We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Pizza, Friendly Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pizzeria Vesuvio

Pizzeria Vesuvio
19 place du Cap, 06500 Menton, France
+33 4 93 57 29 83
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #118 of 198 restaurants in Menton
Price range: $16 - $30
Cuisines: Pizza, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Pizza, Friendly Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We went here for pizza after reading several Tripadvisor reviews. We have been to other pizza restaurants in Menton and been dissappointed. The pizza at Vesuvio was great. Good value for the money. We each had a Reine for 12 euros. They were much larger pizzas than we expected. About the size of a medium in North America. The service was great. The waiters were very friendly and patient with my attempts at French. I'm sure they spoke French, Italian, German and English. This restaurant more than lived up to its good reviews. We dined outdoors in a busy square with lots of interesting activity including a very pleasant chanteuse. We will go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

50% Recommend
    17
    38
    20
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not just Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The best and certainly the biggest Pizza we have ever tasted. Great service with friendly and efficient staff. Not a huge menu but apart from Pizzas a choice of pasta dishes ,fish and salads . The modules were good and the lasagne was tasty and creamy.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manciet, france
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great Pizza - Pick your time and eat under the verandah”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

We go to Menton once or twice a year and always eat at Vesuvio - However what we have learnt by trial and error is the following - Eat under the canopy as it can get very hot inside especially when it is busy - The staff can be taciturn and unfriendly if you are rude to them, however be friendly and they can be very entertaining and add to the overall experience. We went for New Years Eve and in spite of a "no booking" policy having asked earlier there was a table waiting and we had a throughly enjoyable night. Food is consistent and we tend to stick to pizza. Go early to make sure of a table straight away and tips do work and get to know them. We are recognised when we go and this always helps, many people that live in Menton go there too.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Within walking distance from our hotel, visited three nights during five night stay, excellent food, friendly staff, wonderful atmosphere. Can't wait to go again!!

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Indifference”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

I should just endorse the previous review - my feeling is that the staff don't really care about you unless you make it obvious a big tip is coming their way. The food was passable but expensive for what is in large part flour and water.

We were ignored by the waiting staff, and when we were served eventually, one of our dishes was given to someone ordering the same dish at an adjacent table. When we had the cheek to raise this, the waiter reacted as if we were in the wrong.

The setting is nice on a warm summer evening - the restaurant has outside tables on a 'square', and a strolling player pays regular visits to add to the ambience.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzeria Vesuvio also viewed

Menton, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Menton, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Menton, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Menton, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Pizzeria Vesuvio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pizzeria Vesuvio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.