We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey hotel in a dated resort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Juana

Save Saved
You added Hotel Juana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Juana
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 avenue Gallice, 06160 Juan-les-Pins, Antibes, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 52 hotels in Juan-les-Pins
England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Pricey hotel in a dated resort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

Firstly, let me say that I rarely give bad reviews and I am not a picky traveller, however, I review all my holidays honestly. We visited Hotel Juana in September and it's very expensive to stay in this hotel to start with – however, when you get there everything connected to the hotel is ridiculously priced (breakfast, sun loungers, dining and mini bar). So much so it spoilt our holiday. I do not mind paying a lot for a nice Hotel but when you feel like you’re being ripped off once there then that is another thing. Let’s start with the positives; lovely building but you need a room with a view of the ocean – other views are not good, great location in Juan Les Pins, friendly staff, nice pool. That is it. Now the negatives; so, so expensive. The pool is not staffed so you have to get dressed and go into the Hotel bar for refreshments (and the loo). Their sister hotel has a small beach which is elegant, but they charge around £30 for loungers and parasol and even charge for towels!! Breakfast was around £20 and in addition to that, there was a charge of 5 euros to have it sent to your room!! Do you now know what I mean about being ripped off! A can of coke in the mini bar was around £5 and taxis, they are another thing, we shockingly paid £20 for a 3 mile journey upto Hotel Eden Roc! (that’s a lovely place). We travel a lot and have been to lots of exclusive places including all the exclusive resorts in the South of France (St Trop, Cannes, Monaco, Nice, Eze, Mougin, St Paul de Vence...) and Juan Les Pins is not exclusive at all but it still tries to demand exclusive prices. It’s a dated tourist resort. Antibes is just mediocre too. To bring this review to an end, I’m sorry to say we will not be returning to this area.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    44
    17
    14
    7
See reviews for
20
64
1
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

The Hotel Juana has a nice pool area, small but adequate. The outdoor dining area is comfortable, contemporary patio style with oversized rattan, cushioned sofas, umbrellas and comfortable chairs. Pleasant, many good choices for breakfast, a bit pricey. The lobby areas and stairs give a sense of elegance and grandeur. The rooms are quality furniture in rich brown colors, comfortable bedding and large bathrooms. Comfortable rooms, as far as style and decorations, not stand out.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver,
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

Staff were terrible. Air conditioning in room did not work. Pool was not cleaned in the 3 days we stayed. Very expensive for what you got. Staff gave us wrong information and never made any effort to correct their mistake. Breakfast was very average. Stay somewhere else. Next time we will stay at the Eden Roc.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

I stayed there. Relax. Quiet. Attentive service. Nice and large room with sea side view. All needed comfort. A little expensive, but OK. Breakfast product selection could be a little better. Nice wine bar with "vin au verre" Great product. Nice patiseries in the afternoon. SUper guest amenities. But I missed the evening turn down service. Specially at that room rate. Location is very good. Good valet service.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2009

Do not judge this hotel by it's location, simply because it's not overlooking the beach -- this hotel is beautiful!!! It's clean, we have a king bed, a little firm, but comfortable. Our room is quiet, elegant and large for a european hotel. The L'Occitane amenities are a definite plus. Flat screen tv on the wall, telephone, writing desk and eating table, large closet and beautifully tiled bathroom. We mistakenly booked the wrong dates and the staff was very accommodating and received us a day early. The staff and service are excellent and the room service was delicious. Breakfast is from 7a.m. - 11 a.m. and very reasonable (ie, scrambled eggs are 7euro and omelette is 8euro). You are about a 3 minute walk to the beach and there are many restaurants and shops in the area. Cannes by car, is about 5 miles away. We have truly enjoyed our stay at La Juana and we will definitely come back

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2008

We stayed here 3 nights in october. This is a nice 4 star hotel in a very nice town. The Rooms were clean , the service good. Breakfast was a little above average. We could get a better room plus breakfast for Euro 50 +. Valet parking was also nice. Oveall a nice hotel in low season with "reasonable prices". In high season far too expensive for what you are getting.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Over prized....
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2008

We were delighted that the Juana lived up to other reviews we had read! The staff were extremely helpful, welcoming and polite- they helped us arrange activities, recommended restaurants and generally just made us feel welcome! The room was very spacious and was decorated in a modern style. The bathroom decoration was a bit quirky with usual effects on the tiles etc which was quite different to the style of the bedroom but it was still nice. It had lots of lovely toiletries and everything you could need!

The rooms don't have views of the sea because of the location of the hotel but it is only a very short walk to the beach. The hotel pool was really quiet when we were there which suited us but it was quite cold! We didn't have breakfast at the hotel but it certainly looked nice. The gym is small, just cardio equipment but it is modern and was enough for a quick workout!

We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel and would definitely go back. Juan des pins is lovely and is in a great location for visiting other towns in the area. It was a 15-20 minute walk to the centre of the old town in Antibes which had lots more restaurants and things to do in the evenings.

  • Liked — The Staff and the stylish and relaxed atmosphere of the hotel
  • Disliked — The lack of views from the hotel windows- but not a huge problem!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Juana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Juana

Address: 19 avenue Gallice, 06160 Juan-les-Pins, Antibes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Antibes > Juan-les-Pins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Juan-les-Pins
#3 Luxury Hotel in Juan-les-Pins
#6 Business Hotel in Juan-les-Pins
#8 Romantic Hotel in Juan-les-Pins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Juana 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art Deco chic in exclusive Juan-les-Pins, Hôtel Juana is a shining example of 1930s architecture promising plenty of Riviera sparkle with a white marble pool, a hip bistrot named Café Marianne with a subtle jazz ambiance.Located in the heart of Juan-Les-Pins, a few steps away from the beach, the Hotel Juana offers 40 luxurius accomodations including 4 suites and 14 connecting rooms, swimming pool, 24 hours room service…. The restaurant “Bistrot Terrasse” offers a refined yet affordable mediterranian cuisine and fine pastries. Enjoy lunch or dinner with friends and family out on the garden terrace, in the shade of palm trees. Take a swim in the turquoise waters of the pool then enjoy a relaxing massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Juana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juana Hotel Juan Les Pins

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Juana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.