We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The details let it down.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel club Vacanciel Menton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel club Vacanciel Menton to your Saves list
Hotel club Vacanciel Menton
15 Rue Partouneaux, 06500 Menton, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Menton
Lyon, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The details let it down.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

This hotel could be really great very easily. Unfortunately, for our week in Menton, too many minor niggles took the shine off our stay. I very nearly scored it 2/5 but as the hotel didn't stop us enjoying our week I've generously scored it as average.

L'Orangeraie has a lot going for it. It is well located just a short walk from the beaches, port and old town. There are a lot of nice restaraunts within easy reach too. The Hotel is in a nice garden setting and is quite a stately building, probably a very grand establishment at one time. It is clearly popular with the more mature tourist. Most of the guests are well into retirement, with a few families and couples not putting much of a dent in the high average age.

Crucially for us, it has covered reserved parking on site for €7 a day. A nice surprise when we checked in was that breakfast was included even though we had booked room only.

The room we had was a triple (only booked a double) and was as big as you could need. We had two large opening windows with external shutters and air con, which was a bit weak, but did the job. It looks like the rooms have been recently refurded and you get an TV with all the normal French stations.

The hotel has free wifi access in the bar/lounge area, not in the rooms.

All good so far, but as the title says, it's the details that let the side down. First off, our room smelt of bad drains. We reported this to reception twice. The very pleasant receptionist said she would have it looked into, but I don't believe anything was done. In the end we gave up and just left the windows open. My gut feeling is that the smell was coming from the AC so we left it off.

Now although we weren't expecting to get breakfast, once we were told it was included we decided to make the most of it. Breakfast is allegedly served between 7:30 to 10:30. We arrived before 10 each morning and there was at least one or two items unavailable. One day no pastries, one day no croissant, one day no cereal and so on. Most days I had to find a member of staff to replenish the cold milk, or provide more bowls and the fruit juice was always down to the dregs.

The hotel has a bar, but is closed from about 2pm until 6:30pm, so no chance of a beer whilst relaxing in the garden in the afternoon. It closes up early in the evening too, so don't expect a night cap after you've been out for a meal. We didn't try having lunch or an evening meal at the hotel so can't comment on that.

The cleaning leaves a little room for improvement too. Even on first arrival, the bathroom was a bit grubby in the corners and it didnt improve through the week. In my experience, standard practise when it comes to loo roll in hotels, is one on the holder and a spare. Not here. They just don't replenish it unless you go and find and ask the cleaner for a new one.

None of the above would be worth writing about by itself, but they all combine to make you think the proprietors are just doing what they have to and not really making an effort. Granted, this hotel is at the cheaper end of the scale for this part of the world, but it's still fairly expensive for what you get, and what you get isn't delivered with much enthusiasm.

Must try harder!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    56
    27
    14
    3
See reviews for
23
57
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merseyside
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

What a lovely experience it was staying at this hotel. Beautiful grounds and well tended gardens. Quite a different experience from the usual holiday expectations.
The rooms were spacious and tastefully decorated. Breakfast on the terrace was a treat.
Guests, mainly over 60's. The staff were helpful and friendly.
There is not much English spoken in the hotel as guests mainly Italian or French or in the town of Menton itself, so brush up on your 'O' level French. Very convenient to train and bus stations and very close to beach and shops etc. Menton itself is a charming place, close to Italian border plenty of restaurants, etc. All in all a very good holiday and would definitely go again.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for a room facing the park. Much quieter and lovely to look out on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

ThIs is a good value hotel on central menton. It is less than 10 mins walk to railway station and also to beach in Menton. Hotel is a really lovely old building - very much old school glam in beautiful gardens. Room was modernised, but bathroom a bit small. Staff were helpful and friendly. Carparking useful and good value. Daily activities a bit hi-de-hi for me, but easily avoided!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

This delightful place has it all: big and spacious, surrounded by well-tended grounds, it stands just a couple blocks from the sea. Our room was enormous yet inexpensive and the staff was helpful and nice. Indeed, they were also understanding, as our car broke down on the way, and we didn't make it the first night. They didn't charge us for it, though it was quite late before we realized we weren't going to reach Menton in time. The town is charming and a little less crowded than the Cote d'Azur's main attractions.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011 via mobile

Lovely location, near the beach and local amenities but still quite quiet. Hotel is quiet too, especially at night - many older residents. The bar closes very early - about 8:30pm I think! But if you're looking for peace and quiet this is a boon. Room was small and basic but clean, bed very comfortable, shower small but adequate, air con was slow to kick in bit worked when left on for a while. Good lift to all floors. The grounds to the hotel are pretty, lots of trees and exotic plants and a terrace with tables. Didn't try any hotel food, there being so many nice cafés and restaurants to try. Hotel staff were pleasant and helpful and spoke some English. It's not a very English-speaking town - would probably be difficult to get by without speaking French or Italian. About a 5-10 minute walk from train station - train travel up and down the beautiful coast is highly recommended. Most of the beaches along this stretch are pebbles - great for avoiding sand in awkward places, but flipflops are essential. Menton beach is less busy than many along the coast. The sea is clean clear and blue, but gets deep very quickly so not ideal for children and non-swimmers.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

visited this hotel for the Grand Prix classic cars 29th April-4th May. Hotel and gardens look fantastic. Rooms a little tired and common areas need updating, food and drink expensive. Staff speak some english and are very pleasant, breakfast far better than most French Hotels. The unusual thing was that our room 328 smelt as if someone was always cooking fried food, we asked to be moved but hotel full.We were given a spray of fabreeze to help but still smelt when room was not aired.My tip stay anywhere else but room 328. Overall stay pleasant . You get used to the constant noise from the trains !!! almost

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel club Vacanciel Menton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel club Vacanciel Menton

Address: 15 Rue Partouneaux, 06500 Menton, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Menton
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Menton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel club Vacanciel Menton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel club Vacanciel Menton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.