We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Claridge's Hotel

Claridge's Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Claridge's Hotel to your Saves list
Claridge's Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39, Avenue Verdun, 06500 Menton, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Menton
Carleton Place, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We spent 5 nights at this wonderful hotel. Our room was very clean and nice..it was big enough with a nice washroom equipped with bathtub and shower. The room has a TV and a fridge as well...heat and AC. We were very comfortable and it was a very quiet hotel.

The two gentlemen at the desk were always so cheerful and delightful as well as very accommodating with any questions or requests that we had.

It is a hotel that makes you feel very safe.

The location is perfect. The train station is just around the corner, the bus stop is across the street, the casino is at the end of the street. This beautiful street has many many eating places with a good range of prices...2 fruit markets very close by.

It is only a 5 minute walk to the beautiful boardwalk along the water with it's beaches. The Market is not far as well as the grocery store "Carrefour"

It is such a beautiful area. The bus only cost $1.00 Euro that will take you to Monte Carlo and Nice. At Nice, you can take another bus for $1.00 to Caanes...we did it all.

This hotel had it's price advertised outside for $47.20 Euros for 2 and it's a real bargain at this price.

I highly recommend this hotel and wouldn't hesitate to come back.

Room Tip: Our room was 105 and we couldn't ask for any better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    23
    8
    4
    6
See reviews for
7
19
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Verbier
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Nice enough cheap hotel, said full on the door so went in to see if they had a partner hotel they could recommend. Turns out they were not full and took 58 Euros for a clean double room. Difficult to part but 1 min from the station which is ten mins from Monaco so a massif saving on staying in Monaco it's self.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

I must admit I was a bit weary of staying here after reading some of the reviews, but in the end I am very glad I decided to stay here. I was in town for the Monaco Yacht Show and was looking for an economical place close by a train station with in a 10 minute train ride to Monaco. Claridge's Hotel did all this and provided strong FREE internet. My single room was clean, made up every day, the service very good despite limited english of some of the attendents. It is a bit noisy being on an intersection and close to the train, but it was really no bother. The windows are double and do a great job. 2 minute walk to the station, 10 minutes or less to the nice historic center with great places to eat, and less than 10 minutes walk to the beach. Economical, clean, and I would stay here again without reservation.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torino
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

I've been in this hotel with my girlfriend in June 2011 and we decided to spend the weekend in Mentone. We choose to stay at Claridge's hotel, but it was a bad decision. The first day we decide to go to the beach leaving personal belongings in the room (money, keys, watches). When we returned in the evening at the hotel we had a surprise: all of our money was gone.
We reported the theft to the reception but Gianmaria (the name of the receptionist) was very grumpy and kept telling us that it was not possible and that its staff worked for him for 10 years.
the police report was useless.
We decided to leave the hotel. In the end we spent more money to search for an available hotel and we was in a state of shock.
I don't recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

I have recently spent 5 days of my honeymoon at Claridge's. One of these days, in the afternoon, me and my wife left the room, we let the key at the reception and went to the beach. When we came back in the evening, after shower, we wanted to use our perfumes as usually but huge surprise: BOTH OUR PERFUMES ARE MISSING!!! We checked everywhere, nothing else was missing but the two perfumes we bought for our wedding and, as we started to use them at the wedding, they were practically new (Chanel Mademoiselle and Dior Homme, both 100 ml). It became clear to me that SOMEONE HAS STOLEN THEM, AND IT WAS SOMEONE OF THE HOTEL STAFF because I left my perfume outside in the hotel room, but my wife, she used to keep it in the baggage, among some clothes. Only someone that entered in our room for cleaning had time to check our luggage and see it. When we announced the hotel's manager, Gianmaria, we had another huge surprise: he said this is not possible, that his personnel was working there for 18 years and we cannot stay there anymore. It was Saturday, we would have left the hotel but no other hotel had available rooms in that weekend. We tried to explain all this to Gianmaria, but his behavior was very aggressive, he was only repeating that it's not possible and we can't stay there anymore. We went at the police station and came back with 2 police officers and the manager changed a little bit his attitude. He offered a settlement (one night free). We lost time in our honeymoon with investigation, police officers, last minute hotel booking and fights with an aggressive hotel manager who couldn’t even fight in English. Also we lost money, because his one night free doesn’t cover our loss. The next morning, when we asked the hotel staff about this, we found out that the manager didn’t ask them a single question about those perfumes and also he had a two weeks new employee. This makes Gianmaria a liar (maybe he has stolen them).
Also, the Wi-Fi doesn’t work all the time and the room has only two 220V sockets, one for TV and one for fridge. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.
TERRIBLE TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE AND TERRIBLE STAFF!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evian-les-Bains, France
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

Just for one night to discover Menton. The room is super small and the bed is not so comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

This is a very comfortable economy hotel just a block from the train station. Across the street was an outdoor public market; and the beach was less than a mile walk.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Claridge's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claridge's Hotel

Address: 39, Avenue Verdun, 06500 Menton, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Menton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Menton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Claridge's Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Claridge's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Claridge's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.