We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 5 star” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Juana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Juana to your Saves list
Hotel Juana
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 avenue Gallice, 06160 Juan-les-Pins, Antibes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Juan-les-Pins
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not 5 star”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

This Hotel should advertise itself as four star. It's very misleading to advertise itself as 5 star. The rooms are, in fact, 3 star and I we were shocked upon seeing the rooms! It's very unfair to charge such high prices for very shabby hotel.
Staff are lovely, old striggler lift is great and breakfasts were really nice.
Would never return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellesRives, General Manager at Hotel Juana, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
First of all we would like to thank you for your review, as guests’ comments are vital for us in order to improve our services and attitude.
We are very sorry to read your sceptical reaction referring our 5 star level hotel rooms. Unfortunately you do not give us any information about the reason of your impression. We have different room categories in our hotel with different kind of views. All our rooms have the same equipment, which meet in full the standard for 5 stars. We do renovation works each year (painting, new carpets, bathrooms, furnitures, decoration, bedding…) to keep the highest standards.
We are glad to hear that our staff met your expectations and you fell in love with our original “Stigler” lift with all its vintage charm! Our breakfast buffet was rearranged at the beginning of this season and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed it.
We remain at your disposal for any further information you may need in future and hope to welcome you again at the hotel Juana.
Best Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    59
    20
    20
    7
See reviews for
23
98
2
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The location of the hotel is great; you can almost not live more centrally in Juan les Pins and yet so quiet. However, the hotel does not live up to the number of stars it has.

The rooms are big, as are the bathrooms, but most of them have a view towards the rather sad backyard. The biggest disappointment were the meals: we arrived 30 min before breakfast-time was over, and found an almost empty buffet and no attempt was made to do anything about that.We also strugeled to get tea/ coffee from the waiter.
For some reason we also decided to have lunch at the hotel, and again we were disappointed (we had to Return the meals).

Would not recommend the hotel, and will not stay there again. Note; for an "average" hotel, the hotel would be good, but a the level it wants to be it is just not good enough. Sadly.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellesRives, General Manager at Hotel Juana, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

First of all we would like to thank you for your review, as guests’ comments are vital for us in order to improve our services and attitude.

Only our Classic rooms have view over the city, all other room categories overlook the pine park or, from the 3rd floor, the sea.

We regret that you have not received a good waiter service during your breakfast and that the buffet has not been filled up completely. We have discussed this with our restaurant team, who has been informed that their behaviour did not match with our standards and immediate actions have been taken.

Unfortunately you do not give us any further information’s concerning your dinner, so we do not know what the problem was.

We are glad to hear that the location of the hotel met your expectations and we remain at your disposal for any further information you may need in future and hope to welcome you again at the hotel JUANA to show you the improvement of our restaurant and that we live up the 5 stars.

Best Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights at this hotel - location is good - 5 mins walk to centre/beach or it's sister hotel, Belle Rives. We were allocated a room in the 'poolhouse', an annex that is not to the same standard/style as the main hotel - in fact it's different altogether. Also, we had booked a room with a balcony, these rooms (and most others at hotel) do not have any balcony - you can slide one window open and a balladstrade prevents you falling out! When we complained, the hotel responded really well. They acknowledged that it was not actually a balcony at all (and promised to update their website to say 'juliette balcony' - it's still not a balcony so be aware of that), and moved us to the main hotel to a larger, significantly nicer room with a proper balcony. So all was well after that. Hotel is lovely, quiet (but lots going on in juan les pins), food v good. Concierge (Benjamin) was very helpful, all his recommendations were spot on (Helios restaurant on the beach particularly good). The only other thing I found disappointing was the pool itself, again not to the standard I was expecting for a hotel of this class/price. New sunbeds, a lick of paint and plant refresh would fix it!

Room Tip: Don't stay in the annex, it is not to the standard you will expect from a hotel of this rating/p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellesRives, Directeur général at Hotel Juana, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your review, as guests’ comments are vital for us in order to improve services and attitude.

We have 2 Superior rooms overlooking the Pine Park and the swimming pool in our “annex” building. You will also find the same category of rooms on the second floor in the main building with refurbished bathrooms. Indeed there has been a misunderstanding on our website, telling that this rooms are having a balcony. The superior rooms in the main building have a small step out balcony, but not in the “annex building”. Further to your comment, we have changed the information on our website. Our executive rooms, located on the first floor, have a private terrace with 2 sunbeds.
Concerning the pool area please note that each year some renovation works are done and the furniture will be changed soon.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel, our restaurant and the concierge service with Benjamin.

Hoping we will have the honour to welcoming you back at the hotel Juana, we remain at your entire disposal.

Best Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Absolutely lovely. Staff are welcoming and friendly, rooms are spacious, hotel is classy and beautiful. The pool area is a perfect place to take your morning coffee! I would stay here again and again when in Juan-les-Pins.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed here on the 4th floor with a balcony overlooking the park and sea. The welcome from reception was excellent and personal. All the staff were attentive and friendly. The facilities and location of the hotel are great, the film festival was on so we were happy to be staying out of the Cannes area. We biked around, there is a hire service close by, which was fun and avoided the traffic but we also were able to walk to great restaurants and bars at night. Overall very pleased!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Be careful about this hotel, you can't sleep in the suites of the 5th floor; the noise of the ventilation on the roof is terrible and the vibration is extremely big.
The breakfast hat no 5 star qualitiy; when you arrive late, the most of fruits are eaten and there is no service to fill up.
The water of the swimming pool was awful and dirty.

Room Tip: Rooms in 2nd floor are quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellesRives, Manager at Hotel Juana, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Client,

First of all we would like to thank you for your review, as guests’ comments are vital for us in order to improve services and attitude.

We are very sorry to hear that the stay at the Juana did not meet in full your expectations and to learn that you couldn’t find enough fruits on the buffet at the end of the service. The buffet is regularly filled up from the beginning to the end of the service and in case of any missing product you wish to have the restaurant team is at your entire disposal to satisfy any request.

We are also really surprised to read that you had sleeping problems due to the noise of the air conditioning system on the roof: this is really the first time that one of our guests report the problem, probably because the engines of the air conditioning are in the other side of the building, opposite to the section where the suites of the fifth floor are located. You probably heard the slight noise of the fun of the bathroom, which can be easily switched off together with the bathroom's light.

Concerning the problem of the swimming pool, unfortunately as you probably have realised the weather was extremely bad in Juan Les Pins last last 21st and 22nd of April, with lots of wind who bring leaves: there where effectively some leaves in the swimming pool and as soon as the wind was over the team cleaned up the water and the filters.

Hoping we will have the honour to welcoming you back at the hotel Juana, we remain at your entire disposal.

Best Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed one night at Hotel Juana in March 2013 and the hotel was so quiet that we upgraded to a room with a patio overlooking the pool. Very pretty hotel, clean and comfortable. But certainly not a five-star. Perhaps a four-star and not worth paying top dollar for.

Also note that the hotel is a ways from Antibes and while Juan-les-Pins is charming, there is not much to do in the evening. The hotel is a distance from bars and restaurants and taxis are horrendously overpriced.

The staff at the Hotel Juana were lovely and were able to order us bikes on short notice. Biking Cap d'Antibes was spectacular - would highly recommend this experience!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellesRives, General Manager at Hotel Juana, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

First of all we would like to thank you for your comments. Every client feedback, positive or negative, makes possible our continuous quality improvement.

Unfortunately, when you say that you had the impression that the Juana was not a five star property, you did not give any explication why you felt like this. We kindly ask you to contact the management, if you want to explain your thoughts and help us to improve. This would be important to us.

We are pleased to hear that our staff meet your expectations. This is the kind of service requested to any of them: meeting the highest quality standard is our objective.

You say that there is not much to do in the evening in Juan Les Pins; however, you can find many bars and restaurants very close to the hotel and the Juana is located only 10 minutes away from Antibes. By the way, we suggest having an experience at the Bistrot Terrasse, our Mediterranean restaurant, or at La Passagère, gourmet restaurant of the Hotel Belles Rives, Juana’s sister property, with its iconic front sea panoramic terrace, at walking distance.

We hope to have the honour to welcome you back soon at the hotel Juana, why not in shoulder or high season? when Juan Les Pins is the heart of the Riviera’s club scene.

We remain at your entire disposal.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Juana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Juana

Address: 19 avenue Gallice, 06160 Juan-les-Pins, Antibes, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Antibes > Juan-les-Pins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Juan-les-Pins
#4 Luxury Hotel in Juan-les-Pins
#5 Romantic Hotel in Juan-les-Pins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Juana 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art Deco chic in exclusive Juan-les-Pins, Hôtel Juana is a shining example of 1930s architecture promising plenty of Riviera sparkle with a white marble pool, a hip bistrot named Café Marianne with a subtle jazz ambiance.Located in the heart of Juan-Les-Pins, a few steps away from the beach, the Hotel Juana offers 40 luxurius accomodations including 4 suites and 14 connecting rooms, swimming pool, 24 hours room service…. The restaurant “Bistrot Terrasse” offers a refined yet affordable mediterranian cuisine and fine pastries. Enjoy lunch or dinner with friends and family out on the garden terrace, in the shade of palm trees. Take a swim in the turquoise waters of the pool then enjoy a relaxing massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Agoda, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Juana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juana Hotel Juan Les Pins

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Juana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.