We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant place - delicious desserts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant La Passagere

Restaurant La Passagere
Hotel Belles Rives | 33, Boulevard Edouard Baudoin, 06160 Juan-les-Pins, Antibes, France
+33 4 93 61 02 79
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 126 Restaurants in Juan-les-Pins
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Gourmet restaurant of the Hotel Belles Rives, La Passagere has one of the most popular terrace of the Riviera : panorama over the bay of Juan-les-Pins, the Lerins Islands and the Esterel... Inside, gilded columns, frescoes of the 30's are illuminated by magnificent chandeliers.On the table, unique hand-painted plates for exceptional taste dishes. A true gourmet, simple and subtle created by our Chef Yoric Tieche
Juan Les pIns
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Elegant place - delicious desserts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Lovely restaurant with outstandig art deco details (see pictures). The rates are high but the value is good. Everything was delicious, especially the desserts. They were not only good but also nice to see. A good place, probably the best in Juan. In summer the terrace must be a dream.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    20
    17
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antibes, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely dinner last saturday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Last friday we went to the Belles Rives for a drink in the afternoon. The setting was lovely and the sunset one of the nicest we have ever experienced. When the bill arrived, we received a brochure for a themed dinner that was planned at their Restaurant for the following day. It seemed very attractive. We were curious about the menu prepared by their new chef Pascal Bardet (formerly chef of the famous Louis XV in Monaco) and about the wines of the Rhone Valley they would propose (famous maison Chapoutier). We were staying at the Mas d'Artigny in Saint Paul and we had already booked La Colombe d'Or but we decided to try La Passagère instead for the following evening.

WOW, what a great choice!!!!! The evening was perfect. Staff were friendly and professional at the same time. The food was simply amazing!!! We like French gastronomy but here we found something different: the chef uses mainly local ingredients for his recipes adding his personal touch. The result is a simple yet incredibly tasty food, that really surprised us. The chef came to our table and explained us his philosophy: he loves to work with passionate regional producers, fishermen etc to create something unique. And he is right. Everything was perfect. We still remember the starter "Lisette" fish with Osciètre caviar: a simple fish with a noble element.....delicious!!! (see picture attached).
The rest of the dinner was also excellent. The dessert was a perfect end.
A dinner well worth the price (110 euros per person including wines). Next time we will try the hotel and, of course, we will dine at La Passagère again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nouveau chef BARDET.....awfull food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed at The belles Rives beginning september 2012 for several days. The first night we
had dinner at LA PASSAGERE with certain expectations. The new chef is no DUCASSE... we had the worst dinner of our journey in France. Vongole...dry, meat overcooked. The previous chef was better. The service was not good, we had to ask everything, and the bill was astronomical. The remaining days we always had dinner at the bistrot JUANA, the sister hotel of the belles rives. Only a 100 meter walk, but worth every penny. The bistrot is superb, great service, friendly, great food, much choice. This chef is better than Bardet. simply delicious food, at a very good price. Go to the bistrot JUANA if you are at the belles rives.... you will love it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellesRives, General Manager at Restaurant La Passagere, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Client,

We read with interest your comments on your dinner at the restaurant La Passagère. We are very sorry that you have not enjoyed your meal. However, it seems that you were happy at the Bistrot Terrace, the restaurant of the hotel Juana, the second property of the Group Belles Rives. Indeed, we are pleased to offer to our customers different styles of cuisine, from the beach restaurant (Beach Belles Rives) to the gourmet restaurant (La Passagère) passing through a new casual concept (Bistrot Terrace).

The executive chef of the Bistrot Terrasse is Mr. Eric Houard and we thank you for your compliments.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“I give up!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I keep tring this place for the view, but each time things are getting worse. The food was never good, and on bad nights it is ismply inedible. The price is high - especially the wine list - even the most basic (E8 in Casino wine ) retails here at E60. As for the service, there is somthing fatal about the terrace. The waiters stand around, but an hour and a half waiting for our first course! Unbelievable.

Madame la Propr., it's time to sack everyone and try again!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellesRives, General Manager at Restaurant La Passagere, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Client,

We are pleased to read your comment posted last September 4. It seems that you really like the terrace of La Passegere, as you come often. We have a new executive chef and his cuisine is appreciated by our clients, however we understand that everyone's expectations are not always identical.

It seems normal that the prices of the wines are higher than some items sold in the general shops. Indeed, a bottle purchased at 10 EUR at the domain will be 20 EUR at the merchant, 30 EUR at the store and 40 EUR at the restaurant. It is the law of the market!

Our team is always conscious of the wellness of the clients but in some cases of high attendance, the service could be a little slower, as we care at best each individual table.

We leave you the only responsible for the suggestion that seeks to dismiss all our staff. We do not share your opinion.

However, we invite you to renew the experience for the release of our fall menu, which will be within few weeks.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Expectations dashed, never again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Have enjoyed this spot over the years but our Bastille day dinner was awful. Despite booking months in advance and asking for a table near the sea we were stuck infront of very loud music speakers. Asked 3 times for the volume to be turned down, after 10 mins it was only to go up when the live act came on. What is the relevance of high volume Adelle, on bastille night, couldnt hold a conversation. 30 euros for one glass of champagne, average food, inflated bill for water and drinks we never had, service poor and the manager could not deal sensibly with our issues, arrogant as usually. Shame, the location is great.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellesRives, General Manager at Restaurant La Passagere, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Sir,

Many thank for your comment refering your diner at the Belles Rives for the 14th of July. As repeated guests over the years, you are aware that during this special party the restaurant is always fully booked. Every guest is asking for a table near the sea waiting for the firework. Our Maître d’H makes his best for each reservation but we have only 10 tables right on the sea shore and more than 100 customers during this famous evening.

At that time, Juan les Pins is traditionaly the center of many events: Jazz Festival, streets concerts, open-air dances, etc… It is true that the atmosphere is totally different, more quite and romantic the other evenings…

The manager will be very pleased to welcome you once again at La Passagère.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant La Passagere also viewed

 
Juan-les-Pins, Antibes
Juan-les-Pins, Antibes
 

Been to Restaurant La Passagere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant La Passagere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.