We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Petit Castel

Save Saved
You added Le Petit Castel to your Saves list
Le Petit Castel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Petit Castel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   22 Chemin des Sables, 06160 Juan-les-Pins, Antibes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lovely little hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This place is excellently situated within walking distance from both Antibes and Juan Le Pins.
The owner is totally hands on and a superb host.
The breakfast are traditional French as you would expect. (Stick to the coffee) and the rooms are very pleasant and clean.
We enjoyed our stay and will no doubt return whenever we are in The South of France.
Our only disappointment was the hot tub wasn't working whilst we were there.

Room Tip: all very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    9
    6
    4
    5
See reviews for
4
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is a small hotel is basic and comfortable. Rooms are well equipped but a little small for a long stay. Location is ok on outskirts of Cap D'Antibes about halfway between juan Les Pins and Antibes. Both locations are within walking distance (around 15 mins to centre of either but a regular bus service is a good alternative. Buses to Cap D'Antibes locations are also a short walk from the hotel. Staff are very friendly and helpful BUT as was noted by other reviewers the reception closes overnight from around 8pm. There is a Jacuzi on the rooftop. WiFi service some issues but most likely this is due to French telco rather than the hotel facilities. B'fasts were above average at below average prices. All in all this is more of an above average B&B than a hotel.

Room Tip: there is little to choose between the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Having read the reviews on here before traveling to JLP I did not have very high hopes of this place. The owners have done their best on their own website to make it look very nice and carefully miss out all the poor features. I know JLP quite well and this is the 5th budget hotel I stayed in here and it wasn't too bad in comparison to some of the others. The first thing to mention is that the hotel is really more in Antibes than it is in JLP which may not bother some people but it's worth noting that it's a good 15-20 minute walk up a steep hill back to the hotel in the evening from JLP. Therefore although the quiet location may be appealing for some, Petit Castel is somewhat isolated.
The room itself was fine, the bed was comfortable, the AC worked well and I slept like a log all four nights! I thought it was amusing that when we checked in, the man who showed us the room described the bed as 'extra large' but it was actually very small - just as well my boyfriend and I aren't large!
The bathroom was the real let down of this hotel. There wasn't even a real shower curtain, just a CURTAIN which of course got soaking wet! If you had the shower head at the desired angle it would flood the floor every time and leek into the bedroom. Also the bathroom did not have a proper door but one of those horrible plastic folding ones! All in all the bathroom was poorly designed and the size of a cupboard.
The owners seemed very friendly and we found a postcard welcoming us to the hotel on our first night which I thought was sweet.
Given that I come to JLP for the town itself and not the hotels I probably would stay here again but I would recommend that fellow travelers don't get their hopes up with the pictures on the official website!

Room Tip: We had room 9 which judging by the fire escape floor plan on the back of the door was definitely the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Dear Travellers.
I was at this place at the end of October. Though the hotel was small, but looked tiny and friendly, everything has changed after 20.00 pm. As the Wifi was shutted down. I was staying there with a friend and we had just one blanket. so we were forced to sleep in our clothes. The reception was closed so we couldn't solve any problems. And please be aware that hotel doesn't meets the conditions that they promise. Besides please be caredul with your credit cards, because the hotel charges me 2 extra nights from my credit card without no reason!!!!

Room Tip: The hotel charges extra nights from credit cards - be careful. The hotel provides just one blanket...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chepstow
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

Unfortunately the photos of this B & B portray something a little more exciting than the real thing! Maintenance in this property in respect of light bulbs missing, bathroom grouting, dowdy corridors sadly does not live up to the website image portrayed. The room key system is antiquated and very difficult to use and the outside steps leading to the rooms are potentially dangerous. Location very good for both Antibes and Juan-les-Pins. Breakfast which was served in very nice garden area was adequate. Room rates are overpriced for this type of establishment. Staff very helpful, friendly and pleasant thus providing the biggest plus point for this B & B. Nothing proved too much trouble for the small team of staff.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, CO
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2009

This was a fine hotel, great location. If you are looking for the lap of luxury, this isn't it, but it isn't a dump either. We were visiting the French Riv to enjoy the people and the experience, not to hang out in the hotel. The location is good, the owner was friendly and we had a very pleasant one-night stay. The breakfast of croissant, juice & coffee out on the patio under the trees was beautiful. I would recommend this to someone who wants a nice place to stay, doesn't want to break the bank and isn't looking for a "resort" experience. It is very private and we walked everywhere we went in the warm French summer air. By the time you get back from a beach walk and a fabulous dinner with delicious (and cheap!) French wine, you won't notice or care that the sheets might not be 1500 thread count.

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Petit Castel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit Castel

Address: 22 Chemin des Sables, 06160 Juan-les-Pins, Antibes, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Antibes > Juan-les-Pins
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Juan-les-Pins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Petit Castel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Le Petit Castel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Petit Castel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.