We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sorry to come back and find some of the oomph! is missing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Belle Escale

La Belle Escale
25, Quai Bonaparte, 06500 Menton, France
04.92.07.39.14
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 198 restaurants in Menton
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Sorry to come back and find some of the oomph! is missing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I hate to do this, but if you trawl back into the reviews you will find that I have given this restaurant a super write up. Sorry to say that although the food was up to scratch the ambiance has taken a nose dive with barely concealed arguments between the staff.
On an evening when most eateries were packed in Menton this one was only 1/2 full.
Have other people felt that it may have had its day for the moment?

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    70
    63
    12
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Food & Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We dined here a couple of the times during our stay in Menton. Good seafood for the adults and great pasta and pizza for the kids. Great service and good location.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“One of the best and sister reastaurant to one of the best Menton's Pizzerias (;-))”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Friendly and helpful stuff! Most stuff speaks English to assist even foreigners like my self! Food quality and presentation at its best! Cheap and good pizza! great pastas and fine big steak!

Highly recommend. been in Monaco for 4 years this is a place that never disappointed me or my guests!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
“A Gem in Menton.. and superb calzones!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

This restaurant is run by the cousin of the owner of Al Vecchio Forno just up the road. That place has amazing pizzas (see my other review). But this restaurant is also great.. all dishes are tasty and authentic. And.. the pizzas.. yummo.. just amazing. If you want the best Calzone this side of the Italian border.. then this it! Juicy, fresh, crusty and tasty!!

  • Visited February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“This place never fails to please”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

The Proprietor, who is Italian, is always on hand and you are treated exactly the same if you decide on a pizza and tap water or go for the a la carte menu. We have visited it about 12 times and rate it the best value in Menton. We speak with 10 years experience of eating out on the Rivera.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Belle Escale also viewed

Menton, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Menton, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Menton, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Menton, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to La Belle Escale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Belle Escale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.