We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Art Deco style gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Belles Rives

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Belles Rives to your Saves list
Hotel Belles Rives
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33, Boulevard Edouard Baudoin, 06160 Juan-les-Pins, Antibes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Juan-les-Pins
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Art Deco style gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Had a great week at the Belle Rives.. beautiful surroundings and good service, the staff are helpfull and still with a sence of humor.. stay in no. 82 with the seaview, great the get on the balcony in the morning and look at the sea.. love to get back next year with the family

Room Tip: Sea view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellesRives, General Manager at Hotel Belles Rives, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear guest,
On behalf of the whole staff of the Belles Rives, we would like to thank you for your kind review.
We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and, particularly, the friendliness of our team. At the Belles Rives we aim to provide the highest levels of personal service, where guests are sincerely welcomed in a family, and your words are very important to us. Concerning our rooms, it is true that the sea side category offers a unique view which makes the Belles Rives so special….
We look forward to having the opportunity to welcoming you back next year with your family. Meanwhile, may the charm of the Belles Rives be a sunny spell in your winter!
Yours Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    79
    31
    22
    20
See reviews for
54
215
5
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The hotel is very comfortable, an intimate hotel, with a quiet reception area but I was there at the end of the season, I booked a sea view room which actually was a room with a view of the sea.They did change the room the next day but I hate that because you can not un pack and get sorted.The new room was very small but the view was exquisite.The bathroom was extremely small and as the hand held shower could only be held on the side wall you had to be under five foot and very skinny to fit under it.I prefer a bath so every thing was fine. Only one person could be in the bathroom and even then it was all very tight.
The breakfast was a buffet but at 29euros was nothing special but the setting amazing

Now the beach/jetty.. to sit anywhere was 17 euros for the lounger 5 for a towel and 5 for an umbrella outrageous especially as this was with a reduction for staying at the hotel and it was low season.There was no where else to sit and that price was whether you sat for 10 minutes or a day !!
Lunch was also very expensive and the service a bit slap happy but the quality of the food was good.I only had room service and did not eat in the main restaurant.

There is only one lift and it was a bit of a climb to my room on the third floor.I thought the concierge and bell staff could have been more attentive no one helped me into the lift even when I had shopping and opening the double doors was tricky


The hotel is very well positioned and it is a stones throw from all the shops and restaurants .Last year I stayed at a much more expensive hotel but preferred this one

Room Tip: Make sure you state a sea view room and do not accept a lateral view instead !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellesRives, General Manager at Hotel Belles Rives, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for your recent stay as well as for your review.
We are really happy to learn that you enjoyed the comfort as well as the atmosphere of our property.
Nevertheless, we would like to precise some aspects: you reserved a classic room with sea view, which can have a frontal or lateral view. When the concierge escorted you to your room upon arrival, he noticed you disappointment and immediately offered you a free upgrade to a superior room, which you accepted, for the following day (we were fully booked that evening). Most unfortunately, as we stated in other answers, the Belles Rives is a historical hotel and we cannot modify the size of our accommodations and bathrooms.
Regarding the beach, actually, as it happens in most of the hotels of the French Riviera, the beach services are not included in hotels ‘rates. More over, we do apply a discount for the hotel guests upon the beach facilities. We try to inform guests about this procedure at any step of their reservation and stay (confirmations, check-in etc.) and we are sorry if you got a bad surprise.
About our historical lift (dating 1929), our concierge and bell boys team are always prized for their friendliness and are usually genuinely at guests’ service. We are very sorry if your experience was different but we can assure you it is not our usual standard.
We look forward to welcoming you back next year and, meanwhile, remain at your complete disposal.
Yours Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I first visited this hotel over 25 years ago and have returned almost yearly since.
A finer position in the south of France you will not find.
The breakfast terrace is worth the stay alone .
The beach / terrace is lovely and always busy.
That said this is not the same hotel it once was .It pains me to say it but standards are not what they were the menu not as exciting the food not as good and the staff not of the same standard
If you don't know the hotel go and fall in love with it and join it fans.
If you know it from old then you like me have to hold your breath and hope that this fine establishment can with effort shine again
E C D
London

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellesRives, General Manager at Hotel Belles Rives, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen, once again, the Hotel Belles Rives for your stay on the Cap d’ Antibes as well as for having shared your thoughts with the TA community. Your opinion is very important to us.
We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed our location, the terrace for breakfast and our beach club.
On the other hand, we regret that your last experience with us was not up to your expectations. Please rest assured that our commitment to service quality is still the same and that our family, who owns and runs the Belles Rives since its opening in 1929, is always engaged in managing the hotel in the most professional possible way. Moreover, every year, during our winter closure, we plan renovation works and technological improvements. Concerning the restaurant, we have recently hired Yoric Tièche, formerly executive chef at Le Meurice in Paris as Head Chef of all our restaurants. We are sure you find his menus very exciting!!
Should you like to enjoying the Belles Rives again, we kindly invite you to contact us personally in order to restore the “shining imagine” of a glorious Belles Rives.
We look forward to welcoming you back and, meanwhile, we remain at your complete disposal for any further information you may need.
Yours Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Lovely hotel,very atmospheric in Great Gatsby style with genuine authentic furnishings

We were greeted wonderfully on arrival by the head concierge,I believe,and also had our sea view room upgraded - GREAT

The views from the hotel are fantastic and the hotel occupies a prime position

However there were some small issues like beer and wine not served at the correct temperature and the waiting staff forgetting things from orders - but nothing too drastic

BUT one big issue -the staff at the outside restaurant and beach area are very poor. On one occasion having lunch at the restaurant I enquired where the water I had ordered was -the dark haired waitress in annoyance to my enquiry threw her arms in the air and in exhasperation sneered IT'S COMING THE BAR IS BUSY!
She was so rude it spoilt our lunch and ultimately tainted our stay.I own a country pub and restaurant in Surrey, and if one of my staff had addressed a customer in that manner it would be the last customer they ever addressed.I did not make a complaint At the time as I did not want the experience prolonged.

So nice place,but some of the management team need to enforce some training standards.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellesRives, General Manager at Hotel Belles Rives, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
We were sorry to learn of your concerns with your recent stay and we would like to apologise for the disappointment you have expressed, particularly because we understood that you are first of all fans of the Belles Rives.
We deeply regret to learn of your difficulties with the beach area staff, and that you feel that they were not professional or unhelpful during your stay. We train and remind our staff to be constantly courteous and pay close attention to our guests needs and we are sorry if we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.
With our renewed apologies,
We do hope that we may have the pleasure of your company in the near future
Best regards.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

David & I stayed in this truly amazing hotel for a long weekend as a treat. To say that it is stunning is an understatement. We discovered in hindsight that some fairly big names have previously stayed here. Our stay was extra-exciting as it was the run-up to Cannes festival when The Great Gatsby was to be premiered. Belles Rives is pure art-deco throughout, highly polished, glamorous and sumptuous. The service was always friendly and efficient. Breakfasts are to die for, but ARE expensive. The views are amazing across the bay. Really nothing negative to say about the Belles Rives!

Room Tip: For a short stay, as a treat, pay extra for a sea view. It is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellesRives, General Manager at Hotel Belles Rives, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear guest,
The whole Belles Rives team thank you for your stay at our property as well as for having shared your comments with the TA Community.
Your opinion is very important to us and help us in always improving our mission towards service excellence.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Belles Rives on a further occasion and, meanwhile, we remain at your complete disposal for any further information you may need.
May the charm of the Belles Rives remain with you for a long time!
Yours Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed four nights. Yes, the rooms are on the small side but the staff's willingness to serve and professionalism is beyond belief. The food quality is excellent. La Passagere should be rated two Michelin stars.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellesRives, General Manager at Hotel Belles Rives, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for your stay at the Belles Rives as well as for your kind words.
As we often explain in our answers, the Belles Rives is a historical property, protected by the French Historic Monuments Authority. Therefore, we cannot modify the size of the rooms and the global structure of the building. Nevertheless, we are happy to learn that you appreciated our friendly and professional service.
Your compliments about the food and the quality of our Restaurant “La Passagère” have been forwarded to the whole service and kitchen teams and they were all very grateful.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Belles Rives whenever your travel plans will lead you to the South of France. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly as we would be delighted to assist you personally.
Very truly yours,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We had another lovely stay at the Belles Rives - it is a truly stunning hotel. It has one of the best locations of all hotels on the Cote d'Azur in terms of views, accessibility to the sea and wonderful food and service. Like all hotels on the Cote d'Azur in August, it is not cheap! However, I would in particular like to compliment the staff for the extremely professional way that they handled a tricky situation in relation to our booking. We had booked through a website who had subsequently cancelled our booking and not paid the hotel as the company had gone into liquidation. We had not been informed of this and arrived to find no reservation in our name. The staff were very calm and told us that they would sort it out. As you would expect, we had to pay the room charge directly to the hotel but they upgraded us to a lovely room without any additional charge.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellesRives, General Manager at Hotel Belles Rives, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
The entire team of the Belles Rives is very grateful for your recent stay as well as for your kind review. Guests’ feedback is very important to us and we are very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us despite the problem you encountered with your on-line travel agency.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon and, meanwhile, we remain at your complete disposal.
May the charm of the Belles Rives remain with you for a long time.
Yours Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Juan-les-Pins
0.2 mi away
Hotel Juana
Hotel Juana
#12 of 54 in Juan-les-Pins
4.0 of 5 stars 193 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cap d'Antibes Beach Hotel
Cap d'Antibes Beach Hotel
#13 of 97 in Antibes
4.5 of 5 stars 139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sainte Valerie Hotel
Sainte Valerie Hotel
#4 of 54 in Juan-les-Pins
4.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Villa
La Villa
#2 of 54 in Juan-les-Pins
4.5 of 5 stars 141 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royal Antibes Hotel, Residence, Beach & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#1 of 54 in Juan-les-Pins
4.5 of 5 stars 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belles Rives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belles Rives

Address: 33, Boulevard Edouard Baudoin, 06160 Juan-les-Pins, Antibes, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Antibes > Juan-les-Pins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Juan-les-Pins
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Juan-les-Pins
#3 Luxury Hotel in Juan-les-Pins
#6 Family Hotel in Juan-les-Pins
#7 Romantic Hotel in Juan-les-Pins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Belles Rives 5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A breathtaking art deco palace in a spectacular Côte d’Azur setting, Hôtel Belles Rives sits on the water’s edge overlooking the sparkling Mediterranean Sea with outstanding views from the panoramic balconies.The hotel Belles Rives proposes 43 luxurius accomodations including 5 suites, Gourmet Restaurant La Passagere, Beach Restaurant Belles Rives, Private Beach, Water Sports Club, Piano Bar, 24 hours room service.... Experience the true glamour of the French Riviera spend time on the private beach where you can swim, sunbathe and practice some sport at the Belles Rives water-ski club. Afterwards, have lunch on the waterfront terrace at Plage Belles Rives and then stroll into Antibes Juan-les-Pins and explore the ramparts, the Picasso museum, daily market and browse the quaint boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Belles Rives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belles Rives Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Belles Rives, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.