We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Pre Catelan

Save Saved
You added Hotel Le Pre Catelan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Le Pre Catelan
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Avenue des Palmiers | Angle avenue des Lauriers, 06160 Juan-les-Pins, Antibes, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
€143 (EUR)
Ranked #14 of 52 hotels in Juan-les-Pins
Ontario Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Little Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We were generally very pleased with this hotel. The setting was perfect. The garden was very peaceful and a nice place to retreat to after a few hours in the very busy Juan Les Pins. We did not use the pool as it did seem a little cool . It seemed a bit much to charge 10 euros to use the jacuzzi!! In all my travels we have never had to pay to use one.
The room was fine. Very clean,nicely decorated but I would have preferred a more comfortable mattress as we are used to sleeping on big fluffy mattresses at home and this felt more like a camp cot. However we seem to find this kind of mattress is everywhere in France so maybe is the norm here.
The people at the desk were very welcoming and helpful when we needed to find a Dr.. They gave us great advice on taking the train to visit Monaco rather than drive .
We did not have breakfast at the hotel as it seemed very expensive for the buffet which did not seem to have a big selection for the price. We found a lovely little bakery closeby and ate our fresh croissants there for a lot less money
All in all it was great stay if you are on a budget . Great value and service. We would return and recommend it to family and friends ..
.

Room Tip: I would upgrade next time to the superior double room in the taller building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    47
    7
    7
    12
See reviews for
29
54
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london, uk
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

just a few lines concerning a little gem in the south of France, more particularly 'Juan-lez-Pins'. Private guide for an International tour-operator,I cannot help mentioning the pleasure our groups and me have always experienced coming to the Pré Catelan.
Small colourfull rooms with all the confort expected from a three stars,its perfect location has provided us with plenty of peace in the rooms, good shopping facilities and afriendly atmosphere. The Provençal style of each room enables us to forget the gloomy world we leave behind. Continental breakfast is served with this Franglaise touch so charming to us Brits on the loose. Though a bit small some times, the rooms have character and prepare us for a good dive into Côte-d'azur hospitality. Good communications (trains,buses aso..)and we are everywhere in no time.The staff, so friendly is a plus to the whole experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

The first room we were given had a double and single bed in a very cramped space. The decor was very oppressive; orange, yellow and brown with borders half way up the wall circa 1980s. The carpet did not match and was not very clean. Nothing seemed to match in the room with a hotch potch of furniture and bric a brac The curtains were yellow net!. The toilet also seemed to leak.

I asked for a room with a balcony but was told there none left. When I complained about the oppressive decor, I was told that it reflected the local style. Eventually we were offered another room which was bigger but had low ceilings and hardly any natural light. We had to have the lights on all day. The bathroom was tiny, without a window and did not have any ventilation.. By this stage we could not be bothered to move again so put up with it.,

We dreaded going to bed at night because we could not leave any window open. The place was plagued with mosquitoes. Just a short spell in the garden resulted in many painful bites which did spoil the holiday.. So we had to sleep in this dark, airless room with all windows closed.There was nothing in the room to prevent the mosquitoes (diffuser, spray etc) so we had to buy our own.

Breakfast was OK but the dining area was very cramped and really cluttered. Some people ate in the garden and risked the mosquitoes. There was a plastic" lean to" with tables but if it rained there was not enough room. There was nowhere to sit and relax inside the hotel.

This hotel needs a complete makeover. It is in a good location but the interior is depresssing, shabby and tired.We certainly would not stay there again. And if you are allergic to mosquitoes, this is not the place for you!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The hotel is perfectly located in a calm and beautiful corner in the middle of lively Juan les Pins, the staff is very friendly and helpful, breakfast is excellent and the rooms are tidy and clean. In particular, we found the interior decor to be cozy and authentic, which added to a true Riviera experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

A special french hotel in an idilic location, quiet, but close to everything
Lovely bedrooms, compfortable, ensuite, airconditioning, fridge, safe, hairdryer, tv etc
The breakfast choice covers all tastes and the selection is fantastic.
The hotel owners and thier staff are so helpful ensuring that you will want a return visit.
A very good swimming pool, which makes a change from the beach.
Its a real gem in a very lovely place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

Very good location just away from bustle of the beach resort area. Very French feel to hotel with an old fashioned charm. A little quirky, so not for anyone who is going to worry about a missing shower curtain or wants a bed big enough for 2 baby hippos! (as supplied in modern and boring chain hotels).
Breakfast is expensive but generous and good quality. Staff are very helpful and friendly.
Great to have fridge in room and be able to eat picnics in the hotel garden. Saved us a lot of money as eating out is very expensive.
20 in walk to Antibes or brillaint train service along the coast. Forget the car!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

I am the kind of person who enjoys staying at The Four Seasons Hotels and clean, cozy, charming and local motels. This is the latter and what a superb job they do at fulfilling all of these requirements. The room was clean, comfortable and quite. The surroundings were serene and relaxing. The location is superb. We had originally booked Hotel Juana and then changed to Le Pre Catalan after some thought. This was the right thing to do. Should I ever return to this charming little town, located between Cannes and Monte Carlo, this property is where you would find me.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Pre Catelan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Pre Catelan

Address: 27 Avenue des Palmiers | Angle avenue des Lauriers, 06160 Juan-les-Pins, Antibes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Antibes > Juan-les-Pins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Juan-les-Pins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Pre Catelan 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 minutes walking from Juan les pins town center, casino, "palais des congrès" and shopping area,200 meters from the sandy beaches, in a large garden lying in the shade of palm trees, Hotel Le Pré Catelan offers the magical setting of an authentic Provençal Bastide.24 non-smoking rooms entirely decorated in Provençal style, with reversible air-conditioning, private shower or bath and toilets, hair dryer, mini-bar,Kettle, tea and coffee facilities, safe, satellite and TNT flat screen TV, direct phone, Modem plug, Free Wifi.For your comfort all our rooms offer pure bio-cotton bed linen and towels, brand new beds with extras matress comfort, soft and generous pillows, Blankets in warm and light micro-fibers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Le Pre Catelan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Pre Catelan Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Pre Catelan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.