We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic sea side location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Mandibule

La Mandibule
1014, Promenade du soleil, 06500 Menton, France
04.93.28.41.95
Improve this listing
Ranked #136 of 213 Restaurants in Menton
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Asian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic sea side location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We had a day out in Menton and because the weather was so good we decided to eat on the sea front. We saw this restaurant and opted to go there because it had a sea side table! But a fabulous choice - the food was excellent with amazing free side dishes. The choices were amazing and the Caribbean influence makes a for a refreshing change. Service was excellent. I strongly recommend this restaurant for an overall wonderful experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    35
    22
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Indian Ocean Heaven on the Med!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Having lived in Mauritius we were fascinated by the menu of Reunionnais specialities. I wanted Jacques fruit curry but I found it much more chili - hot than I'd like. Fortunately my husband had the Cari Zourites (Octopus curry) which I nicked - it was fantastic! Both were served with the rice and "petits grains" (in this case red kidney beans) which are typical, and sauces which again I found too chili - hot, but maybe that's just me. Highly recommended anyway.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good sea food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Another restaurant that I have eaten at on several occasions in recent years.

Excellent location overlooking the beach.

Food is consistently good, we had main courses yesterday of scallops, seared tuna and sea bass all of which were cooked perfectly.

Service was attentive, English is spoken fluently, menus available in different languages.

Would also recommend the cocktails.

A good location for an easy paced meal and a chill out

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant-Bar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

We went to this restaurant as it was one that some of our party had visited previously and enjoyed. The menu was very good and the only problem was that you could only have one dish. We all settled for a fish option for a main course and weren't disappointed.

The seared tuna steak was of a generous size and cooked to perfection, the sea bass was excellent and the waiter took the effort to tidy it up at the table side removing the head etc that could have put some people off. The Scallops were to die for and were presented in their shells. In fact the presentation and attention to detail was exceptional, clearly an establishment that understands you eat with your eyes as much as with your taste buds.

After our meal we stayed behind as the bar part of the establishment does an interesting line in cocktails in unusual vessels. The Piña Colada for instance comes in a shell and is particularly generous in proportion. With lunch and cocktails we spent 5-6 hours here and not a second was wasted or un-enjoyable. I would return in a heartbeat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
“Great for Cafe and croissant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Stopped here early on a Sunday morning for coffee and croissant. Friendly service in a cozy place with a view of the sea. Coffee was excellent and the price literally 1/2 of what we paid the previous morning for the same thing 2 doors down on the corner (OK I mean Au Coin).

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mandibule also viewed

Menton, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Menton, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Menton, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Menton, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to La Mandibule? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mandibule, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.