded our expectations. The hotel is well located for exploring Menton just a short walk to town/restaurants. The buffet breakfast is also worthy of a mention, an excellent selection of pastries, yoghurt, cold meat, cheese, cereals, eggs, bacon etc etc. There is also a great roof top terrace with sun loungers and a hot tub, fantastic views. All in all this was a great hotel to stay at which exceeded our expectations and was great value for the price paid.

Room Tip: Sea facing room is great, you may get a little traffic noise in the morning as the side of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Had a 3 night stay at this hotel with my girlfriend. Room was standard sized and fairly well decorated although not too modern looking, bed was comfortable and the bathroom was a really good size and looked a lot newer than the main room. We had a front view room (Room 56) overlooking the sea, luckily we were on the top floor which meant the sound of the crashing waves drowned out any noise of traffic on street level.

The balcony was nice enough and the one time we had breakfast in the hotel we had it brought up to our room to have it on the balcony which was rather pleasant. The balcony has a double sliding door which meant the room was super quiet when they were shut. There's also the electronic shutters to keep the light out too if required. The balcony also has an electric awning which proved useful for keeping the balcony dry overnight ready breakfast in the morning.

Breakfast was adequate with a basket containing enough bread, croissants and pain au chocolat for two. Also some jams, a hot drink and juice was available.

The hotel only has 4-5 parking spaces but there is a large public car park literally just round the corner which is free at weekends.

Location wise, it's not quite right in the town center compared to some of the other hotels but it still only took us 10 mins to walk in at a normal pace. It's a nice walk too down the promenade so we were actually quite glad we weren't right in the centre.

During our stay we met 4-5 different members of staff and the were all very good and polite.

Overall this is a nice hotel to stay at and would definitely recommend it if you are planning to do some travelling around the Cote d'Azur and need a comfortable place to be based in the evenings. I based my decision to stay from the reviews on this site and i feel i made a good choice with this one.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The hotel fulfilled my expectations in terms of covenient location at the sea front and close to the bus stop and railway station, allowing to move easily around the Cote d'Azur. The staff was helpful and friendly. Breakfast was not included in the room price and costed 11 euro. We had breakfast outdoors several times, planning to save money, however for less money you get less coffee and less food, so it was not worth doing this. Our room overlooked mountains and the busy city road, however we didn't feel any exceptional noise at night or in the morning. The only drawback, although rather important for me, was the uncomfortable matress, which caused the back pain. My sister, who travelled with me also compained about the same. Upon every other point, the hotel was quite nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Princess & Richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Princess & Richmond

Address: 617 promenade du Soleil, 06500 Menton, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Menton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Menton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Princess & Richmond 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Princess & Richmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Princess Richmond
Princess Richmond Menton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Princess & Richmond, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.