We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Hotel....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Helios

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Helios to your Saves list
Hotel Helios
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3, rue Dautheville, 06162 Juan-les-Pins, Antibes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 53 Hotels in Juan-les-Pins
Scotland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First Class Hotel....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2006

The Helios Hotel was fantastic. I would thoroughly recommend it. It is centrally located next to the restaurants, bars and just 50 yards from the beach.

The staff are friendly and can't do enought to help. On arrival, the receptionist considered how long we were staying and changed our room to the front of the hotel - superb. The balcony had a sea view and a view of one of the main streets, where we could watch the action from the comfort of our balcony. The receptionist even went to the tourist office for us to gather information on trains/buses when we said that we wanted to visit Eze and Moncaco.

The room was clean, comfortabe and extremely spacious. Ok, the decor is a little brown/cream but who really cares what the room colours are! The breakfast was continental and fine - set us up for the day.

the only criticism i would have is that residents have to pay for the use of the hotel's private beach, albeit at a discounted rate. Nevertheless, it was extremely enjoyable to lie in the sun and be served with drinks by the waitresses.

An excellent hotel - well recommended!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    52
    12
    11
    1
See reviews for
13
55
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bham, England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2006

Its like stepping back in time when you enter this hotel. The decor is from the '70's. Very shabby hotel. The whole hotel needs a major refurbishment. Staff looked severly fed up and breakfast was poor - they only had chocolate flavoured cereals on offer!

Good points (It doesnt have many): Its in a quiet location, close to the train station and the restaurant on the beach looked nice.This hotel should be renamed to Hotel Hideous. Wont be stopping here again.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2005

Stayed at the hotel helios in May.asked in advance for 2 rooms together on top floor with sea views.(only possible on top floors).got what i wanted.
big beds in room and fully airconditioned.well pleased.mini bar and safe also provided.bathroom was ok.hotel staff at reception were brill.very helpful.excellent spoken english.didnt have breakfast so cant comment on it.we had breakfast on the promenade every morning.2 minutes walk away.
Lazed on the private beach where we got top class service and hospitality.didnt need to carry cash as everything was charged to room.
overall happy with facilities provided for the price paid.
no complaints.will be back.((((say hello to joe and mary at the private beach bar for me.briliiant people!!!!))))

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2005

If you value your belongings, you will not stay at this hotel.
Without going into details, my expensive camera was stolen inside the
hotel. The internet wireless access was flaky and almost unuseable.
The $13 Euro breakfast was nothing more than some croissants and cereal.
And finally, this is really a 3 star hotel at best.
On the plus side the hotel clerks were friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed April 2005, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2004

Hotel Helios markets itself as a 4 star hotel, which I would disagree on.
-it does not feature a swimming pool
-the rooms are very dated (60's)
-the walls of my room had cracks, wallpaper falling off.

The location is good however, only a minute walk from the beach. And I do have to say the staff were very nice.

few things to mention which dissapointed me
-like many other hotels, they charge extra for parking (10 euro/day)
-the hotel's "private beach" is actually just another privately operated beach, which anyone is able to enter with a fee of 16/18 euro per person. The hotel guests are not entitled to free usage, but instead are entitled to 2 euro discount on the rate. The beach is nice and clean and operated by friendly staff.

My suggestion
-stay at another 3 star hotel and if you wish, use the helios's "private" beach for your sunbathing.
-if you do stay at the helios, make sure you have breakfast early as the food runs out.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Helios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helios

Address: 3, rue Dautheville, 06162 Juan-les-Pins, Antibes, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Antibes > Juan-les-Pins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Juan-les-Pins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Helios 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, seven story, summer resort hotel with restaurant and bar; situated on private beach; 6 km from Cannes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Helios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helios Hotel Juan Les Pins
Helios Juan Les Pins

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Helios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.